lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: starting problems
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 02-21-2008, 03:27 AM   #1
rgk
Lurker
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 5
starting problems

Last week I bought EAW Gold Pack. At first it was very difficult to instal it.

When I tried to istal it there came an error message:"Please insert the EAW

Gold Pack DVD to continue". I instaled it at D:\EAWX:\setup. Then I tried to

start the game and it didn't start I only saw the title screen and then it

crashed. Does someone know what I need to do?
rgk is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-22-2008, 08:17 PM   #2
lukeiamyourdad
Using Teletraan I
 
lukeiamyourdad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Montréal, Québec, Canada
Posts: 8,274
LFN Staff Member 
I didn't get all of this. The install was successful correct?

What exactly is this?
Quote:
D:\EAWX:\setup
The directory where you installed the game?

Can you be clearer about what you did exactly?


http://www.marioramos.ca/ -A friend of mine and an aspiring filmmaker.
lukeiamyourdad is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-23-2008, 06:03 AM   #3
rgk
Lurker
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 5
My problem was the following: I inserted the disk Star Wars Empire at War Gold Pack into the D: disk drive. On the screen which appeared I clicked on Install. That resulted in an error message "Please insert the EAW Gold Pack DVD to continue". Afterwards I installed the game by clicking on D:\EAWX\setup.exe. Then I tried to start the game via the icon on the desktop and clicked on the Play button, but I still got the message "Please insert the EAW Gold Pack DVD to continue". So I started the game directly by clicking on C:\Program Files\LucasArts\Star Wars Empire at War Forces of Corruption\swfoc.exe. A start screen of the game appeared saying "Star Wars Empire at War Forces of Corruption Expansion Pack" and "Loading...". Afterwards the game stopped and returned immediately to the Windows desktop.
rgk is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-27-2008, 09:50 PM   #4
lukeiamyourdad
Using Teletraan I
 
lukeiamyourdad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Montréal, Québec, Canada
Posts: 8,274
LFN Staff Member 
Any error message at all?

Have you checked the DVD for any kind of damage?


http://www.marioramos.ca/ -A friend of mine and an aspiring filmmaker.
lukeiamyourdad is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-12-2008, 03:44 PM   #5
rgk
Lurker
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 5
I checked the disk if had any damage. But it hadn't. Does someone know what I have to do.
rgk is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-13-2008, 06:08 PM   #6
DarthMaulUK
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Can you please post your dxdiag? This http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=155333 guide will show you how to get one.

Are you running any Virtual drivers? Like daemon or something like that?
  you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-24-2008, 03:42 PM   #7
rgk
Lurker
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 5
Here is the first part of my DXdiag.txt file. Do you need more? I do not know how to post an attachment. Could you explain that to me?

------------------
System Information
------------------
Time of this report: 3/24/2008, 18:28:33
Machine name: XPS700
Operating System: Windows XP Professional (5.1, Build 2600) Service Pack 2 (2600.xpsp_sp2_qfe.070227-2300)
Language: English (Regional Setting: English)
System Manufacturer: Dell Inc.
System Model: Dell DXG061
BIOS: Phoenix ROM BIOS PLUS Version 1.10 1.1.3
Processor: Intel(R) Pentium(R) D CPU 3.73GHz (4 CPUs)
Memory: 2814MB RAM
Page File: 672MB used, 4028MB available
Windows Dir: C:\WINDOWS
DirectX Version: DirectX 9.0c (4.09.0000.0904)
DX Setup Parameters: Not found
DxDiag Version: 5.03.2600.2180 32bit Unicode

------------
DxDiag Notes
------------
DirectX Files Tab: No problems found.
Display Tab 1: No problems found. DirectDraw test results: All tests were successful. Direct3D 7 test results: All tests were successful. Direct3D 8 test results: All tests were successful. Direct3D 9 test results: All tests were successful.
Sound Tab 1: DirectSound test results: All tests were successful.
Sound Tab 2: The file btaudio.sys is not digitally signed, which means that it has not been tested by Microsoft's Windows Hardware Quality Labs (WHQL). You may be able to get a WHQL logo'd driver from the hardware manufacturer. DirectSound test results: All tests were successful.
Sound Tab 3: The file btaudio.sys is not digitally signed, which means that it has not been tested by Microsoft's Windows Hardware Quality Labs (WHQL). You may be able to get a WHQL logo'd driver from the hardware manufacturer. DirectSound test results: All tests were successful.
Music Tab: No problems found.
Input Tab: No problems found.
Network Tab: No problems found.

--------------------
DirectX Debug Levels
--------------------
Direct3D: 0/4 (n/a)
DirectDraw: 0/4 (retail)
DirectInput: 0/5 (n/a)
DirectMusic: 0/5 (n/a)
DirectPlay: 0/9 (retail)
DirectSound: 0/5 (retail)
DirectShow: 0/6 (retail)

---------------
Display Devices
---------------
Card name: NVIDIA GeForce 7900 GS
Manufacturer: NVIDIA
Chip type: GeForce 7900 GS
DAC type: Integrated RAMDAC
Device Key: Enum\PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_0292&SUBSYS_037010DE&REV_A1
Display Memory: 256.0 MB
Current Mode: 1920 x 1200 (32 bit) (60Hz)
Monitor: Dell 2407WFP (Analog)
Monitor Max Res: 1920,1200
Driver Name: nv4_disp.dll
Driver Version: 6.14.0011.6921 (English)
DDI Version: 9 (or higher)
Driver Attributes: Final Retail
Driver Date/Size: 12/5/2007 01:41:00, 5773568 bytes
WHQL Logo'd: Yes
WHQL Date Stamp: n/a
VDD: n/a
Mini VDD: nv4_mini.sys
Mini VDD Date: 12/5/2007 01:41:00, 7435392 bytes
Device Identifier: {D7B71E3E-41D2-11CF-6768-7B2300C2CB35}
Vendor ID: 0x10DE
Device ID: 0x0292
SubSys ID: 0x037010DE
Revision ID: 0x00A1
Revision ID: 0x00A1
Video Accel: ModeMPEG2_A ModeMPEG2_B ModeMPEG2_C ModeMPEG2_D ModeWMV9_B ModeWMV9_A
Deinterlace Caps: {6CB69578-7617-4637-91E5-1C02DB810285}: Format(In/Out)=(YUY2,YUY2) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_PixelAdaptive
{335AA36E-7884-43A4-9C91-7F87FAF3E37E}: Format(In/Out)=(YUY2,YUY2) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_BOBVerticalStretch
{6CB69578-7617-4637-91E5-1C02DB810285}: Format(In/Out)=(UYVY,YUY2) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_PixelAdaptive
{335AA36E-7884-43A4-9C91-7F87FAF3E37E}: Format(In/Out)=(UYVY,YUY2) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_BOBVerticalStretch
{6CB69578-7617-4637-91E5-1C02DB810285}: Format(In/Out)=(YV12,0x3231564e) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_PixelAdaptive
{335AA36E-7884-43A4-9C91-7F87FAF3E37E}: Format(In/Out)=(YV12,0x3231564e) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_BOBVerticalStretch
{6CB69578-7617-4637-91E5-1C02DB810285}: Format(In/Out)=(NV12,0x3231564e) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_PixelAdaptive
{335AA36E-7884-43A4-9C91-7F87FAF3E37E}: Format(In/Out)=(NV12,0x3231564e) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_BOBVerticalStretch
Registry: OK
DDraw Status: Enabled
D3D Status: Enabled
AGP Status: Enabled
DDraw Test Result: All tests were successful.
D3D7 Test Result: All tests were successful.
D3D8 Test Result: All tests were successful.
D3D9 Test Result: All tests were successful.

-------------
Sound Devices
-------------
Description: SB X-Fi Audio [CCE0]
Default Sound Playback: Yes
Default Voice Playback: Yes
Hardware ID: PCI\VEN_1102&DEV_0005&SUBSYS_10031102&REV_00
Manufacturer ID: 1
Product ID: 100
Type: WDM
Driver Name: ctaud2k.sys
Driver Version: 5.12.0001.1187 (English)
Driver Attributes: Final Retail
WHQL Logo'd: Yes
Date and Size: 8/17/2006 11:17:10, 500480 bytes
Other Files:
Driver Provider: Creative
HW Accel Level: Full
Cap Flags: 0xF5F
Min/Max Sample Rate: 1, 192000
Static/Strm HW Mix Bufs: 128, 128
Static/Strm HW 3D Bufs: 128, 128
HW Memory: 0
Voice Management: Yes
EAX(tm) 2.0 Listen/Src: Yes, Yes
I3DL2(tm) Listen/Src: No, No
Sensaura(tm) ZoomFX(tm): No
Registry: OK
Sound Test Result: All tests were successful.

Description: Bluetooth Audio
Default Sound Playback: No
Default Voice Playback: No
Hardware ID:
Manufacturer ID: 1
Product ID: 100
Type: WDM
Driver Name: btaudio.sys
Driver Version: 5.00.0001.2701 (English)
Driver Attributes: Final Retail
WHQL Logo'd: No
Date and Size: 6/12/2006 21:33:06, 328285 bytes
Other Files:
Driver Provider:
HW Accel Level: Full
Cap Flags: 0x959
Min/Max Sample Rate: 8000, 8000
Static/Strm HW Mix Bufs: 1, 0
Static/Strm HW 3D Bufs: 0, 0
HW Memory: 0
Voice Management: No
EAX(tm) 2.0 Listen/Src: No, No
I3DL2(tm) Listen/Src: No, No
Sensaura(tm) ZoomFX(tm): No
Registry: OK
Sound Test Result: All tests were successful.

Description: Bluetooth High Quality Audio
Default Sound Playback: No
Default Voice Playback: No
Hardware ID:
Manufacturer ID: 1
Product ID: 100
Type: WDM
Driver Name: btaudio.sys
Driver Version: 5.00.0001.2701 (English)
Driver Attributes: Final Retail
WHQL Logo'd: No
Date and Size: 6/12/2006 21:33:06, 328285 bytes
Other Files:
Driver Provider:
HW Accel Level: Full
Cap Flags: 0xB5B
Min/Max Sample Rate: 44100, 48000
Static/Strm HW Mix Bufs: 1, 0
Static/Strm HW 3D Bufs: 0, 0
HW Memory: 0
Voice Management: No
EAX(tm) 2.0 Listen/Src: No, No
I3DL2(tm) Listen/Src: No, No
Sensaura(tm) ZoomFX(tm): No
Registry: OK
Sound Test Result: All tests were successful.

---------------------
Sound Capture Devices
---------------------
Description: USB camera
Default Sound Capture: Yes
Default Voice Capture: Yes
Driver Name: usbaudio.sys
Driver Version: 5.01.2600.2180 (English)
Driver Attributes: Final Retail
Date and Size: 8/3/2004 23:07:56, 59264 bytes
Cap Flags: 0x41
Format Flags: 0x4

Description: SB X-Fi Audio [CCE0]
Default Sound Capture: No
Default Voice Capture: No
Driver Name: ctaud2k.sys
Driver Version: 5.12.0001.1187 (English)
Driver Attributes: Final Retail
Date and Size: 8/17/2006 11:17:10, 500480 bytes
Cap Flags: 0x41
Format Flags: 0xFFF

Description: Bluetooth Audio
Default Sound Capture: No
Default Voice Capture: No
Driver Name: btaudio.sys
Driver Version: 5.00.0001.2701 (English)
Driver Attributes: Final Retail
Date and Size: 6/12/2006 21:33:06, 328285 bytes
Cap Flags: 0x41
Format Flags: 0x4

Description: Bluetooth High Quality Audio
Default Sound Capture: No
Default Voice Capture: No
Driver Name: btaudio.sys
Driver Version: 5.00.0001.2701 (English)
Driver Attributes: Final Retail
Date and Size: 6/12/2006 21:33:06, 328285 bytes
Cap Flags: 0x41
Format Flags: 0xCC0
rgk is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-09-2008, 02:26 AM   #8
DarthMaulUK
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
I would update your graphic card drivers and Sound card drivers. For your graphic card, - NVIDIA GeForce 7900 GS - visit the Official Nvidia website. For the sound card - SB X-Fi Audio , Soundblaster.com.

Just follow the steps there to download and install the correct ones.
  you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-20-2008, 07:20 AM   #9
rweinert
Lurker
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Munich, Germany
Posts: 1
I have the start problem too

I have the same problem, when I insert the EAW Gold Pack DVD (German version), the autorun comes up, but regardless what option I choose, I am always asked to insert the Gold Pack DVD. I can access all files and folders from DVD and run the install for EAW or FOC manually, but when I try to start the game I am asked to insert the DVD again if I start it via the Icon. If I just double click swfoc.exe it works, but it still seems to be not right.

I run the normal EAW fine on my LT, but can’t install the Gold Pack DVD. So far I tested the install on 2 PC, an IBM and a DELL Laptop, all with the same result. At first I thought this might be a disk error, so I already got it replaced by my vendor, but same result with the second DVD.

While trying to get the install going I disabled all Services related to security like AV Software, Defender, Anti Spyware …, but no luck. I am using Windows XP SP2.

I think it is either caused by the DVD protection or it is a general problem with this German Gold Pack DVD.

Does anybody have an idea how to fix that?
rweinert is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-30-2008, 04:47 PM   #10
unnicknamed88
Lurker
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mexico
Posts: 1
i have the same exact problem whats happening? anyone have any solution i bought it 2 days ago the system requirements are ok...
unnicknamed88 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-26-2010, 05:32 AM   #11
Krapulax
Lurker
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1
I'm more than angry

Well, it seems that here in Germany you are not able to get a working version of an almost 4 year old game. This is really a joke. It can't be true that a legally bought programm called -EAW Gold Pack- is not accepting his own DVD when you try to install or start the game. If you try to start the game from the other exe it just drops you back to desktop after 5 secs. It seems -that after surfing the internet for two days- there is no solution for this problem. Many people complain about it and your company is just ignoring this fact. Give us finally something (a fixing file, a patch or whatever) to solve this problem or I'll ignore your products in the future.
Krapulax is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-14-2010, 10:38 AM   #12
horsti59
Lurker
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 2
starting problems

I buy this game (german version) today. I have the same problem.
I get allways the massage "Please insert the EAW Gold pack DVD to contniue.
I report the problem to the support account incl the dxdiag file.
still waiting for answer.

Last edited by horsti59; 05-17-2010 at 11:36 AM.
horsti59 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-17-2010, 11:36 AM   #13
horsti59
Lurker
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 2
Great answer,
the support tell me please go to the shop and change the Game.
horsti59 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Empire At War > EaW General Discussion > Tech Centre > starting problems

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:30 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.