LucasForums

LucasForums (http://www.lucasforums.com/index.php)
-   Padawan's Lounge (http://www.lucasforums.com/forumdisplay.php?f=523)
-   -   Swkotor.ini help! (http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=201724)

Istorian 12-03-2009 05:06 AM

Swkotor.ini help!
 
Hey! First of all, it's good to see all of you guys again! :thmbup1: I missed you!

Now, I recently reinstalled Kotor to play BOS:SR..When the installation finished, I went to my swkotor.ini file o make the right adjustments..And here is my swkotor.ini file:

Show spoiler


The problem is, that all the changes I have made to the swkotor.ini file don't apply in-game. For example, I don't run in windowed mode, though I should, and I can't use cheats, etc. What could cause this problem? Thanks for the attention!

harIII 12-03-2009 11:23 AM

I don't know what's wrong with your ini file but I know I made the same adjustments on mine, here's a download link to it:

http://h.imagehost.org/download/0587/swkotor

Star Admiral 12-03-2009 11:39 AM

If you are running under Vista or 7 you might need to give admin privileges to whatever program you use to edit the swkotor.ini file. Otherwise the edited file will be saved into the Compatibility folder, not your main KOTOR directory.

- Star Admiral

Istorian 12-03-2009 12:04 PM

Well, I tried both, but they didn't work. I don't know what could possibly be wrong. I'm running Vista Ultimate on Laptop. Thanks for the help, anyway.

harIII 12-03-2009 12:25 PM

If it's meaningful to you, I'm running Windows 7 RC version and it works - with both games for that matter.

Damian227 01-21-2010 11:32 AM

Havin exactly the same problem, so I even downloaded your ini as provided... the window mode works etc.. but the cheats thing still doesn't appear at all?

I do just press "~" right?

Phildevil 01-21-2010 11:56 AM

In TSL, there is no visible cheat console. You know you are typing a cheat when you cannot use your keyboard controls anymore (having pressed said key) .

Istorian 01-21-2010 01:35 PM

Yes, that's absolutely true, but you'll notice I'm referring to K1, where there is a visible console! ;)

Damian227 01-21-2010 01:51 PM

Likewise my issue is with KOTOR 1, no matter who's .ini I'm using, or where I edit my own, the cheat console just outright refuses to appear, yet every other edit works fine.

MishraArtificer 01-21-2010 02:31 PM

Do you have it entered as "EnableCheats=1" or "Enable Cheats=1"?

While we're on the subject of the swkotor.ini file, is there any way to force the game to run the .bnk videos at 1024x768 using edits to this? I'm running KOTOR and TSL on a laptop with ATI Mobility 9000 graphics, and it still plays all the cutscenes in (I think) 640x480. From what I've heard and read on these forums and others, however, I feel fortunate that I got it to run on my laptop at all. (Dell Latitude D600, ATI Mobility Radeon 32MB video, 1GB DDR RAM, 1.6GHz Pentium M processor. It originally came with a 1.4GHz Pentium M, but I swapped it out for a processor out of an old HP laptop...about the only thing out of the HP that still worked!)

Damian227 01-21-2010 03:11 PM

Exactly as I've been told and even attempted to copy and paste from somebodies working ini.. after their ini still doesn't work for me;

EnableCheats=1

It must be what i'm pressing, but I hit the ~ button and nothing? What am I supposed to see?

Star Admiral 01-21-2010 03:47 PM

Assuming that it worked, you should see a small cursor in the upper left hand corner of your screen. Trying typing a few letters, they will appear there.

- Star Admiral

Phildevil 01-21-2010 03:58 PM

Well, in Kotor 1, you'll see a small ">" appear. If not, maybe you don't hit the right key.

I noticed that depending on your keyboard configuration, said "~" will vary. Not sure what exactly you should do to get it to work on the 1st time, because there are so many keyboards out there, however I'll tell you this: depending on what country you are, the keyboards appearance may vary. Likewise, you might have a keyboard configuration that do not have the tilde(or you do, but it doesn't work with kotor). Then, you might want to change your keyboard config just for your playtrough with kotor. Play around and it's bound to work. I think I was able to make it work when I used the English-USA keyboard config.

RedHawke 01-22-2010 11:02 AM

Moving to Padawan's Lounge as that is the place for how to get 'cheats' to work. ;)

Istorian 02-04-2010 01:06 PM

Problem solved for me. It appears I had two swkotor.ini files, one hidden the main directory, thus I couldn't see it, and one in the Compatibility folder. I suddenly had the idea to Cut and Paste the file in the Compatibility folder to the desktop, and the hidden one pops up in the main directory. I run Kotor, and everything's alright now! Thanks, anyway for all the support, guys! :D

P.S. RH, I'm deeply sorry for the wrong post. Thanks for the move! ;)

head-jam 06-13-2012 05:38 PM

Hi.

Recently I've installed SW KOTOR for the 4th time(every time I've played my older bother uninstalled the game, saves and all, the bastard).

But now I've want to play it with cheats, I've tried to change the swkotor.ini but don't do anything.
Now I saw the last comment that Istorian made, and he talks about some hidden file in the Compatibility folder, but I'm playin in windows xp, and I can't find that folder.:\

Any tips that could help me?:D

Thanks


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:27 PM.

Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.