LucasForums

LucasForums (http://www.lucasforums.com/index.php)
-   Dark Forces Mod (http://www.lucasforums.com/forumdisplay.php?f=396)
-   -   Dark Forces 2 Mod (http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=126351)

Mr._Katarn 04-06-2004 06:45 PM

Dark Forces 2 Mod
 
I have taken over (kind of) the Dark Forces 2 mod for Jedi Academy. The only problem right now, though, is that I don't have any members;). I'm looking for:
  • Mappers
  • Texturers
  • Cutscene-ers
  • Coders/Scripters
  • Just about anyone else
If you would like to help, e-mail me at darth_malak2001@yahoo.com and/or post here. Thanks!

Hoogie 04-08-2004 12:18 PM

I'm not disaffected to do a great mod, but my time is very shorten and I'm not familiar to create textures or something like you need for this mod.
Unfortunately, I'm not an artist like the guys of http://darkforces.jediknight.net ;) .

I have created a quake3 model (long ago) - that's all.

What do you think could I do for this project?

Mr._Katarn 04-10-2004 03:14 AM

I'd suggest you learn how to map first, and maybe practice modeling. I would like to see what you can do, but based on what you said earlier, you don't really know much about Jedi Academy editing. (Correct me if I'm wrong.) If you have any new work to show me, e-mail it to me as an attachment. One thing, though. If the file is more than 4 MB, I won't get it unless you send it to williams@go-concepts.com

Thanks

Soul_Blade 04-11-2004 03:15 AM

Hey, I'm Soul_Blade, team leader of the Clone Wars MOD that's in progress. I just wanna say that this is a great idea for a mod that I think we've needed for a long time. DF2 had the best storyline out of the whole DF/JK series, and the movie cutscenes were fantastic.
If you like, I'd be more than happy to help out in what way I can. Most of my skill in modding comes from organising and planning. I can do a bit of skinning and coding, but nothing spectacular. However, I do have contacts in the modding community!
I'll tell you what to do to get the mod started.
1. Get a website sorted out ASAP. (mods, especially SP, take a long time to make, so get started as soon as you can!)
2. Ask permission to use the Jerek and Maw models from their respective creators. You're very lucky in that a good percentage of the characters in DF2 already have models in JA or JO and others can be skinned.

If you want to contact me, my email is Soul_Blade_15@hotmail.com so you can mail me or add me to your msn messenger list.

J_Bond 04-11-2004 12:51 PM

Perhaps you just asked him, but when not I think Hapslash http://www.hapslash.com/base.html
would be a great help for you. He is a very good modeler. Just ask him if you may use his models for your MOD.

Hoogie 04-13-2004 10:54 AM

Sorry for answering late, but I was on the Jedi Con 2004 in Germany this weeking. It was great ;)

I will see what I can do. ...and you are sure, I created a Quake3Arena Model only. Never something for JA or JK2. Also
I never created a map but I do some graphics for some HP. Nothing spectacular.

Locutus_of_Borg 04-15-2004 02:10 PM

I'd love to help in any way possible, but sadly I have very little knowledge on mapping and modeling, and next to no knowledge on scripting. But anyway, JK1 was a great game despite it's obvious lack of decent graphics - even for the time it was made. Please see this MOD through to the end, unlike the last attempt (no offense to anyone involved with that project). Any by the way, what do you need a Cutscene creator for? Can't you just convert the original JK ones from Smacker to ROQ? Or would that be a breech of Copyright?

J_Bond 04-15-2004 03:14 PM

I like the idea with the cutscenes. You would save much time, and by the way I love the original cutscenes. I can't believe that this would be a violation of copyright unless you are using most everything from Star Wars for other things such like e.g. music, caracters yet.

Locutus_of_Borg 04-17-2004 01:41 PM

I've realised recently that there's a fairly big problem with converting the JK1 smacker files to JA's ROQ files - the framerate. The smacker files have a framerate of 15 FPS (Frames per Second), whereas the ROQ files use 30 FPS. Therefore the video would move faster than the sound - or the sound would become accelerated and sound very odd (probably good for a laugh though :D). In other words, you'll need to find a way to keep the video at the same speed with an increased framerate, or change the speed of the sound while keeping the pitch the same. Either way it could take a while. Hope this helps!

SlicerDude 04-18-2004 03:16 AM

You'd need to do what they do to get movies from 24 FPS film to 30 FPS home video. Not that I know what they do...

My guess is that you could somehow combine frames to make new, intermediate ones. Sounds like a lot of work, but perhaps the process could be automated. Or perhaps LucasArts has a higher-quality version lying around that they could just give us...

(Quality referring to the video encoding, not the cutscenes themselves)

Nobodymrb 04-19-2004 11:41 AM

Hey, I have already written you an email. But there comes no awnser, so : I want to map a map for the mod....

Mr._Katarn 04-20-2004 01:37 AM

Sorry, Nobodymrb. I got your e-mail, but I've been incredibly busy lately. Things should start cooling down soon, so stick around!

Oh, on another note, I've started construction on a website. I'll probably get Yahoo! Geocities to host it - temporarily, at least. I'll keep you posted!

StormHammer 04-24-2004 02:58 PM

Quote:

Originally posted by Mr._Katarn
Sorry, Nobodymrb. I got your e-mail, but I've been incredibly busy lately. Things should start cooling down soon, so stick around!

Oh, on another note, I've started construction on a website. I'll probably get Yahoo! Geocities to host it - temporarily, at least. I'll keep you posted!

www.echonetwork.net can host it for you, and give you a forum for members to post in if necessary. Just scroll down the left a bit on the site, and send an email.

Anyway, what happened to Reaper and the rest of the crew? Did they all just give up? That's sad to hear if it's the case, because I know they were making good progress with the maps. Did they leave any of the assets behind, or will you have to start from scratch?

SlicerDude 04-25-2004 03:31 AM

Can't jediknight.net host it and provide a forum, like they are for the Dark Forces mod?

StormHammer 04-25-2004 03:59 AM

Quote:

Originally posted by SlicerDude
Can't jediknight.net host it and provide a forum, like they are for the Dark Forces mod?
That's what they tried to do...but apparently they had some problems.

Locutus_of_Borg 04-25-2004 07:21 AM

I don't really care who hosts it this time, as long there is a website to look at unlike last time. It got kind of irritating not having any real news reports or screenshots.

sith_master2000 04-26-2004 04:50 AM

I agree entirely with Locutus_of_Borg, it was extreamly irritating not having a site for the DF2 Mod, I'm not a mapper, skinner or model but I have some suggestions for the website:
For the layout, a banner at the top with some screenshots from either the Mod or the cutsenes from the game, and to the side a list of links eg. Downloads, Models, Levelshots, Progress, Forum ect. And in the middle an update note simillar to the DF Mod (if it's okay with them.) I hope these suggestions assisit with the Mod :) .

ronbrothers 05-03-2004 01:54 AM

Good luck, Mr. Katarn. I always thought this would be a great mod.

Nobodymrb 05-03-2004 03:53 PM

Plz contact me, what is going on with the mod, if you are ready.
nobodymrb@gmx.de

sith_master2000 05-05-2004 11:24 PM

Also, another suggestion I have for the website is that when you type in the URL a big picture of a DF II related thing appears and then it plays the Star Wars theme or Luke Skywalker theme.

Echuu Shen-Jon 05-09-2004 09:50 AM

Like StormHammer said, you can check EchoNetwork.net to get ad-free hosting and a forum for your mod.

I can help you with a homepage, if you are in need of a webmaster; I'm pretty sure that there are lots of other and better webmasters out there however ;)

N3G1@ 05-14-2004 08:49 AM

Re: Dark Forces 2 Mod
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Mr._Katarn
I have taken over (kind of) the Dark Forces 2 mod for Jedi Academy. The only problem right now, though, is that I don't have any members;). I'm looking for:
  • Mappers
  • Texturers
  • Cutscene-ers
  • Coders/Scripters
  • Just about anyone else
If you would like to help, e-mail me at darth_malak2001@yahoo.com and/or post here. Thanks!

Do you need animators?
BTW, maybe you could use Media studio 7 (I have it and I think it's possible...)to make new AVI\WMV files at 30 FPS from the old SMK files...

ButtCrackJack 05-28-2004 01:02 PM

Great, hope this project gets done. JK is definatley my favorite DF game. You would want to make a model of Kyle's original saber from JK, I found some pics of it so you guys can use it for reference.

http://www.drkf.8m.com/starwars/katarn5.jpg


http://www.drkf.8m.com/starwars/KyleSaber.jpg


http://www.drkf.8m.com/cgi-bin/i/starwars/newkatarn.jpg


Good luck with the mod. :fett:

N3G1@ 05-28-2004 02:28 PM

There are already good models of Rahn and Yun saber hilts...

ButtCrackJack 05-28-2004 02:35 PM

Well, just in case the team dosen't like those, or wants to make their own or whatever. Couldn't hurt to post some pics. Here are some more.

JEREC

http://www.thelightsaber.com/WorkFol...FW/JerecSM.jpg

YUN

http://www.thelightsaber.com/WorkFol...unYellowSM.jpg

MAW

http://www.thelightsaber.com/WorkFol...lSFW/MawSM.jpg

SARISS

http://www.thelightsaber.com/WorkFol...W/SarrisSM.jpg

GORC (holding it)

http://mitglied.lycos.de/OllisWeb/im...cters/gorc.jpg

PIC (on his belt)

http://www.chez.com/starwaah/pic.jpg

Shamus 05-29-2004 06:23 PM

The thought of doing a DF2 total conversion has crossed my mind more than once... As a matter of fact, I've done some work towards that goal, since it seemed that nobody else had had the same bright idea that I had. ;) Here's what's been done:
  • Converted all the cutscenes from Smacker format to ROQ
  • Written some tools to convert a JKL file to a MAP file, including textures
  • Made some preliminary progress with model conversion tools and some 3D0 to MD3 conversions
  • Ripped all the CD music to WAV format, ready for conversion to MP3/OGG/whatever JA uses
Of course, all is not trouble free in paradise. :) The cutscenes went up in size during the conversion--the 25 videos now take up 793 megabytes of disk space. Part of the reason for this is the 15 fps -> 30 fps upconversion, part of it was the letterboxing that was necessary to preserve the aspect ratio of the videos, some of it is no doubt due to the fact that I had to work from the lossy material generated from the SMK files instead of LucasArts' source material. ;) C'est la vie.

There are problems with the original levels as well--it seems that the original JKL format didn't do any spatial checking. What this means is that you could design a level with what looked like a tiny room on the outside with a huge room on the inside (while this facility could be cool if done correctly/well, it's a disaster for doing a straight conversion). The other thing is that the JK mappers relied on "sky" background textures to block out pieces of the level that they didn't want the player to see. Imagine my disappointment when walking around Nar Shadda and seeing these defects (I thought the conversion would be straightforward--ha!). :p Lighting is a whole other ball of wax. :D Another problem was that as q3map2 got up in revisions, it would break my converted maps (light leaks, or so it thought--it reports them even when I make the brushes overlap :mad: ).

What I had originally hoped for was a way for someone with the original discs to be able to run a program and have it do the conversions for you, but I now know that that point of view was a little naive. :) So now the purpose of it is to have a starting point from which to build on in the course of doing a total conversion (this includes model conversions as well). Some of the levels are pretty bad (08escape88 comes to mind with lots of overlapping geometry) while some of the others look pretty darned impressive, like I remembered them in the awful original. ;) One of the things that spurred me on to do this was that while JO had some impressive levels, none of them seemed to have the incredible scope that some of the original levels in JK had.

Anyway, I thought I'd throw that in. In other words, I'm willing and ready to help with the conversion in any way I can. :)

Shamus 06-01-2004 01:56 AM

It occurred to me that some of you may have your doubts about my claims, so I thought I'd share a few screenshots. Do any of these look familiar? ;)

http://icculus.org/~shamus/screens/shot0000.jpg
http://icculus.org/~shamus/screens/shot0001.jpg
http://icculus.org/~shamus/screens/shot0002.jpg
http://icculus.org/~shamus/screens/shot0003.jpg
http://icculus.org/~shamus/screens/shot0004.jpg
http://icculus.org/~shamus/screens/shot0005.jpg
http://icculus.org/~shamus/screens/shot0006.jpg
http://icculus.org/~shamus/screens/shot0007.jpg
http://icculus.org/~shamus/screens/shot0008.jpg
http://icculus.org/~shamus/screens/shot0009.jpg
http://icculus.org/~shamus/screens/shot0010.jpg

As you can see, the conversion tool does a fairly good job, imperfect as it is. However, for some reason, the BSPs are showing a HOM effect for the star BG even though I copied the .shader file over--that's why there aren't any sky shots (maybe the syntax is different between JO and JA?). But you can get a sense of the scale that I was talking about in the previous post. ;)

Ackehallgren 06-02-2004 10:37 AM

cool...

'Nuff said :D

N3G1@ 06-02-2004 12:20 PM

Nice! However yes, some JO shader lines work in a different way in JA...

Locutus_of_Borg 06-03-2004 08:30 AM

Very very cool. Although the whole point of a recreation MOD is to make the game better, both in graphics and gameplay. So simply converting the maps from JK1 to JA, while still very very cool, isn't really that great for improving the gameplay etc.
Btw, has there been any developments on this MOD recently? I haven't heard anything in ages.

J_Bond 06-03-2004 10:35 AM

I also think that just converting the old maps from JK1 to JA isn't a real solution, but it's the best until we see that the project is going on. So, good job, Shamus!

Shamus 06-03-2004 12:23 PM

Like I said earlier, it's not meant as the final product but as a starting point. :) I have no idea what assets have been created already, but I thought my programs could be useful--instead of having to start from scratch, you would be able to start with something. Even if it were simply for comparison. Not to mention saving someone from having to re-do the Smacker -> ROQ conversions (which took long enough!). ;)

Again, the work has already been done in this area, so why not take advantage of it? :cool:

BTW, here is a screenshot showing one of the geometry problems I was talking about:

http://icculus.org/~shamus/screens/shot0011.jpg

What this shows is that the levels can't be 100% identical to the originals (in the original, you wouldn't be able to see the landing pad because the "sky" texture would block it from view).

Obi_Kwiet 06-03-2004 02:56 PM

Awesome!! That would be so cool to have your JA charicter in with the origanal game! Any chance for haveing origanal NPC's too? When will it be done? Very cool! About the sykbox problem, I know you can use distance cull to make things visable further away. couldnt you make them becaome invisable sooner? Oh, I think I'd rather (or at least have the option) of playing with the new charicter with the old graphis. That would rock!

Disco Hips 06-10-2004 01:03 AM

re: Shamus
 
Shamus.

that's some amazing work you've pulled off there, which in my not so technical opinion, bodes well for a remake of jedi knight. after patting you on the back, i was wondering if you might share with us what would be required to do to the maps after the conversion process?

will it be possible to 'enhance' the maps, to make them more architecurally ornate?

of the problems you've mentioned, what are your proposed fixes?

and to the rest of the potential remake team; has anyone got in contact with the previous group, or even the dark forces group, and asked politely for the use of their already created assets? models, statics, textures etc.

i am not a mapper, so excuse me if these questions appear paralysingly obvious or redundent. i really liked the game at the time, mainly for the vast levels which conjured a real sense of vertigo. shamus' work brings a remake project that bit closer (i think)...

cheers, and good luck with future endeavours.

Shamus 06-10-2004 03:47 PM

Well, after converting the maps there would be the usual round of fun stuff like texture recreation (which to me seems like the bulk of the work), model tweaking, lighting, etc. It will of course be possible to tweak the levels to make them more architecturally pleasing and detailed. :)

As far as fixing the original JK mapper's laziness goes--well... There's no doubt that some of the geometry of the levels will have to move around a bit, and in some cases (Nar Shadda, see above screenshot) have to move considerably. Overall, though, it should be possible to keep things pretty much the same.

Again, what my tools provide is more of a starting point, which, IMO, is better than nothing. ;)

If you really want to help out, I would suggest that you start with texture recreation, since there are around 2,000 or so to do. :eek: It would be nice, though, to know what, if any, progress has been made in this area before you start! ;)

So how about it Mr._Katarn? What's the status of the mod? Are you starting from scratch or do you have the previous modders assets? If you do, how much did they get done?

Disco Hips 06-12-2004 02:45 AM

re: assets
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Shamus


If you really want to help out, I would suggest that you start with texture recreation, since there are around 2,000 or so to do. :eek: It would be nice, though, to know what, if any, progress has been made in this area before you start! ;)


one of the things that has always baffled me about MOD development is this whole "reinvent the wheel" mentality. I'm sure, although i would not like to wager, that there must be some texture assets that can be 'borrowed' from the dark forces project; if asked nicely of course. ;) ditto the numerous hi-def character models that inevitably get made for DM etc: Vader, Mara Jade et al. maybe i'm missing something, but i fail to see why it would not be a time-saving benefit to ask the authors of the already created assets for the use of their work. the flipside to this i guess is that some folk wish to develop MODS to learn various skills, which is a fair enough argument if this is so desired.

regarding the previous MOD team, as headed by someone with the 'reaper' moniker: from what i gather, they had made some progress on the first level, maybe some others, and some character models were finished (jerec being one i distinctly remember), they also modeled a number of different sabres for each of the dark jedi. this may all be moot if shamus' tools are used. as for actual texture recreation, i couldn't tell if they had used stock JO assets, or created their own. maybe 'reaper' will read this and elaborate, i'm sure(ish) that they intimated some sort of release of what they had done so far, but i would not quote me on that.

all in all, i'm of the opinion that shamus' work would be of infinite value to any aspiring recreation project. the amount of grunt work that they could, and should save, makes much time-management sense. as shamus points out though, texture recreation would be a biggie, although i would dearly love to see some of the vast levels make as much use, architecturally, of the enhanced engine. same with lighting as well. here's hoping that something transpires of this thread...

Disco Hips 06-13-2004 04:54 AM

request of shamus
 
i know it's bad form to reply to one's self on a board, but could i just ask shamus to post more pics of levels, specifically where errors are most glaring. i think you mentioned the falling ship level as one example.

obviously, don't feel compelled if hosting issues are to blame, but it would be interesting to get a scope for what the issues are.

thanks in advance

Document Oosha 06-13-2004 10:04 PM

Why shouldn't you be able to see that landing pad? Isn't it more interesting when you can see how the whole level fits together on a grand scale?

I'm pretty sure the original JK team were careful not to make anything that looked like the resources from DF. Even the Crow was bizzarely transformed, although the pistol wasn't as bad.

It would be nice if you could write a program to have the installer convert the textures directly from the JK files. It wouldn't look like a 2005 game, but it would have a chance of actually being out that quickly. I assume there's some huge obstacle that makes it just a dream. Or maybe one of you just really, really hates low-res textures, so he can't even stand playing old JK anymore, and that's part of why he wants the mod to happen.

I remember the original JK textures being quite blandly drawn, regardless of the technical resolution, but at least they cover the walls.

I don't remember if anyone said this before, but have you considered doing in-engine cutscenes?

The_One 06-14-2004 07:23 AM

Just a few things...

a) The Dark Forces textures are completely different to the Jedi Knight textures - there may be a couple similar, but on the whole, they are different.

b) Texture converters are never a very good idea. We tried that with our mod, and in the end we had to resort to re-creating all 900 (now closer to 1000) textures from scratch. Admittedly, the DF textures are far lower resolution than the JK ones...

c) If you say there are 3000 textures in Jedi Knight, well, it's going to be extremely tricky to re-create all of them. Bear in mind this mod has been going for over 2 years now, and we are about 80% of the way through our 1000 textures. Note that there are more texture artists on the team than anything else...

d) Don't underestimate textures. Textures really provide the look and feel for a game, and within that game, the individual levels. I remember our very first build of Secbase used Jedi Outcast textures, and it looked more like a JO level than a DF one.

e) Finally, once we are done with the mod, we have an easy way to share our textures with other mod teams. Basically, in house, we have developed an online Texture Database - thanks to Karrackoo. With this tool, we can catalogue all our textures, compare them to the original artwork, and monitor our progress. It really is a great asset, and something we intend to make available to the public at a later date...

Ackehallgren 06-14-2004 10:46 AM

Uhm.. what do one need for texturing? ´Cause,,, If all one needs is like... Photoshop... I'm in!


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:59 AM.

Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.