LucasForums

LucasForums (http://www.lucasforums.com/index.php)
-   Holowan Laboratories (http://www.lucasforums.com/forumdisplay.php?f=324)
-   -   KotOR 1 KSE (Save Game Editor) Issues (http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=212107)

iLoveLampXx 04-09-2013 05:11 AM

KotOR 1 KSE (Save Game Editor) Issues
 
Dear LucasForums community,

I made an account just to be able to try and get some help with this issue I have been having with KSE.

I had a single playthrough set up on KotOR (only created one character). After having some compatibility issues (I'm using windows 7), I uninstalled the game and reinstalled it quite a few times in quick succession before finally getting the game to work again. Unfortunately, I solved one problem but only created another; I wasn't surprised to find my save file was gone after trying to repair the game. I made a new one and played about 2 hours when I decided to use KSE to spice up my gameplay. I started up TSE only to find my deleted save game file. Not the new one, the old one that I lost while repairing the game. I completely uninstalled the game again and deleted all registry entries as well but no matter what I did that save game still appears and my newer ones do not. I tried moving my saved games to a different folder only to get an error message that reads "2da.bif not found, bad path."

I also get error messages when trying to expand the list of the quicksaves from my glitched save. I made a .LOG file to record these errors in hopes to try and get this thing to work.

.LOG
04-09-2013 04:42:38 KSE startup v3.3.2
04-09-2013 04:42:38 KSE found KotOR1 saves directory in C:\Program Files\LucasArts\SWKotOR
04-09-2013 04:42:38 KSE found KotOR2 saves directory in C:\Program Files (x86)\LucasArts\SWKotOR2
04-09-2013 04:42:42 #1#000001 - AUTOSAVE clicked
04-09-2013 04:42:42 Populating Level1 for #1#000001 - AUTOSAVE
error:Could not find tar_m10aa.sav inside of C:\Program Files\LucasArts\SWKotOR\saves\000001 - AUTOSAVE\savegame.sav at kotor_savegame_editor3.3.2.pl line 949.

Tk::Error: Could not find tar_m10aa.sav inside of C:\Program Files\LucasArts\SWKotOR\saves\000001 - AUTOSAVE\savegame.sav at kotor_savegame_editor3.3.2.pl line 949.
main::Populate_Level1 at kotor_savegame_editor3.3.2.pl line 949
main::What at kotor_savegame_editor3.3.2.pl line 825
Tk::Widget::Callback at /PerlApp/Tk/Widget.pm line 1079
Tk::Tree::IndicatorCmd at /PerlApp/Tk/Tree.pm line 77
Tk::Widget::Callback at /PerlApp/Tk/Widget.pm line 1080
Tk::HList::ButtonRelease1 at /PerlApp/Tk/HList.pm line 282
Tk::HList::ButtonRelease_1 at /PerlApp/Tk/HList.pm line 98
<ButtonRelease-1>
(command bound to event)
04-09-2013 04:42:49 #1#000000 - QUICKSAVE clicked
04-09-2013 04:42:49 Populating Level1 for #1#000000 - QUICKSAVE
04-09-2013 04:42:49 Populating Feats: #1#000000 - QUICKSAVE#Feats
04-09-2013 04:42:49 Populating Journal for #1#000000 - QUICKSAVE
04-09-2013 04:42:50 #1#000000 - QUICKSAVE clicked
04-09-2013 04:42:51 #1#000002 - Game1 clicked
04-09-2013 04:42:52 Populating Level1 for #1#000002 - Game1
04-09-2013 04:42:52 Populating Feats: #1#000002 - Game1#Feats
04-09-2013 04:42:52 Populating Journal for #1#000002 - Game1

04-09-2013 04:43:07 ---------Termination---------

4:43 AM 09/04/2013

I get this error only when trying to click on the 'glitched' saved game files. Again, my newer save files don't even show up.

This whole thing has been very frustrating for me, I've spent 4-5 hours just trying to get this to work with no avail. Please help me.

Thanks,
~Nick

Fair Strides 2 04-11-2013 12:16 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by iLoveLampXx (Post 2830652)
Dear LucasForums community,

I made an account just to be able to try and get some help with this issue I have been having with KSE.

I had a single playthrough set up on KotOR (only created one character). After having some compatibility issues (I'm using windows 7), I uninstalled the game and reinstalled it quite a few times in quick succession before finally getting the game to work again. Unfortunately, I solved one problem but only created another; I wasn't surprised to find my save file was gone after trying to repair the game. I made a new one and played about 2 hours when I decided to use KSE to spice up my gameplay. I started up TSE only to find my deleted save game file. Not the new one, the old one that I lost while repairing the game. I completely uninstalled the game again and deleted all registry entries as well but no matter what I did that save game still appears and my newer ones do not. I tried moving my saved games to a different folder only to get an error message that reads "2da.bif not found, bad path."

I also get error messages when trying to expand the list of the quicksaves from my glitched save. I made a .LOG file to record these errors in hopes to try and get this thing to work.

Show spoiler


I get this error only when trying to click on the 'glitched' saved game files. Again, my newer save files don't even show up.

This whole thing has been very frustrating for me, I've spent 4-5 hours just trying to get this to work with no avail. Please help me.

Thanks,
~Nick

Well, Nick, I have worked on the KSE source code in my spare time( adding a feature or two for-ease-of-use and one other thing), and believe that I can help.

First, a few questions:
1. Where are you installing the game each time you install it?

2. How are you saving your game(i.e: are you using quicksave/autosave, or manually saving your game)?

3. When you uninstall, do you keep the box checked to keep your saved games and stuff? If you are, but want to keep your settings, then just delete the "saves" folder after uninstalling the game.

Those are things I need to know to help you. Also, with the error you are getting regarding the autosave, I have this to say:

It can't find tar_m10aa.sav in the saved game, which means you have a glitched/botched/corrupted save game and should try overwriting it by loading an earlier save and progressing through the game.

P.S:If you're wondering about the KSE I've been working on, it needs one flaw worked out, and permission from Tk102 to release(who is ignoring me). One good feature I've added is the ability to load a saved game without having to quit KSE and restart it.(i.e:you edit something in-game and would normally have to restart KSE to see the changes. That's no longer the case.)


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:41 PM.

Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.