lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Lightsaber rigging issue; displaced blade
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 10-12-2012, 12:12 PM   #1
SimonKTemplar
Rookie
 
SimonKTemplar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Serbia, Outer Rim
Posts: 94
Current Game: Star Wars: The Old Republic
Lightsaber rigging issue; displaced blade

This has probably been around before, but I've had this weird little issue cropping up all day and I don't know how to fix it. I exported my saber model from nwmax as instructed in all the tutorials/explanation posts i could find. The hilt is positioned alright, but the blade seems to rotate 90 degrees towards the player and becomes displaced, as seen in the image:



What could cause this? Is there something I may have overlooked? Note that I've tried resetting XForm before AND after linking the new hilt to the dummy, but it produces the same effect.

(thumbnail above links to a live image, you just might not be able to see it in the post)


I'm more of a '3d fabricator' than a '3d modeller', meaning I prefer to construct things from reference, blueprints or schematics rather than to design stuff of my own.
SimonKTemplar is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-12-2012, 06:43 PM   #2
Marius Fett
Frigged if I know!
 
Marius Fett's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 3,379
Which version of MDLOps did you use to compile the model?

If it was 0.6, then that's your problem as it likes to screw up hilt models.

Try using 0.5 and you should see a better result.

Failing that, did you set the pivot point correctly?

Oh, and you're not supposed to hit reset xforms after you've linked it all up. After the link, you shouldn't touch the model again.

See if any of those suggestions do anything for you and then we'll see where we go from there. Good luck!




Visit the new JediKnight.net!
Marius Fett is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-12-2012, 11:54 PM   #3
SimonKTemplar
Rookie
 
SimonKTemplar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Serbia, Outer Rim
Posts: 94
Current Game: Star Wars: The Old Republic
I think I've found the culprit, after a good 6 hours brainstorming. Turns out, the Reset XForm modifier on the NWMax window worked differently than gmax's own one, in that NWMax collapses the modifier tree after applying the XForm modifier.

Oh, and thanks for the tip. I usually mis-prioritize the steps in the export process. I'll make sure I reset before linking.


I'm more of a '3d fabricator' than a '3d modeller', meaning I prefer to construct things from reference, blueprints or schematics rather than to design stuff of my own.
SimonKTemplar is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Editing / Modding > Holowan Laboratories > Lightsaber rigging issue; displaced blade

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:56 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.