lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Need for speed on your computer...
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 05-17-2005, 10:54 PM   #1
stingerhs
Follow the Wolves
 
stingerhs's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: May 2004
Location: between my ears
Posts: 4,641
Current Game: Dead Space
Forum Veteran Roleplayer LFN Staff Member Helpful! 
Lightbulb Need for speed on your computer...

hey guys, i thought i'd go ahead an post some free programs and a couple of tweaks that you can use that will give you some extra (and free) speed on your computer. keep in mind: i've tried and tested out all of this stuff to make sure this stuff is legitimate and that it actually does something for you.

First things first, you have to know what you already have on your machine. For this, I recommend the PC Wizard. It will give you all kinds of information on both your hardware and software setups. I highly reccommend this program as the information it gives you is absolutely vital if you want to do any serious tweaks.

PC Wizard 2005

The next one lets you do two things for your machine: it tweaks the official video drivers and it lets you overclock your video card. If you haven't guessed it already, its the Omega Drivers. They may be third-party drivers, but they work better than either the Forceware or Catalyst Drivers. Also, the overclocking feature on these drivers is very simple to use.

Omega Drivers

Note, if you use the overclocking feature on the Omega Drivers, don't go overboard with the overclocking as it can sometimes be very easy to overheat your graphics board. I reccommend doing a slight increment of around 20-40 Mhz increase for both the core and memory to be on the safe side. You can probably take it even higher than that, depending on the card, but don't press your luck too much.

If you feel too squeamish about using third-party drivers but still want to overclock your card, then I can still point you in the right direction. Note: both methods that I'm going to suggest have built-in features that allow you to safely overclock your card without overheating it.

For ATI users: ATI Tool

For Nvidia users: you don't have to download anything. Overclocking is already built right into the Forceware drivers but with one noticeable drawback: you'll have activate that part of the drivers yourself through Windows Registry Editor.
Quote:
From PCWorld.com
NVidia has even built overclocking settings into its latest drivers. To enable them, open the Windows Registry editor by going to Start, Run, typing regedit, and pressing Enter. Navigate to "HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE/SOFTWARE/NVIDIA Corporation/Global/NVTweak/," right-click the right pane of the editor and choose to add a new DWord called coolbits. Edit that entry and give it a hex value of 3, then close your Registry editor. The NVidia tab (Figure 5) under your PC's advanced display properties settings will now feature a "Clock Frequency Settings" page that allows you to adjust memory and graphics chip clock speeds for your board. Click the "Detect Optimal Frequencies" button if you want the utility to try to find safe overclocked settings for your graphics board.
citation: http://www.pcworld.com/howto/article...67,pg,2,00.asp

I'll probably add some more stuff a bit later (since I've tested out a lot more tools than just those). Until then, enjoy the extra speed.


See the struggle of the faithless lot as they negate their time
How low to sink to the depths of their frame of mind


Last edited by stingerhs; 08-26-2005 at 09:58 PM. Reason: fixed links
stingerhs is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-14-2005, 09:52 AM   #2
Det. Bart Lasiter
obama.png
 
Det. Bart Lasiter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: `(•.°)~
Posts: 7,997
Current Game: all
Forum Veteran LF Jester 
If you have an MSI (video) card, they're supposedly "guarenteed" to support certain DOT overclocking speeds, though I haven't tested this out.



"No, Mama. You can bet your sweet ass and half a titty whoever put that hit on you already got the cops in their back pocket." ~Black Dynamite
Det. Bart Lasiter is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-26-2005, 12:17 PM   #3
Killwithhonor
Junior Member
 
Killwithhonor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Inside my hilt
Posts: 399
hmm, i can help with the overclocking, note radeon 9200 video cards, overclocking a game with an omega drive may mess with the graphics, in other words you get lines all over the page, then u have to reinstall that game, i haev a 9200 ive tested these things, and how do u work pc wizard? i know all the details of my comp already, so what do i click to get this thing to work?


http://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y24...-darksaber.gif
Changed pic to link. Please find a sig pic that is in line with our sig rules, 500X120 and 80kb max for all combined images, Forum Rules. Yours is 130 tall need to trim it down to 120. ~ SWK Staff

Last edited by Killwithhonor; 08-26-2005 at 12:50 PM.
Killwithhonor is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-26-2005, 03:55 PM   #4
stingerhs
Follow the Wolves
 
stingerhs's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: May 2004
Location: between my ears
Posts: 4,641
Current Game: Dead Space
Forum Veteran Roleplayer LFN Staff Member Helpful! 
well, the reason you had that problem with your 9200 was your video card starting to run too hot. and its been my experience that overclocking doesn't damage a game's installation.

and about PC Wizard, install it and then just run it. it will automatically scan your system when it starts up and then give you all the details about it.

hope that helps.


See the struggle of the faithless lot as they negate their time
How low to sink to the depths of their frame of mind

stingerhs is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-26-2005, 04:08 PM   #5
Killwithhonor
Junior Member
 
Killwithhonor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Inside my hilt
Posts: 399
ya, i was testing my vid card overclocking and the guy before who told me to clock the core to 290 and the memory to 230, it was a little too hot, so i tuned it down alot somewhere bettween 199-240 for both, they in the range, but yes for battlfield vietnam even though i set the overclock settings back to default i would have it to reinstall it, but for any other game it was fine, and teh details helped alot, im getting a new vid card and had to know what i was running for agp or pci, good thing its agp pci sucks, or thats what i heard, and btw anyone know of good coolers for your system for a price under about 120$? and thnx


http://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y24...-darksaber.gif
Changed pic to link. Please find a sig pic that is in line with our sig rules, 500X120 and 80kb max for all combined images, Forum Rules. Yours is 130 tall need to trim it down to 120. ~ SWK Staff
Killwithhonor is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-26-2005, 09:44 PM   #6
lukeiamyourdad
Using Teletraan I
 
lukeiamyourdad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Montréal, Québec, Canada
Posts: 8,274
LFN Staff Member 
Your PC Wizard link doesn't work stingerhs.

But thanks for the info! I'll try it out as soon as I can!


http://www.marioramos.ca/ -A friend of mine and an aspiring filmmaker.
lukeiamyourdad is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-26-2005, 11:04 PM   #7
Killwithhonor
Junior Member
 
Killwithhonor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Inside my hilt
Posts: 399
google it lol


http://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y24...-darksaber.gif
Changed pic to link. Please find a sig pic that is in line with our sig rules, 500X120 and 80kb max for all combined images, Forum Rules. Yours is 130 tall need to trim it down to 120. ~ SWK Staff
Killwithhonor is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-26-2005, 11:25 PM   #8
lukeiamyourdad
Using Teletraan I
 
lukeiamyourdad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Montréal, Québec, Canada
Posts: 8,274
LFN Staff Member 
It's not exactly for me, it's for everyone who's going to use the thread >_>


http://www.marioramos.ca/ -A friend of mine and an aspiring filmmaker.
lukeiamyourdad is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-26-2005, 11:32 PM   #9
stingerhs
Follow the Wolves
 
stingerhs's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: May 2004
Location: between my ears
Posts: 4,641
Current Game: Dead Space
Forum Veteran Roleplayer LFN Staff Member Helpful! 
the link's been fixed.


See the struggle of the faithless lot as they negate their time
How low to sink to the depths of their frame of mind

stingerhs is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-25-2007, 06:56 PM   #10
gmancagney
Lurker
 
gmancagney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 8
So, two years after the original post, are the Omega Drivers for nVidia still good for GeForce FX cards? The nVidia drivers on that site haven't been upgraded in two years.
gmancagney is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-16-2008, 08:10 AM   #11
HaveFallen
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: In a house
Posts: 10
Ok, so are the Omega Drivers still ok to use? I am using an Nvidia Geforce 6200 256 MB with Forceware 163.75 if that matters.

I apologize I am just really confused with all that.

Thanks in advance.
HaveFallen is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-06-2009, 12:02 PM   #12
ARC Cody
Rookie
 
ARC Cody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Kiev
Posts: 80
I'm really sorry for resurrecting this thread but I just can't get this to work.
I did everything in regedit



This is what appears when I open advanced display settings. Nothings appearing

When I click on Start NVidia Control Panel I get this

What can I do? Please help

Somebody?

Last edited by ARC Cody; 07-11-2009 at 04:56 AM.
ARC Cody is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Trouble Shooting > The Work Bench > Need for speed on your computer...

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:20 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.