LucasForums

LucasForums (http://www.lucasforums.com/index.php)
-   Holowan Laboratories (http://www.lucasforums.com/forumdisplay.php?f=324)
-   -   [Tutorial] Default Game Textures' .TXIs (http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=211476)

Fair Strides 2 11-21-2012 12:42 PM

Default Game Textures' .TXIs
 
I recall someone saying once that we can't figure out what the .txi data is for the textures in the texture packs, right?

Well, out of curiosity, I hit the "Hex View" button with a texture selected. I got gibberish until I scrolled to the very bottom and saw something about proceduretype. So, I hit the "ANSI" button at the bottom of KT's hex viewer, and again scrolled to the bottom.

Voila! I saw all of the .txi info right there. A thing to note: the blending/proceduretype setting is at the end of the line that is immediately above the "clear text".

IIRC, this means you can extract the .tpc, Hex edit it(or edit it in ANSI), then throw it through an online .TGA converter, and have fun. I am not in a position to test this atm. If any wish to do so, please report their findings to a moderator so they can update this post.

I regret that I can't post screenies to show you, but unless someone else wants to obtain them, it'll be a few weeks at the least before I can upload them...

Hassat Hunter 11-22-2012 12:29 PM

Could you explain with more detail for a leak like me?

I could really use the OE .txi of Kotor2Logo.tpc

Darth Sapiens 11-23-2012 02:17 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Hassat Hunter (Post 2823563)
Could you explain with more detail for a leak like me?

I could really use the OE .txi of Kotor2Logo.tpc

it works, from kotor2logo.tpc :
"mipmap 0" is what i got, from other textures we get more, what i have noticed so-far is that almost every texture has an xbox downsample, though ktools tpc viewer shows gibberish or nothing.
to explain further on how to view this extra info.
1. select a tpc.
2. on ktools right-most panel select hex viewer
a new window shows up
3. you now have the hex on the right and the ANSI translation on the right
4. scroll to the very bottom, in your ansi part you should see things that make sense "clamp 0" "mipmap 0" "xbox_downsample 64"
5. on the bottom of ktools hex viewer you have three options: hex ansi unicode
6. select ansi, the view should change, now your looking at just gibberish,
7. scroll down to the last line, then scroll right until you get to what you notced in step 4.
8. there is your txi info copy and paste from the ansi view and bob's the hobo living on the corner.
:)

Fair Strides 2 11-23-2012 02:35 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Darth Sapiens (Post 2823594)
it works, from kotor2logo.tpc :
"mipmap 0" is what i got, from other textures we get more, what i a=have noticed so-far is that almost every texture has an xbox downsample, though ktools tpc viewer shows gibberish or nothing.
to explain further on how to view this extra info.
1. select a tpc.
2. on ktools right-most panel select hex viewer
a new window shows up
3. you now have the hex on the right and the ANSI translation on the right
4. scroll to the very bottom, in your ansi part you should see things that make sense "clamp 0" "mipmap 0" "xbox_downsample 64"
5. on the bottom of ktools hex viewer you have three options: hex ansi unicode
6. select ansi, the view should change, now your looking at just gibberish,
7. scroll down to the last line, then scroll right until you get to what you notced in step 4.
8. there is your txi info copy and paste from the ansi view and bob's the hobo living on the corner.
:)

Thanks for explaining. Give me a month guys, and I'll have pics to detail the whole process.

You know, I'm amazed that in eight years of modding, I'm the first to report this...

Hassat Hunter 11-24-2012 03:13 AM

mipmap 0 doesn't do anything :(

edit;
If I copy the ansi the game just crashes the instant its loaded...

Darth Sapiens 11-24-2012 04:49 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Hassat Hunter (Post 2823641)
mipmap 0 doesn't do anything :(

edit;
If I copy the ansi the game just crashes the instant its loaded...

you mean the entire ansi? just copy what makes sense
i think mipmaps only affect tpc's not tga's (im not to sure about tga lacking mip maps but still...) there is a tga to tpc converter online somewhere its for jade empire but it works for kotor/tsl

Hassat Hunter 11-26-2012 08:40 AM

Got "blending additive" now... it does work somewhat, but not enough, as it still allows a green stripe to pass the original does not.
And it's not listed when doing this either... :/

Darth DeadMan 11-30-2012 01:09 AM

HH, transparency in logo realized with alpha channel in the texture, not *.txi.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:42 AM.

Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.