LucasForums

LucasForums (http://www.lucasforums.com/index.php)
-   Holowan Laboratories (http://www.lucasforums.com/forumdisplay.php?f=324)
-   -   [Tutorial] Journal Entry Tutorial (http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=205362)

harIII 09-06-2010 12:16 AM

Journal Entry Tutorial
 
Journal Entry Tutorial

I can't remember if this area has already been covered but I made this for originally for Canderis in one of his projects and hopefully it will help all of those who are in need of making quests for their mods. Creating your own custom quests is a really easy process, you only need to edit one file and generally use two scripts; one to make a journal entry active and another to check to see if it’s active. So let’s get started.

1. Creating your new quest
Show spoiler


2. Activating the quest and journal entry
Show spoiler


Remember that the first script to activate the journal can be used in a variety of ways allowing you to be very flexible in how to execute the script while the conditional script will give you a way to make something happen should a particular journal entry be active.

At this point you should be able to go into the game and see the quest once you execute the script. If you need any other information as to how to do this please feel free to ask by pming me here at Lucasforums.

Nick Vader 09-08-2010 09:46 AM

Man! Finally... Just... finallyXD.

This will surely help our modding community harIII, and I personally thank you for solving countless problems I was facing...:thmbup1:

Tigersong 11-14-2012 03:40 PM

What kind of program should be used to open the journal file?

Marius Fett 11-14-2012 06:40 PM

K-GFF is your best bet, Tigersong.

Tigersong 11-14-2012 08:06 PM

Well, like all apprentices, I have another question. How do I change existing journal entries? Is it even possible?

Marius Fett 11-14-2012 08:19 PM

Ja, you can edit them with K-GFF when you open the global.jrl file. :)

Hassat Hunter 11-15-2012 03:53 AM

Hint for anyone using this, atleast for TSL, adding a string with the quest entry breaks KSE. Adding a new dialog.tlk entry and referencing to that will not cause said issue.

Also, TSL has a lot better ways to handle quests in dialog through the dialog editor and pre-set scripts for checking quest status in dialogs...

Scorge 11-15-2012 04:51 PM

Code:

8.        PlanetID: This field sets what planet name appears on the Quest. You can see what planet number should be set in the Planetary.2da file.
I have a question about this, if you don't want to put the planet ID in there can you just leave it blank or -1? I'm asking in case it doesn't bug out.

Hassat Hunter 11-15-2012 06:48 PM

For a planetless quest you need to enter -1.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:38 AM.

Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.