LucasForums

LucasForums (http://www.lucasforums.com/index.php)
-   The Work Bench (http://www.lucasforums.com/forumdisplay.php?f=554)
-   -   kotor ii mouse movement stops after combat (http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=208697)

vgerdj 10-30-2011 03:22 PM

kotor ii mouse movement stops after combat
 
my nephew said to play kotor b4 swtor to get the backstory. i installed both, played kotor a few hrs, started on kotor ii, and it worked NP. I came back to it after a week and after combat the mouse will not move. I can click and use the menus but the character will not move. I reload and works fine till next combat, then stops. I went thru all menus on/off auto-pause... I have an amd dual 555 gts250 msi MB merc stealth kybd/mouse

Q 10-31-2011 01:09 AM

Try using the game's configuration utility to post your system specs:
Quote:

Originally Posted by stingerhs (Post 1774888)
Post your system specs
Sometimes we're just not going to be able to help you if we don't know what kind of hardware you have on your machine. If you don't know what you have on your machine, then follow these steps below:
  • If you're using Vista or Windows 7, go into your game folder, find "launcher.exe" and right-click on it. Select "properties", then "compatibility" and check the box beside "Run this program in compatibility mode for:" and select "Windows XP (Service Pack 2)". Then check the box next to "Run this program administrator" and hit "OK". (EDIT by Q)
  • Bring up the launcher menu for Kotor 1 or 2 (by running "launcher.exe").
  • Click on "Configure".
  • Click the "Scan Hardware" button on the lower center of the window.
  • Click "Yes" to continue.
  • Click "Details" to view your system specs.
  • Click "Save Report" and save the file to your desktop.
  • Whenever you post your problem, open the file you just saved and copy and paste the contents to your post.

You can leave out the keymapping and everything after that. Also, please specify which version of Windows you are using because the game can't ID anything newer than XP.

vgerdj 11-01-2011 10:35 PM

[SWKotOR]
ReportDateTime=11/1/2011 10:26:25 PM
SysInfoVersion=v1.00.60
GameExists=1
GameVersion=v2.00.420
GameInstallLocation=C:\Program Files\LucasArts\SWKotOR2\

[OS]
Name=WinXP
Version=Windows XP v5.1 build 2600 Service Pack 3
Service Pack=Service Pack 3
Status=Pass

[SwapFiles]
C:\pagefile.sys=2046

[CPU]
CPUCount=2
CPUSpeed=3200
CPUFamily=15
CPUModel=4
CPUStepping=3
CPUVendor=AMD
CPUName=AMD Phenom(tm) II X2 555 Processor 3200MHz
Status=Pass

[Memory]
RAM=2048
Status=Pass

[Disk Free Space]
C: (NTFS), UNICODE=72.66GB
D: (NTFS), UNICODE=195.88GB1
Status=Pass

[CD-ROMs]
DriveLetters=J:\
Drives=ATAPI DVD DW 8X16X8X16

[Video]
Video Card Name=NVIDIA GeForce GTS 250
Video Memory=1024
Desktop Resolution=1920x1080x32 @ 60Hz
DirectX=DirectX (9.0+) (4.09.00.0904)
OpenGL Version=3.3.0
OpenGL Vendor=NVIDIA Corporation
OpenGL Renderer=GeForce GTS 250/PCI/SSE2/3DNOW!
NVidia Driver=6.14.12.8026
Vid Card Status=Warning
Vid Card Driver Status=Pass
GL Status=Pass
DX Status=Pass

[Audio]
Sound Card Name=VIA HD Audio Output
Status=Pass


;Game Options from swkotor2.ini

[Display Options]
FullScreen=1
Disable Movies=0
Disable Intro Movies=0
Sort Modules=1
Width=640
Height=480
BitsPerPixels=32
RefreshRate=60

[Sound Options]
Music Volume=20
Voiceover Volume=35
Sound Effects Volume=37
Movie Volume=24
Number 3D Voices=32
Number 2D Voices=32
2D3D Bias=1.00
EAX=0
Sound Init=0
Disable Sound=0
Force Software=0

[Graphics Options]
Anisotropy=16
Frame Buffer=1
Grass=1
Soft Shadows=1
Shadows=1
Brightness=57
EnableHardwareMouse=0
FullScreen=0
RefreshRate=60
Width=1280
Height=1024
V-Sync=0
Texture Quality=2
Anti Aliasing=8

[Game Options]
UnlockedPlanetSongs=3
Enable Tooltips=1
Keyboard Camera Deceleration=2000.000000
Keyboard Camera Acceleration=500.000000
Keyboard Camera DPS=200.000000
TextureVariation=1
BodyVariation=0
AppearanceType=175
PCGender=0
GameCompleted=0
CurSithLord=0
Hide InGame GUI=0
Use Small Fonts=0
Hide Unequippable=0
Tutorial Popups=1
Subtitles=1
Mini Map=1
Floating Numbers=1
Status Summary=1
Enable Mouse Teleporting To Buttons=1
Mouse Sensitivity=57
Difficulty Level=1
Auto Level Up NPCs=0
Mouse Look=0
AutoSave=1
EnableScreenShot=0
Reverse Mouse Buttons=0
Reverse Ingame YAxis=0
Reverse Minigame YAxis=0
Combat Movement=1
TooltipDelay Sec=1
Disable Movies=0

[config]
firstrun=0
1

[Autopause Options]
End Of Combat Round=0
Mine Sighted=0
Enemy Sighted=0
Party Killed=0
Action Menu=0
New Target Selected=0
1

Q 11-03-2011 08:50 PM

This is just a guess, but your problem might be a CPU affinity issue. The KotOR games were meant to run on single-core CPUs.

Since you have a multi-core CPU and you're using XP, you're going to have set affinity to a single CPU core every time you launch the game. How I do it is to open Task Manager (right-click on the Taskbar at the bottom of Windows' desktop and select "Task Manager") and click on the "Processes" tab. Check the "Show processes for all users" box if it isn't already and then launch the game. Once you get to the game's main menu, hit the Windows key to get back to the desktop and look for the game's executable (swkotor.exe/swkotor2.exe) in the Task Manager under the "Processes" tab. When you find it, right click on it, select "set affinity" and uncheck every box but "CPU 0" and hit "OK". Once you've done that, just hit the game's icon in the Taskbar and you should be good to go. Remember that you'll have to set CPU affinity like this every time you launch the game. Not doing this can cause the game to randomly crash.

You should also do the Dantooine lag fix:
Quote:

Originally Posted by stingerhs (Post 1752131)
  • First, figure out where the .ini is installed. Default is "C:\Program Files\Lucasarts\swkotor(2)\swkotor(2).ini". If its not in that location, then your going to have to do some searching around on the hard drive a bit.
  • When you find it, just double-click on the file to open it in Notepad.
  • Scroll down the file until you find the Graphics Options
  • Under the last line ("last line" as in the last line of the list of entries under "Graphics Options", NOT the last line of "swkotor(2).ini"), add "Disable Vertex Buffer Objects=1", without the quotes.
  • Goto File, then Save.


Koniev 08-31-2012 02:45 PM

I found a thread on the Gamespot forums where this problem is addressed. The proposed solution is to enable V-Sync under graphical options.
I have tried it and it seems to solve the problem, hope it works for you too.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:47 AM.

Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.