LucasForums

LucasForums (http://www.lucasforums.com/index.php)
-   JA Mapping (http://www.lucasforums.com/forumdisplay.php?f=540)
-   -   Open default maps with GTKRadiant 1.5.0 (http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=203742)

Alexrd 05-02-2010 09:38 AM

Open default maps with GTKRadiant 1.5.0
 
How can I do that? They are ".bsp".

Thanks in advance.

-=*Raz0r*=- 05-02-2010 05:34 PM

Radiant works with raw .map files, which are compiled to BSP format for in-game use.
.bsp compilation is mostly a 'one-way-street', but you can technically decompile them, though they won't be like the original.
Things like lights will be missing (As they're 'baked' to a lightmap at compile time), and texture placement will be very wonky.
Also, some brushes will be deformed.

I'm running late, so I can't guide you through the decompilation process, but a quick google search for 'q3map2 decompile bsp to map jedi academy' should help.

Alexrd 05-02-2010 05:40 PM

That's my problem. This version comes with q3map2, but when I open it, the window quickly closes.

acdcfanbill 05-02-2010 11:48 PM

q3map2 uses a command line interface. You open a cmd window, navigate to where q3map2 is and run it. Also you can make a .bat file to run. You can see a list of switches that q3map2 uses here.

Alexrd 05-03-2010 06:51 AM

Got it to work, although some shaders don't appear. Thanks.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:22 AM.

Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.