lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Linux Server howto
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 06-23-2002, 01:18 PM   #81
Sn1PeR
 
Sn1PeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 26
Would my 450Mhz K6 III w/ 256MB PC-100 RAM be enuf to host a game ~8 people max w/ Linux? I installed win2k on the thing bc I was in a hurry(and wasn't at my house) when I built it, but it seems to be semi laggy(1 bot and 1 LAN connection and the LAN player starts getting real choppy) I'm trying to setup a nice FFA server on this box, would linux give me much better performance than win2k pro? btw.... I have no problem running linux, I have a linux box and am semi familiar w/ it.
Sn1PeR is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-26-2002, 07:16 PM   #82
DSpawn
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 5
My .cfg and a few questions

To answer the one above, my experience so far is that linux can handle more than W2k, I run a cs-server on a PII 250 with 256 mb ram. 18 players, and it works like a charm. Try that with W2k

My cfg looks like this:
// Server Config
set sv_hostname "[BOFH] Et Dukkehjem"
set g_motd "WE WILL NOT ALTER THE SERVER RULES!!"
rconpassword "password"
set sv_allowDownload 1
set sv_maxclients 3
set g_inactivity 0
set sv_maxRate 10000
set g_allowvote 0
set timelimit 4
set capturelimit 20
set g_autoMapCycle 1
set g_gametype 3
set g_duelWeaponDisable 65531
set g_forcepowerDisable 32741
set g_weaponDisable 65531
set g_maxForceRank 6
set g_saberLocking 1
set g_friendlySaber 1
set g_autoMapCycle 1
set duel_fraglimit 10
set fraglimit 1
map duel_pit

(If any of my settings are incorrect or need explanation please let me know

And it works like a charm. What I would like to know is:
- how to make it run a custom mapcycle

- how to turn on logging

- what is up with the "motd" (for some reason the message never appears on the server),

- how to make the server appear as a "limited force" server when people connect. (I am running neutral force only, but it says no force to clients connecting)

- Anyone have reccommendations to a nice "adminmod-like" tool?

- Am I gonna need any kind of anticheat software?

And finally I have a suggesion:

Somebody should organize all the info in this thread, get rid of any incorrect information, and make a detailed faq. Including how to do chmod chgrp chown getting correct filestructure and so on.
DSpawn is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-26-2002, 09:51 PM   #83
DSpawn
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 5
A coupple more problems

Sorry about this post being so large. Hope you can get through it

As you can se below, when I type serverinfo, with the server running on the .cfg above, everything doesnt seem correct. For one it claism sv_allowDownload is set to 0

Another problem is that although the server has no problem starting with the map duel_pit as I have set in the server.cfg, it claims when I try a "map duel_pit" that it cant find /maps/duel_pit
I take it it then wants duel_pit to be put into a maps folder, but none of the maps I have installed have any problem, and they are all pk3 files located in my base folder, as are the assets0 through 3 .pk3 files.
Now I could of course create a map dir in my base dir and put all the files in there, but since the server is happy with all the other maps just in the base dir, it doesnt seem likely to correct the problem. Besides, the standard maps are all stuffet into to those huge assets files, and I dont want extra copies of those all over the place.

And one other thing. The server claims that it is exec'ing mpdefault.cfg and jk2mpserver.cfg (It also bitches about an autoexec.cfg, but I read that I could ignore that problem somewhere else in this thread) The two cfg files I have mentioned above are not located anywhere in my linux file-structure, unless they are a part of the "assets-files". So is it supposed to exec those?

Hitch warning: 5237 msec frame time
serverinfo
Server info settings:
g_blueteam Rebellion
g_redteam Empire
g_weaponDisable 65531
g_forcePowerDisable 32741
g_forceRegenTime 200
g_maxGameClients 0
capturelimit 20
sv_floodProtect 1
sv_maxPing 0
sv_minPing 0
sv_maxRate 10000
sv_maxclients 3
sv_hostname [BOFH] Et Dukkehjem
g_duelWeaponDisable 65531
g_forceBasedTeams 0
duel_fraglimit 10
g_maxForceRank 6
g_saberLocking 1
g_privateDuel 1
timelimit 4
fraglimit 1
dmflags 0
version JK2MP: v1.03a linux-i386 May 15 2002
g_maxHolocronCarry 3
g_gametype 3
g_needpass 0
protocol 15
mapname duel_pit
sv_privateClients 0
sv_allowAnonymous 0
sv_allowDownload 0
bot_minplayers 0
gamename basejk
g_jediVmerc 0
DSpawn is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-17-2002, 06:01 PM   #84
DSpawn
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 5
Nobody answered since 26th of june!!! Come on guys
DSpawn is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-22-2002, 12:31 PM   #85
Sn1PeR
 
Sn1PeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 26
I have no clue on the above post, sorry, I'm having some of the same problems w/ the 1.04 linux dedicated server(which I just installed redhat 7.3 on, and it flys). Just trying to keep this thread semi alive, cmon guys wake up!

another problem I'm having.... I use jedirunner to create my cfgs, and then import them into my jk2 linux server, and I can't get Pure Server to be turned off, its set to 0 in the cfg, the linux server is just really touchy, I guess I'm gunna have to make my cfg by hand(just like everything else w/ linux lol)
Sn1PeR is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-29-2002, 02:39 PM   #86
Revan Bakr'
 
Revan Bakr''s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: In a dark, secluded cave on Korriban
Posts: 294
I see all these server cfg's and wonder: Where do I put the server cfg folder and how do I include the coding inside?


--------------------Revan Bakr'
Sithopath

Revan: Sometimes I feel like you don't know me at all. (Lightsaber ignites) (Slices) And now, you never will. HAHAHAHAHA!

"Austin..... I am your father."
"Really?"
"No, not really. I can't back that up."

http://www.boomspeed.com/jakobo48/Al_sig2.jpg [URL]
Revan Bakr' is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-02-2002, 12:25 PM   #87
MatrixCPA
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Southern California
Posts: 1,199
Well, I haven't replied for a couple of reasons. First off, I was on vacation for a few weeks. Second, I've always asked that admins post their questions in a new thread, rather than tacking on to this one. That way, if someone else has the same question, or the answer, they are more likely to see the post.

DSpawn: I'd want to see your command line and perhaps your startup spam to get a better idea what the problem was. I'd recommend you use seta instead of set for everything except map rotation items--that includes putting seta in front of rconpassword.

Revan Bakr': The server.cfg file belongs in the base directory, along with the pk3 files. When you ask, "how do I include the coding inside?" what do you mean? If you mean, how do I get the server to use the config, you put +exec server.cfg at the end of your command line/shortcut. If you mean, what types of things should/can you put in the config, that's a bit more lengthly answer and I'd want to make sure that was the case before I went on and on about it.


"Do you expect me to talk?"

"No, Mr. Bond, I expect you to DIE."
MatrixCPA is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-02-2002, 12:51 PM   #88
Revan Bakr'
 
Revan Bakr''s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: In a dark, secluded cave on Korriban
Posts: 294
MatrixCPA please read

First off, I don't know anything about dedicated servers! But I have to make one for my clan. All I'm asking is for someone who knows what they're doing to walk me through it in layman's terms. If you can do this MatrixCPA, I would really appreciate it.


--------------------Revan Bakr'
Sithopath

Revan: Sometimes I feel like you don't know me at all. (Lightsaber ignites) (Slices) And now, you never will. HAHAHAHAHA!

"Austin..... I am your father."
"Really?"
"No, not really. I can't back that up."

http://www.boomspeed.com/jakobo48/Al_sig2.jpg [URL]
Revan Bakr' is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-05-2002, 02:20 PM   #89
MatrixCPA
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Southern California
Posts: 1,199
Get a hold of me on MSN messenger or AIM sometime. Both are listed in my profile here. I also use ICQ, but not at work.


"Do you expect me to talk?"

"No, Mr. Bond, I expect you to DIE."
MatrixCPA is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-06-2002, 03:03 PM   #90
damien
 
damien's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 3
Thumbs down linux dedicated server problems

when i run

./jk2ded +exec server.cfg +map ffa_bespin

the following happens

JK2MP: v1.04 linux-i386 Jul 1 2002
Initialising zone memory .....
----- FS_Startup -----
Current search path:
/usr/local/games/jk2/base/assets2.pk3 (289 files)
/usr/local/games/jk2/base/assets1.pk3 (8011 files)
/usr/local/games/jk2/base/assets0.pk3 (6674 files)
/usr/local/games/jk2/base
./jk2ded/base

----------------------
14974 files in pk3 files
execing mpdefault.cfg
couldn't exec jk2mpserver.cfg
couldn't exec autoexec.cfg
Hunk_Clear: reset the hunk ok
Illegal instruction

and then it kicks me back to the prompt.. i am setting up the server for the first time.. I can't find any documentation anywhere in regards to the "Illegal instruction" error.. has anyone seen this before?

I am running Mandrake Linux release 9.0 on a PII 200.
damien is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-21-2002, 03:55 PM   #91
TheAphextwin
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 116
Please post your configs here for us to view


Kind Regards,
Aphextwin
Custom Installs
Providing free windows installations and server utilities to the game community since 1999
ICQ 71420728

Team member Threewave MOD team for Quake 3
Team member True Combat MOD team for Quake 3

"Frag the weak, hurdle the dead..."
TheAphextwin is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-05-2002, 10:43 PM   #92
tech
 
tech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 1
Question jk2ded v1.04 - jk2mpgamei386.so: cannot open shared object file: Not a directory

G'Day Guys,

I have been trying to get the jkii dedicated server working now on and off for the last couple of weeks and have resorted to these foums for some help.

Basically with an out of the box install I am getting the following errors after running './jk2ded +exec server.cfg' or even if i just do './jk2ded' and as soon as I select a map to load.

Any help would be much appreciated. The pk3 files were sourced from a client running the 1.04 Patch.

Current search path:
/root/.jkii/base
/usr/games/jk2/base/assets5.pk3 (4 files)
/usr/games/jk2/base/assets2.pk3 (289 files)
/usr/games/jk2/base/assets1.pk3 (8011 files)
/usr/games/jk2/base/assets0.pk3 (6674 files)
/usr/games/jk2/base
./jk2ded/base

----------------------
29956 files in pk3 files
Loading dll file jk2mpgame.
Sys_LoadDll(/usr/games/jk2/base/jk2mpgamei386.so)...
Sys_LoadDll(/usr/games/jk2/base/jk2mpgamei386.so) failed: "/usr/games/jk2/base/jk2mpgamei386.so: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory"
Sys_LoadDll(./jk2ded/base/jk2mpgamei386.so) failed: "./jk2ded/base/jk2mpgamei386.so: cannot open shared object file: Not a directory"
----- Server Shutdown -----
Resolving master3.idsoftware.com
master3.idsoftware.com resolved to 192.246.40.56:28060
Sending heartbeat to master3.idsoftware.com
Resolving master0.gamespy.com
master0.gamespy.com resolved to 216.177.89.34:28060
Sending heartbeat to master0.gamespy.com
Resolving clanservers.net
clanservers.net resolved to 65.113.118.130:28060
Sending heartbeat to clanservers.net
Resolving q3master.barrysworld.com
Couldn't resolve address: q3master.barrysworld.com
Sending heartbeat to master3.idsoftware.com
Sending heartbeat to master0.gamespy.com
Sending heartbeat to clanservers.net
---------------------------
Sys_Error: Sys_LoadDll(jk2mpgame) failed dlopen() completely!
tech is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-27-2003, 12:32 AM   #93
lf412
 
lf412's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 28
My jk2ded is having problems finding the pk3 files. I put them all into my base folder, but the jk2ded binary can't seem to locate them. I assume this is because my pk3s are in a different format that linux can't understand or something? How do I copy these files properly from the CD? Or how do I go about converting the pk3s. Thanks.
lf412 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-13-2003, 12:10 PM   #94
leowulf
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1
Hi,
I have a problem, the server load up great and it run as background but somehow i couldnt connect to it through the internet, my server is running on Freebsd4.8 here is mine cfg file can someone help me out? thanks Secondly, i have many IPs on this server, how can i bind it to one IP

// Server Config
set sv_hostname "wildabar"
set g_motd "test"
rconpassword "password"
set sv_allowDownload 1
set sv_maxclients 3
set g_inactivity 0
set sv_maxRate 10000
set g_allowvote 0
set timelimit 4
set capturelimit 20
set g_autoMapCycle 1
set g_gametype 3
set g_duelWeaponDisable 65531
set g_forcepowerDisable 32741
set g_weaponDisable 65531
set g_maxForceRank 6
set g_saberLocking 1
set g_friendlySaber 1
set g_autoMapCycle 1
set duel_fraglimit 10
set fraglimit 1
map duel_pit
leowulf is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-16-2003, 02:00 PM   #95
KomeK
 
KomeK's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1
My friend to me have linux and he wants to run a Dedicated jk2 server from it with the mod Jedi academy mod 1.2.I wonder if anyone can tell me step by step how to do.With the commands and the cfg things :S


KomeK is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-07-2003, 12:17 AM   #96
miner60
 
miner60's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: West Lafayette, IN
Posts: 5
Question Cannot Resolve Master Server

I have been trying to set up a dedicated server on Linux now for a few days. Everything runs fine and I can connect to my server through my LAN. The only problem is the server does not get listed on the master list. I always get an error message that says something to the effect of "Couldn't resolve masterjk2.ravensoft.com". I have read through a few other posts on this topic but haven't found any good solutions. Anybody have any help for me?

Also I forgot to mention that my server is running behind a Gateway running Windows XP with ICS.


yayyyyyyyyyy

Last edited by miner60; 07-07-2003 at 12:49 AM.
miner60 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-05-2003, 08:06 AM   #97
escapedturkey
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 32
Quote:
Originally posted by leowulf
Hi,
I have a problem, the server load up great and it run as background but somehow i couldnt connect to it through the internet, my server is running on Freebsd4.8 here is mine cfg file can someone help me out? thanks Secondly, i have many IPs on this server, how can i bind it to one IP

// Server Config
set sv_hostname "wildabar"
set g_motd "test"
rconpassword "password"
set sv_allowDownload 1
set sv_maxclients 3
set g_inactivity 0
set sv_maxRate 10000
set g_allowvote 0
set timelimit 4
set capturelimit 20
set g_autoMapCycle 1
set g_gametype 3
set g_duelWeaponDisable 65531
set g_forcepowerDisable 32741
set g_weaponDisable 65531
set g_maxForceRank 6
set g_saberLocking 1
set g_friendlySaber 1
set g_autoMapCycle 1
set duel_fraglimit 10
set fraglimit 1
map duel_pit
How did you get the Linux Dedicated Server working with 4.8?

Jedi Academy just hangs for me.

What does your startup command look like?

Mine just hangs everytime I start the program.

Please see this thread:

http://forums.ravensoft.com/ib/ikonb...T;f=21;t=25075

Thank you.
escapedturkey is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Help Center > Technical Help > Linux Server howto

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:37 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.