LucasForums

LucasForums (http://www.lucasforums.com/index.php)
-   The Work Bench (http://www.lucasforums.com/forumdisplay.php?f=554)
-   -   Graphics troubles (http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=213035)

Alkonium 10-13-2013 12:53 PM

Graphics troubles
 
I have recently installed KOTOR on a laptop running Windows 7 with a graphics card the game does not recognize. While it is capable of soft shadows and post-process effects, based on my experience with other games, these are disabled on KOTOR. Is there a way to trick KOTOR into thinking my laptop has a display adapter it recognizes?

Q 10-14-2013 01:28 AM

Intel graphics, or AMD?

Alkonium 10-14-2013 02:36 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Q (Post 2838775)
Intel graphics, or AMD?

It's an Intel Core i3.

Hassat Hunter 10-14-2013 09:24 AM

Try opening swkotor2.ini and replacing graphical options with this (changing resolution to your desired one);

[Graphics Options]
Grass=1
Shadows=1
EnableHardwareMouse=1
FullScreen=1
RefreshRate=60
Width=1600
Height=1200
Emitters=1
Anisotropy=16
Frame Buffer=1
AllowSoftShadows=1
Soft Shadows=1
Brightness=57
V-Sync=0
Texture Quality=2
Anti Aliasing=8
Disable Vertex Buffer Objects=1

Alkonium 10-14-2013 08:26 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Hassat Hunter (Post 2838782)
Try opening swkotor2.ini and replacing graphical options with this (changing resolution to your desired one);

[Graphics Options]
Grass=1
Shadows=1
EnableHardwareMouse=1
FullScreen=1
RefreshRate=60
Width=1600
Height=1200
Emitters=1
Anisotropy=16
Frame Buffer=1
AllowSoftShadows=1
Soft Shadows=1
Brightness=57
V-Sync=0
Texture Quality=2
Anti Aliasing=8
Disable Vertex Buffer Objects=1

I tried that and it didn't seem to work.

In addition, I seem to be having weird shader problems:
http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y18...ps04ea5166.png
http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y18...ps4adbce10.png
http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y18...ps5bd1f915.png
http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y18...ps899cd1f8.png

To clarify, the Sith Troopers are using the vanilla textures, and I'm using mjpb3's Latex undies mod.

Q 10-19-2013 08:51 PM

I recently installed KotOR 2 on a new laptop with a Core i3 and it's still safe to say that you'd need most of the eye candy turned off even if it was available. You can max anisotropy and texture quality, but the only other option that will work is shadows. The HD 4000 that I have won't render grass correctly and antialiasing slows the frame rate to an unacceptable degree.

Every other option is grayed out, and hacking the .ini didn't work for me, either.

Alkonium 10-19-2013 09:15 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Q (Post 2838949)
I recently installed KotOR 2 on a new laptop with a Core i3 and it's still safe to say that you'd need most of the eye candy turned off even if it was available. You can max anisotropy and texture quality, but the only other option that will work is shadows. The HD 4000 that I have won't render grass correctly and antialiasing slows the frame rate to an unacceptable degree.

Every other option is grayed out, and hacking the .ini didn't work for me, either.

Ok. Thanks anyway. Any idea on what's wrong with the shaders? It looks like that even without a modded appearance.2da file.

Q 10-20-2013 04:13 AM

No idea, except that this game engine has traditionally had rendering problems with everything but Nvidia GPUs.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:35 AM.

Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.