lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Sound problems in the new version of S&M HtR
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 10-22-2003, 03:59 AM   #1
Ajguy
 
Ajguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 4
Sound problems in the new version of S&M HtR

I just preordered Armand and Dangerous and got a scrumptious, Windows XP compatible version of Sam and Max for my troubles. The game starts off working perfectly while in Windows XP! Too good to be true I thought. I was right. When I first enter the Carnival tent, I loose all voice from then on out. This has happened on more than one computer too. Anyone else have this happen or knwo how to fix it? Lucas Arts can't promise me a Windows XP version of Sam and Max with no voices!


Grim Fandango. Best... game... ever!
Ajguy is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-22-2003, 10:46 AM   #2
scabb
zo
 
scabb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Wakefield, UK
Posts: 1,652
You could always run it in ScummVM - Download ScummVM Quick & Easy, click auto-update to grab the latest build of ScummVM and you should be set to go.
scabb is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-22-2003, 11:46 AM   #3
Ray Jones
[armleglegarmhead]
 
Ray Jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: digital
Posts: 8,256
10 year veteran! LF Jester Helpful! Forum Veteran 
it runs perfectly with VDMSound for me.

hmmm.. but if you prefer windowed mode.. listen to scabb.


Ray Jones is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-22-2003, 07:44 PM   #4
Ajguy
 
Ajguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 4
Wow! Neither works! I can't get Q&E to launch it, VDMSound doesn't load the sound drivers, and ScummVM plays exactly the same problem as before. I wonder if it's something wrong with one of the files on the disc?


Grim Fandango. Best... game... ever!
Ajguy is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-22-2003, 08:51 PM   #5
Ray Jones
[armleglegarmhead]
 
Ray Jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: digital
Posts: 8,256
10 year veteran! LF Jester Helpful! Forum Veteran 
Quote:
[program]
workdir=[your path here]\
executable=[your path here]\SAMNMAX.EXE
params=m s220/7/8
[vdms.debug]
useCustomCfg=yes
customCfg=[SBController.config] %000d%000aforceSampleRate = 22050
[winnt.dos]
autoexec=chcp 850
useAutoexec=no
useUMB=no
useHIMEM.SYS=yes
useConfig=no
[winnt.dosbox]
exitclose=yes
exitWarn=no
[winnt.storage]
useCDROM=no
[vdms.gameport]
enabled=no
[winnt.memory]
useEMS=no
useXMS=no
memEMS=16384
[winnt.pmode]
useDPMI=no
useCLIPOPF=no
[vdms.midi]
sysExLed=Scroll
devOutID=0
[vdms.dmac]
minDMAPeriod=2
maxDMAPeriod=10
[winnt.video]
useVESA=no
[vdms.sb.fm]
sampleRate=44100
devOutType=2
devOutID=-1
[vdms.sb.dsp]
devOutType=2
devOutID=-1
open the vdmsound link of your samnmax.exe with an editor (notepad.exe should do it)

then replace its content with the configuration i posted above.
edit the entries "workdir" and "executable" (insert your paths)
save it.. clickerydoo.
(you can edit the path later the usual way too)

should work for xp/2k.




Ray Jones is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-24-2003, 02:03 AM   #6
Ajguy
 
Ajguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 4
Wait a sec, you lost me. Where exactly is the VDMsound link? How do I create that. Is that part of Q&E or just part of VDMSound. I appreciate everyone's help. I'm so desperate to play through this game again!


Grim Fandango. Best... game... ever!
Ajguy is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-24-2003, 08:53 AM   #7
Ray Jones
[armleglegarmhead]
 
Ray Jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: digital
Posts: 8,256
10 year veteran! LF Jester Helpful! Forum Veteran 
q&e has a vdmsound mode too..

i'm using ONLY vdmsound without q&e (ok.. i'm a player.. i set up all three.. vdmsound, scummvm and q&e.. but i only USE vdmsound )

err..

wait.

i use vdmsound with the vdmsound launchpad. it enables an option like "launch with vdmsound" in the contextmenu (in our case if you r'clicking the samnmax.exe) and this creates the vdms-link (i think it has the extension .vdl) and then starts the samnmax.exe. you'll find the link in the directory where the exefile is.

you can get the launchpad where you get the vdmsound software. i dont remember the url.. just google for "vdmsound" ..

come back and hit me if it still doesnt works.


Ray Jones is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Sam And Max.Net > Sam & Max Craziness > Hints, Tips & Troubleshooting > Sound problems in the new version of S&M HtR

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:12 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.