lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: ATTN: Fred Tetra (Important bug report)
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 01-27-2004, 10:45 PM   #1
Kitty Kitty
Junior Member
 
Kitty Kitty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 355
ATTN: Fred Tetra (Important bug report)

Wanted to let you (and anyone using the tool) know that with the latest version, an odd bug seems to have crept into the 2da editor.

I'm not sure about exactly what (if any) specific conditions cause it, but the behavior has been the following:

The final line of a 2da file when saved, changes all the data fields from whatever was there to bogus entries. In appearance.2da specifically, it fills the line with values of "C_Verkaal"

In heads.2da, it fills them with "N_GadonH"

As far as I can tell, it happens when you save the file, but I could be wrong. In order to work around it until it's fixed, what I do is create an additional row of data at the bottom of any file I edit, and fill the fields with **** or whatever. Once saved and re-opened, it fills them with the data indicated above, but at least it's an entry the game isn't using anyway, so it's a workaround that preserves the data I need.

*Edit*
There seem to be some other odd little bugs here and there related to loading and saving. For example.. Load up say heads.2da. Change a field and then save as - overwriting the same file. Then go to load, and try loading the same file again. When I do, I get a crash.. there were a few others as well, but I can't remember specifics. Sorry about that =(
*/edit*

Anyways.. wanted to put this somewhere visible to minimize any damage until you can figure out what happened

-Kitty



Last edited by Kitty Kitty; 01-28-2004 at 01:56 AM.
Kitty Kitty is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-28-2004, 03:35 AM   #2
Fred Tetra
Kotor Tool Guy
 
Fred Tetra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: What a creepy photo, eh? Had to use it!
Posts: 947
Hot Topic Starter LFN Staff Member Helpful! Notable contributor 
I believe the two errors have been fixed.

One was caused by me "exporting" 1 less row of data from the grid than actually existed, but only in the 2da native format; the XML exporter was OK, thus easy to find.

The other was caused by a quirk in the M$ grid that I have worked around. That grid is such a pain that M$ is releasing a new version!

The download site now contains the updated code, though the release version remains the same because of the way the version-generating code from M$ works (go figure!)

To paraphrase Mr. Gates on the subject of why viruses make Windows more secure....

"My code is better because you're finding bugs in it."
Fred Tetra is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Editing / Modding > Holowan Laboratories > ATTN: Fred Tetra (Important bug report)

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:24 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.