LucasForums

LucasForums (http://www.lucasforums.com/index.php)
-   Troubleshooting (http://www.lucasforums.com/forumdisplay.php?f=766)
-   -   Game crashing after intro (http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=202556)

shinebox 01-26-2010 11:42 PM

Game crashing after intro
 
Anyone else having a problem where the game crashes after the "A Long time ago" text finishes scrolling and it kills the game back to windows. When you try and reload the game again none of the menu loads "load game, new game, etc". The force unleashed title is there on the screen but the menu is replaced by 4 or 5 small blinking boxes like it's trying to load saved games (which might be corrupted after the crash?) and you have to force kill the process. Waiting half hour for it to try and load the menu didn't help either.

Reinstalling the game results in the same thing. The 1.1 patch didn't seem to change the outcome.

Any suggestions?

gedman 02-15-2010 04:20 PM

i get exactly the same, i'm using the steam version and my pc is... not the best tbh :p

DarthSlinky 02-17-2010 10:48 PM

What OS are you using?
Whats your graphics card...is it compatible?
What anti-virus are you using?


Gedman, perhaps your pc isn't good enough to play it, try adding some more ram and a new GPU

shinebox 02-19-2010 06:47 PM

I have an XP SP3. I forget the chip but it meets the min reqs at to what's on the back of the box. And the Card was a Nvidia. Not sure the specs since I'm at work but it was good enough to play everything from Bioware. I heard there's some intense physics on this game, but my box should be good enough.

Shem 02-28-2010 01:16 AM

From my experience when it comes to BINK movies being played during PC games, it will depend on your video card. It will help if you open the game's .ini file and change the resolution of the playback videos to be the same it is when you play the game. That should solve your problem.

Mesavan 03-17-2010 06:03 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Shem (Post 2709383)
From my experience when it comes to BINK movies being played during PC games, it will depend on your video card. It will help if you open the game's .ini file and change the resolution of the playback videos to be the same it is when you play the game. That should solve your problem.

How, specifically, do you do this?

Jeff 03-17-2010 06:13 PM

I don't have the PC version so I can't say for sure but with most PC games, there is a .ini file located in the game's main directory under program files, I would just open up this file with a text editor and look through it for any values that fit the format of a resolution (1024x768, or maybe it would be more like height=768 width=1024 I'm not sure). Maybe Shem can shed some more light on it. Hope this helps.

Mesavan 03-18-2010 05:44 PM

I searched through all of the files in the game and cannot find any .ini files and have checked for resolution entries beyond what is given at startup. Is there a solution to this beyond making a manual edit to data that I have no familiarity to?

Jeff 03-18-2010 07:04 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mesavan (Post 2713460)
I searched through all of the files in the game and cannot find any .ini files and have checked for resolution entries beyond what is given at startup. Is there a solution to this beyond making a manual edit to data that I have no familiarity to?

Have you gone through this checklist to see if any of those steps can solve your problem?

Mesavan 03-18-2010 07:47 PM

Yes, I have the requirements and have updated to the latest drivers. I've been emailing back and forth with customer support, so far the suggestions have not been working.

Mesavan 03-19-2010 01:35 AM

I got the crash problem solved with some help from the customer support. The following directions helped me.

Click on Start --> Run and typing %temp%. When the window opens, delete all of the files within that directory. Open "My Documents" and delete the folder there. Open the program file folder to delete anything left behind by the uninstall. Restart your computer, then reinstall the game. When patching the game, be sure to only patch 1.2, not both 1.2 and 1.1.

Thank you for the help.

Jeff 03-19-2010 01:53 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mesavan (Post 2713534)
I got the crash problem solved with some help from the customer support. The following directions helped me.

Click on Start --> Run and typing %temp%. When the window opens, delete all of the files within that directory. Open "My Documents" and delete the folder there. Open the program file folder to delete anything left behind by the uninstall. Restart your computer, then reinstall the game. When patching the game, be sure to only patch 1.2, not both 1.2 and 1.1.

Thank you for the help.

Glad to hear you got it working.

hutopcat 11-10-2010 07:55 AM

working solution
 
Hi Everybody!
Hope this helps some of you. My son got this game on his birthday, his computer almost reaches the min reqs, but he has no dual core cpu, and got this error on new game (also he had no campaign selection menu).
So I installed it on my comp, where the video card is a nv7600gs, so doesn't meet the specs, but it started (very slow), so I created 4 save games, 1 for each campaign on my computer and then copied it to his computer, now he can load these and works well on his single core system.

So here is the savefile:
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/2107048/SWTFU.BIN

Best regards,
Lorinc

Futher 01-31-2012 11:48 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mesavan (Post 2713534)
I got the crash problem solved with some help from the customer support. The following directions helped me.

Click on Start --> Run and typing %temp%. When the window opens, delete all of the files within that directory. Open "My Documents" and delete the folder there. Open the program file folder to delete anything left behind by the uninstall. Restart your computer, then reinstall the game. When patching the game, be sure to only patch 1.2, not both 1.2 and 1.1.

Thank you for the help.

Damn it... It was hard enough to find the damn patches and now find out to only use 1.2 -is that right? Do not use 1.1, but only 1.2??


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:14 AM.

Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.