lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Anyone mapped 360 controller for PC?
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 10-12-2012, 12:38 PM   #1
Obi-Wan Bologna
Rookie
 
Obi-Wan Bologna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 185
Anyone mapped 360 controller for PC?

As the topic says, is it worth trying? I'm so used to playing on xbox that I think I might like it better on PC if I had the same controls. Also, anyone mapped Battlefront 1 and 2 with the 360 controller?


Formerly Obi-Wan Baloney
Obi-Wan Bologna is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-13-2012, 11:55 AM   #2
Fallen Guardian
Wandering the Galaxy...
 
Fallen Guardian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Unknown Regions
Posts: 1,286
Current Game: Knights of the Old Republic
Veteran Modder Helpful! 
I got battlefront 1 to work, but lost the files for it.

Kotor doesn't look like it's possibsle just because of how involved the mouse is in the PC controls. But there's definitely people that are better at mapping than me so it could be entirely plausible.


The truly fallen cannot return to the light. If someone "falls" and "returns," they never really, truly fell.

Current Work in Progress: Dantooine Tension

Released Works
Blaster Pistol Enhancement
Dustil Restoration
Ebon Hawk Texture Enhancement
Gaffi Stick Improvement
Weapon Model Overhaul Texture Rework (Thanks to Toasty Fresh!)
Sunry Murder Recording Enhancement
VP's Hi Poly Tin Cans - KotOR 1 Version
Fallen Guardian is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-13-2012, 03:28 PM   #3
Obi-Wan Bologna
Rookie
 
Obi-Wan Bologna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 185
Yeah, I figured Battlefront 1 would work well. Battlefront 2 I'm not totally sure about because of the running/rolling that's performed with the analog.


Formerly Obi-Wan Baloney
Obi-Wan Bologna is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-23-2012, 10:49 PM   #4
Q
The one who knocks
 
Q's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: ABQ
Posts: 6,643
Current Game: Mowing down neos with my M60
LF Jester Forum Veteran Helpful! 
There is a controller profile for TSL here that should work for KotOR as well, but it requires the Pinnacle profiler.


"They should rename the team to the Washington Government Sucks. Put Obama on the helmet. Line the entire walls of the stadium with the actual text of the ACA.
Fix their home team score on the board to the debt clock, they can win every game 17,000,000,000,000 to 24. Losing team gets taxed by the IRS 100%, then droned."
-Toker
Q is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-24-2012, 10:55 AM   #5
Obi-Wan Bologna
Rookie
 
Obi-Wan Bologna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 185
Quote:
Originally Posted by Q View Post
There is a controller profile for TSL here that should work for KotOR as well, but it requires the Pinnacle profiler.
Looks good, it's still nothing like the xbox controls though, can you fiddle with it after you use this?


Formerly Obi-Wan Baloney
Obi-Wan Bologna is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-24-2012, 09:04 PM   #6
Q
The one who knocks
 
Q's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: ABQ
Posts: 6,643
Current Game: Mowing down neos with my M60
LF Jester Forum Veteran Helpful! 
I honestly don't know anything about it.

I'm quite content to use the keyboard and mouse.


"They should rename the team to the Washington Government Sucks. Put Obama on the helmet. Line the entire walls of the stadium with the actual text of the ACA.
Fix their home team score on the board to the debt clock, they can win every game 17,000,000,000,000 to 24. Losing team gets taxed by the IRS 100%, then droned."
-Toker
Q is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-24-2012, 10:02 PM   #7
Obi-Wan Bologna
Rookie
 
Obi-Wan Bologna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 185
Quote:
Originally Posted by Q View Post
I honestly don't know anything about it.

I'm quite content to use the keyboard and mouse.
Nothing wrong with using keyboard and mouse, but I just love the controls on xbox. I'm so much quicker with it, that's for sure.


Formerly Obi-Wan Baloney
Obi-Wan Bologna is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-30-2012, 06:42 PM   #8
Darth Avlectus
Your point?
 
Darth Avlectus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Attack on Titan
Posts: 4,255
Current Game: Soul Calibur 5
I haven't done it myself but a friend of mine actually uses a 360 controller (afterglow iirc) to play his ISOs anr ROMS on his playstation1 emulator.

I have used PC gamepads. If you plug in a USB device and your machine recognizes it, it's probably fine to use but it may require a bit of custom configuration, trial and error. Plus what's more is it may not always be 100% of what it was on a console. There may be some definite differences and changes to control schemes.

I've tried it for GTA games on gamepads but because the control configuration is somewhat different in the software itself w.r.t. controlling the walking direction versus strafing and backing up. On console whatever direction you press would face your character that way and be moving forward--not so much for PC versions. So I could only assign and retain so much in terms of features.

So...
Possible?: yes. Reducing hassle?:not necessarily.

Good luck.
Darth Avlectus is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-30-2012, 10:27 PM   #9
Obi-Wan Bologna
Rookie
 
Obi-Wan Bologna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 185
I will definitely give it a try sometime, just wondering if anyone had succesfully done it. But I will report back once I give it a try. It will probably be a while as it's not a huge priority. lol


Formerly Obi-Wan Baloney
Obi-Wan Bologna is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-01-2012, 07:01 PM   #10
Darth Avlectus
Your point?
 
Darth Avlectus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Attack on Titan
Posts: 4,255
Current Game: Soul Calibur 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by Obi-Wan Bologna View Post
I will definitely give it a try sometime, just wondering if anyone had succesfully done it.
Oh it's been successfully done. just...not by myself. I'm sure if you could assign the function keys to the various buttons used in the KOTOR games, you might have a 1:1 control, or at least semi-alike, with extras you don't use much still assigned and used on your keyboard. Don't know how it'll fare with joystick for mouse. That's another reason you'll have to fidget with it, you may need to do a lot of fine tuning and adjustment to get it just the way you like.

Quote:
But I will report back once I give it a try. It will probably be a while as it's not a huge priority. lol
inorite?

I'm always doing a bazillion things at once. Currently I've moved back to electronic hardware from software pursuits for the time being. But you never know when I shift gears again.
Darth Avlectus is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-08-2013, 07:23 PM   #11
Obi-Wan Bologna
Rookie
 
Obi-Wan Bologna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 185
Any done this since? I got a 360 controller now and the new KOTOR collection and will give it a try sometime soon. I just hope I can get it working well.


Formerly Obi-Wan Baloney
Obi-Wan Bologna is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-08-2013, 11:30 PM   #12
jeffcorn
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 42
Current Game: Galactic Battles
Quote:
Originally Posted by Obi-Wan Bologna View Post
Any done this since? I got a 360 controller now and the new KOTOR collection and will give it a try sometime soon. I just hope I can get it working well.
Try joy2key that's what I use works great.
jeffcorn is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-09-2013, 04:55 PM   #13
Obi-Wan Bologna
Rookie
 
Obi-Wan Bologna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 185
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffcorn View Post
Try joy2key that's what I use works great.
Link? Not sure what that is.


Formerly Obi-Wan Baloney
Obi-Wan Bologna is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-09-2013, 05:46 PM   #14
L0ki194
Rookie
 
L0ki194's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 166
Current Game: MK9, L4D2, Gmod TTT
Quote:
Originally Posted by Obi-Wan Bologna View Post
Link? Not sure what that is.
http://joy2key.soft32.com/


My Mods:
L0ki194's Sith Officer Armors: http://deadlystream.com/forum/files/...fficer-armors/
K1 Player Height Adjustment: http://deadlystream.com/forum/files/...ht-adjustment/
TSL Player Height Adjustment: http://deadlystream.com/forum/files/...ht-adjustment/
Realistic Nar Shaddaa Skybox Mod Loadscreens: http://deadlystream.com/forum/files/...d-loadscreens/
L0ki194 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-09-2013, 01:55 AM   #15
L0ki194
Rookie
 
L0ki194's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 166
Current Game: MK9, L4D2, Gmod TTT
I have always wondered this myself. I first played KOTOR and TSL on the original Xbox. I'm okay with Mouse & Keyboard, but not as quick as I was before I got the PC versions. With that joy2key thing, is it just for wired/pc versions of the PS3 controller?


My Mods:
L0ki194's Sith Officer Armors: http://deadlystream.com/forum/files/...fficer-armors/
K1 Player Height Adjustment: http://deadlystream.com/forum/files/...ht-adjustment/
TSL Player Height Adjustment: http://deadlystream.com/forum/files/...ht-adjustment/
Realistic Nar Shaddaa Skybox Mod Loadscreens: http://deadlystream.com/forum/files/...d-loadscreens/
L0ki194 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-01-2013, 04:52 PM   #16
Fair Strides 2
Witty Programmer
 
Fair Strides 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Oregon, United States
Posts: 551
Current Game: Master of Orion 2
Helpful! 
Quote:
Originally Posted by L0ki194 View Post
I have always wondered this myself. I first played KOTOR and TSL on the original Xbox. I'm okay with Mouse & Keyboard, but not as quick as I was before I got the PC versions. With that joy2key thing, is it just for wired/pc versions of the PS3 controller?
Use Xpadder. Free, can set a joystick to operate like the mouse, and you set it up an way you want.

...And I can send some files so you can test it out for ourself with my profile and edit it accordingly.

http://www.xpadder.com/


All of my mods are available on Deadlystream.

Always remember modders: "Quality= Effort*Time"

KSE 3.3.4 is LIVE!!! Check it out here.

Check out WalkSwitch, the Walkmesh-changing tool!
Fair Strides 2 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-14-2013, 12:39 PM   #17
Obi-Wan Bologna
Rookie
 
Obi-Wan Bologna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 185
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fair Strides 2 View Post
Use Xpadder. Free, can set a joystick to operate like the mouse, and you set it up an way you want.

...And I can send some files so you can test it out for ourself with my profile and edit it accordingly.

http://www.xpadder.com/
I'd like to give it a try, do you have it set up for Kotor, Kotor 2, and possibly Battlefront 2? These are the games I'd like to have Xbox support on.


Formerly Obi-Wan Baloney
Obi-Wan Bologna is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Game Discussion > Republic Newsfeed > Anyone mapped 360 controller for PC?

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:34 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.