LucasForums

LucasForums (http://www.lucasforums.com/index.php)
-   The Work Bench (http://www.lucasforums.com/forumdisplay.php?f=554)
-   -   KOTOR II transparent textures (http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=209470)

About4Ninjas 02-07-2012 01:47 PM

I love the kotor series i have both games, kotor I works perfectly fine and kotor 2 i never have lag, or anyproblems, except transparent lightsaber hilts, all swords, most droids and doors and some npc's. i would love to know how to fix it, cause its really annoying lol

Operating System: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit (6.1, Build 7601) Service Pack 1 (7601.win7sp1_gdr.110622-1506)
Language: English (Regional Setting: English)
System Manufacturer: Dell Inc.
System Model: Inspiron N5010
BIOS: BIOS Date: 01/09/10 15:17:22 Ver: 08.00.10
Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i3 CPU M 380 @ 2.53GHz (4 CPUs), ~2.5GHz
Memory: 3072MB RAM
Available OS Memory: 2934MB RAM
Page File: 1599MB used, 4267MB available
Windows Dir: C:\Windows
DirectX Version: DirectX 11
DX Setup Parameters: Not found
User DPI Setting: Using System DPI
System DPI Setting: 96 DPI (100 percent)
DWM DPI Scaling: Disabled
DxDiag Version: 6.01.7601.17514 64bit Unicode

Q 02-07-2012 04:16 PM

I need to see how the game is interacting with your hardware. Try using the game's configuration utility to post your system specs:
Quote:

Originally Posted by stingerhs (Post 1774888)
Post your system specs
Sometimes we're just not going to be able to help you if we don't know what kind of hardware you have on your machine. If you don't know what you have on your machine, then follow these steps below:
  • If you're using Vista or Windows 7, go into your game folder, find "launcher.exe" and right-click on it. Select "properties", then "compatibility" and check the box beside "Run this program in compatibility mode for:" and select "Windows XP (Service Pack 2)". Then check the box next to "Run this program administrator" and hit "OK". (EDIT by Q)
  • Bring up the launcher menu for Kotor 1 or 2 (by running "launcher.exe").
  • Click on "Configure".
  • Click the "Scan Hardware" button on the lower center of the window.
  • Click "Yes" to continue.
  • Click "Details" to view your system specs.
  • Click "Save Report" and save the file to your desktop.
  • Whenever you post your problem, open the file you just saved and copy and paste the contents to your post.

You can leave out the keymapping and everything after that.

About4Ninjas 02-10-2012 02:53 PM

[SWKotOR]
ReportDateTime=2/10/2012 1:51:09 PM
SysInfoVersion=v1.00.60
GameExists=1
GameVersion=v2.10.427
GameInstallLocation=C:\Program Files (x86)\LucasArts\SWKotOR2\

[OS]
Name=Win9x
Version=Windows 9X v6.1 build 7600
Service Pack=None
Status=Fail

[SwapFiles]
?:\pagefile.sys=0

[CPU]
CPUCount=4
CPUSpeed=2527
CPUFamily=6
CPUModel=5
CPUStepping=5
CPUVendor=Intel
CPUName=Intel(R) Core(TM) i3 CPU M 380 @ 2.53GHz
Status=Pass

[Memory]
RAM=1024
Status=Pass

[Disk Free Space]
C: (NTFS), UNICODE=220.62GB
Status=Pass

[CD-ROMs]
DriveLetters=D:\
Drives=

[Video]
Video Card Name=RDPDD Chained DD
Video Memory=2048
Desktop Resolution=1366x768x32
DirectX=DirectX 9.0c (4.09.00.0904)
OpenGL Version=2.1.0 - Build 8.15.10.2202
OpenGL Vendor=Intel
OpenGL Renderer=Intel(R) HD Graphics
Vid Card Status=Warning
Vid Card Driver Status=Pass
GL Status=Pass
DX Status=Pass

[Audio]
Sound Card Name=Speakers (High Definition Audio Device)
Status=Pass


;Game Options from swkotor2.ini

[Display Options]
FullScreen=1
Disable Movies=0
Disable Intro Movies=0
Sort Modules=1
Width=640
Height=480
BitsPerPixels=32
RefreshRate=60

[Sound Options]
Number 3D Voices=32
Number 2D Voices=32
2D3D Bias=1.00
EAX=0
Sound Init=0
Disable Sound=0
Force Software=0

[Graphics Options]
EnableHardwareMouse=1
FullScreen=0
RefreshRate=60
Width=1024
Height=768
Emitters=1
Anisotropy=1
Frame Buffer=1
Soft Shadows=1
Brightness=57
V-Sync=1
Texture Quality=2
Anti Aliasing=0

[Game Options]
TooltipDelay Sec=1
Disable Movies=0

[config]
firstrun=0

Qui-Gon Glenn 02-10-2012 03:59 PM

You have patched your game, which is good!

You need to do the Dantooine Lag Fix....
Quote:

Originally Posted by D333
In swkotor2.ini, go in the "Graphics Options" section and add the line:
"Disable Vertex Buffer Objects=1".

....

If you are unable to "do" this, in that you cannot "write" to your .ini, you may need to reinstall the game according to the instructions in this post by Q.

About4Ninjas 02-10-2012 04:09 PM

okay i added that line to the graphics options

Hunters Run 02-10-2012 04:09 PM

Your problem is the intel processor. Intel processors have trouble rendering shader effects (shiny) therefore making it transparent.

Q 02-10-2012 06:59 PM

You really should reinstall the game according to the large-print instructions at the top of the second post in this thread.

About4Ninjas 02-11-2012 04:31 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Hunters Run (Post 2804035)
Your problem is the intel processor. Intel processors have trouble rendering shader effects (shiny) therefore making it transparent.

well i run the old republic on mostly high and i have no shiny problems

Hunters Run 02-11-2012 11:36 PM

While it could be your intel processor I mixed up processors with graphics cards. If you have an intel graphics card it will cause these problems. If you have an amd or nvidia graphics card and are still experiencing these problems than it could be the processor. All I know for sure is that kotor 2 doesn't like intel.

Darth Dan 012 04-20-2012 09:52 PM

Intel HD Graphics are really bad. Do you have a desktop PC or a laptop? If it's a desktop, buy a new graphics card. It's definitely worth the $150+.

ratchet_owns88 09-23-2012 03:57 AM

Transparent Character Issues? Look Here.
 
This topic is designed to help you cope with transparency issues in certain droids, armors, as well as weapons in KotOR:TSL.

The flaw is inherent in most laptop user’s gamplay, this is due to a insufficient VIDEO GRAPHICS CARD installed in the hardrive. This means that anything that is shiny or has a reflective surface will become clear and you will see right through them. Depending on how reflective the object is will determine how much of their actual form you will see, in short...

http://i1148.photobucket.com/albums/...ps836506e3.jpg

On Laptops: more reflective = less solid.


Other problems associated with the flaw are that you will not be able to see holograms or transmission in their regular translucent blue form; they will be solid and colored. Also, you will not be able to see active shields or the burst of speed effect, although they will be active, you will only see if they are working by the cyan arrows on your characters’ portraits. Another major drawback is you will never see from a camera / droid’s point of view (they are usually a hazy blue or red). The force sight ability will be also lost to you, meaning you will not be able to see a non playable character’s alignment (a shaded background with a bad red character, a good blue character, or a white neutral character).


Unfortunately, if you have this dilemma you cannot upgrade your card because it is built into your particular model, and while you can change the card, it is highly recommended you do not, because you will need to take apart the laptop and remove the mother board in order to do so. You can also just buy a gaming laptop or a PC tower with the proper card installed, but chances are slim you want to spend that kind of money if only for this one game.


This is a modder’s tip on how to inexpensively reduce the transparency issues only.


http://i1148.photobucket.com/albums/...psb5f03eb9.jpg


I have chosen an HK-50 using a DC-15A Rifle mod as an example.


If you have downloaded the ultimate appearance or just a particular reflective weapon mod, this will be much simpler, seeing as how I won’t go into how to extract the models, you’ll have to figure that out on your own.


To edit the appearance you will need the GIMP painting program.


NOTE: I must stress than you make duplicates of the files you plan to make changes to, in case you wish to undo the alterations.


http://i1148.photobucket.com/albums/...ps047578d0.jpg


http://i1148.photobucket.com/albums/...psae9b7b0e.jpg


Once you have downloaded the GIMP program, go into the object’s destination folder and locate their .TGA file, it’s a good possibility that it will be easy to find, with the characters name in the title.


http://i1148.photobucket.com/albums/...ps5635e9a3.jpg


After you have opened the .TGA, you will see the object’s skin on a flat 2d surface. From here, all you need to do is to click on the LAYERS tab on the top of the screen, and then again on the TRANSPARENCY tab, you must then select REMOVE ALPHA CHANNEL.


http://i1148.photobucket.com/albums/...ps3c5bf60a.jpg


This takes the checkerboard surface off the skin.


http://i1148.photobucket.com/albums/...ps0797b071.jpg


Save the .TGA in the folder among the files it was originally found with.


http://i1148.photobucket.com/albums/...ps1af2669a.jpg


http://i1148.photobucket.com/albums/...psaad2ef73.jpg


Enter your edited file, along with any other modifications you wish to go with the skin, into the OVERRIDE folder located within your KotOR:TSL destination folder, or just create one if not already there.


NOTE: Please make sure your game is not active while doing this, as this may corrupt the system in unforeseen consequences.


The scheme of the color and texture may seem unrealistic, even downgraded compared to other objects, but this is only in some cases, and most of the time the object will in fact look solid and well blended to the rest of the scene.


The weapon and facial processes are exactly the same as the armor alterations, as I have already done the same steps with the rifle HK-50 is holding.


http://i1148.photobucket.com/albums/...psdb791b08.jpg


Check your gameplay to view the results.


Congratulations, you now have a solid character / weapon / armor for your laptop’s KotOR:TSL gameplay.

Q 09-26-2012 11:05 PM

Thank you. That post was very helpful. :thumbsup:

ChAiNz.2da 09-27-2012 10:17 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Q (Post 2820092)
Thank you. That post was very helpful. :thumbsup:

Agreed! Copied and Stickied to this forum :D

http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=211134


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:08 AM.

Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.