LucasForums

LucasForums (http://www.lucasforums.com/index.php)
-   Holowan Laboratories (http://www.lucasforums.com/forumdisplay.php?f=324)
-   -   Character model Editing in Blender? (http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=211434)

Falko_Fbob_Cherry 11-13-2012 09:47 PM

Character model Editing in Blender?
 
Hey guys, just wondering after a couple hours of roaming and failure if there's a way to edit kotor character models in blender rather than gmax owing to the fact I'm about as effective as a walrus on a teusday in gmax.

Cheers!
- Mugg

Dak Drexl 11-14-2012 12:25 AM

As far as I know the reason we can only use Max is because the plugin that allows us to import and export the game models, called nwmax, has only been written for Max.

DarthParametric 11-14-2012 02:38 AM

You have to export models via GMax/Max as Dak said, but you can still model in another app (such as Blender) as long as you can import it into one of them afterwards. It's a non-issue for static models (all my modelling was done in C4D and imported into GMax), but for character models you're going to struggle a bit I would think, at least with GMax. The only viable route would probably be via Max, and you'd have to export out the base rigged model to Blender, make whatever changes you need, then reimport back into Max for export. I can't see it being practical with GMax due to its highly restrictive format options. I suspect though that it would be far more trouble than it would be worth for minor alterations. There's a high likelihood of all sorts of errors cropping up with multiple format conversions.

Falko_Fbob_Cherry 11-24-2012 04:07 PM

Thanks for the responses guys, I'd tried finding a p3d importer/exporter script for blender since that's the only export option out of Gmax (that I could find anyway) and managed to find one but I think all the conversions were too much as when I brought it into blender, I got nothing. It might also be noted that I couldn't find the .mdl export out of nwmax that all the tutorials talk about, so I guess that just indicates how adept I am at navigating Max. :xp:

Dak Drexl 11-26-2012 09:49 AM

Haha what the hell is a pd3? Try following this link. I don't have Max anymore but it looks like it should be fine. As Darth said, though, you're out of luck with character models if you're looking to put them back into the game (since it's just a static .obj).

Falko_Fbob_Cherry 11-27-2012 11:47 PM

Ah, lame lol, .p3d is the only export in the file>export menu for me. Anyway, ya character models are what I wanna muck around with. Dunno what the point would be with anything that wasn't a character.

Dak Drexl 11-27-2012 11:56 PM

Does Blender play nice with .fbx format? I'm a Maya user and have been wondering what would happen if someone who has 3ds Max exported a character model as an .fbx for me to bring into Maya. Might be a similar case for you too, but I'm not too familiar with Blender.

Falko_Fbob_Cherry 12-22-2012 10:51 AM

Hmmm, .fbx you say? Doesn't sound familiar, there's probably a third party import/export script floating around somewhere out there but it's not native to blender, I'm starting to be curious about 3ds max though, it seems to be compatible with more stuff and I am not pleased... Blender! Improve yourself!

VarsityPuppet 12-22-2012 11:49 AM

If you're modeling from scratch, I know it's possible to import blender into 3ds.....

I don't know what that entails necessary, but it's possible.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:39 AM.

Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.