LucasForums

LucasForums (http://www.lucasforums.com/index.php)
-   Bug Reports/Requests/Game Feedback (http://www.lucasforums.com/forumdisplay.php?f=649)
-   -   WTF? BF2 running without the DVD unpatched? (http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=205566)

ggctuk 10-04-2010 05:41 PM

WTF? BF2 running without the DVD unpatched?
 
So I recently bought SWBF2 PC DVD version. I uninstalled Steam and the SWBF2 I bought off Steam, installed a fresh copy of SWBF2 with the DVD. Go to install the Unofficial 1.3 patch, and when I am done, SWBF2 automatically runs. The DVD is not in the drive. I thought it was a side-effect of the installation so I tried starting BF2 after installing it. Same thing again - the game works without the DVD. The DVD is not pirated because I bought it from a supermarket's games section, the serial number I used works.

So I am wondering, has my Steam version created a 'no-CD' version of BF2? If it hasn't, what the Diet Dr. Pepper is going on?

I'm not trying to condone piracy, BTW. I am honestly baffled by this, and I would like to fix the issue.

jawathehutt 10-04-2010 06:45 PM

Waaaiiittt... You want to have to put a cd in...? Why?

Bokken 10-04-2010 07:46 PM

Your story similarly baffles me. You bought a Steam copy...and then bought a physical one? You dislike being able to play without the CD?

In fact, I believe that you do not have an issue at all. If your game is factory-default version 1.1, then it doesn't need the CD to play.

ggctuk 10-05-2010 04:50 AM

I bought a physical copy because Steam ate up too much memory combined with BF2. BF2 runs smoother without it, I've noticed. This and I don't want to be accused of illegally downloading a no-cd patch.

I'm told by the folks over at Gametoast, that the 1.1 DVD patch will still do a DVD check.

Bokken 10-05-2010 11:18 AM

In fact, it is perfectly legal to download a no-CD patch. The illegality comes when people who have obtained the game illegally use patches to play. For anyone who owns a legal copy of the game, a no-CD patch is acceptable. Not that you have downloaded a patch, but just to alleviate your fears, you couldn't even really be accused of any criminal activity.

I saw your thread at GameToast, and one person said it didn't, one said that it did. I think it depends on which version of the game you buy as factory default.

HockeyGoalie35 10-11-2010 09:45 PM

yea thats pretty routine for me. i find one after installing any game


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:04 PM.

Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.