lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Ports used by JK/MotS
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 08-27-2004, 05:41 PM   #1
Kurgan
Headhunter
 
Kurgan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1997
Location: The Dawn of Time
Posts: 18,319
LFN Staff Member 10 year veteran! 
Arrow Ports used by JK/MotS

Hey, this has been an issue for me in the past and I'm assuming many others out there as well, so I'd like to lend a little help.

When I was loading up JK1 to see how it ran on my ATI All-in-wonder 9600 (pretty well I might add, not 100 fps like my Geforce2, but it could do 1600x1200 with solid 60 fps and it looked LOVELY, except for some slight pixel trails at certain points and the HUD was so tiny it was very hard to see) and my firewall popped up and said it was trying to access port 1900 SSDP.

SSDP = Simple Service Direct Protocol

Hope that helps anybody out there trying to get the game to work through routers/firewalls!

Though there may be other ports that need to be opened to play, so feel free to add to my list...


Download JK2 maps for JA Server|BOOT CAMP!|Strategic Academy|
(JA Server: 108.178.55.189:29070)


"The Concussion Rifle is the weapon of a Jedi Knight Player, an elegant weapon, from a more civilized community." - Kyle Katarn

Last edited by Kurgan; 09-10-2004 at 08:57 AM.
Kurgan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-08-2004, 06:57 AM   #2
xQuarkds9x
Lurker
 
xQuarkds9x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 9
I have a small tutorial Here on my site that explains what ports have to be open in your firewall for JK so you can host and join games without having to turn off your firewall.


"You must master your joystick as a fisherman masters bait!" - Gimpy (Undergrads)
xQuarkds9x is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-10-2004, 08:56 AM   #3
Kurgan
Headhunter
 
Kurgan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1997
Location: The Dawn of Time
Posts: 18,319
LFN Staff Member 10 year veteran! 
Thumbs up

Quote:
NOTE that JK uses the Directx 7 method so you'd need to open up TCP Port 47624 (Inbound and Outbound) as well as 2300-2400 UDP AND TCP inbound and outbound. Please refer to your firewall or router manuals/online help/help files or technical assistance on how to do this.
Excellent!


Download JK2 maps for JA Server|BOOT CAMP!|Strategic Academy|
(JA Server: 108.178.55.189:29070)


"The Concussion Rifle is the weapon of a Jedi Knight Player, an elegant weapon, from a more civilized community." - Kyle Katarn
Kurgan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-15-2009, 08:35 PM   #4
Kurgan
Headhunter
 
Kurgan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1997
Location: The Dawn of Time
Posts: 18,319
LFN Staff Member 10 year veteran! 
Pity your site is down, but the relevant info is here in the thread, thank goodness!

This link might also prove useful:
http://support.microsoft.com/default...NoWebContent=1


Download JK2 maps for JA Server|BOOT CAMP!|Strategic Academy|
(JA Server: 108.178.55.189:29070)


"The Concussion Rifle is the weapon of a Jedi Knight Player, an elegant weapon, from a more civilized community." - Kyle Katarn
Kurgan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Game Discussion > Jedi Knight / MotS > Ports used by JK/MotS

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:07 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.