lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: ForceMod II - Final beta feedback
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 06-09-2003, 12:07 AM   #201
KaiaSowapit
 
KaiaSowapit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Earth
Posts: 274
Some minor aesthetic changes I'd like to see...

I don't think most of these are specific to ForceMod, but I'll mention them anyway.

Maybe it's just me, but I think the default effects when using Force Protect & Absorb look awful (I'm also not fond of the yellow mess when using Force Seeing, but that's too useful to simply drop out of the game). Perhaps someone familiar with editing shaders can give me a few pointers on how I could change these to suit my taste?

Also, there are a few scaling irregularities that are a little unpleasant. Ever notice how many of the items and weapons in the maps look HUGE? The blaster rifle is bigger than Yoda. And speaking of Yoda (and other scaled down models), they appear to pass on their scale to other players they've dismembered, i.e.: if Yoda hacks off Desann's leg, suddenly Desann's dismembered leg becomes "Yoda-sized." I think this is just a limitation of Tchouky's scaling, but if I've set up something wrong, someone please tell me.

Then there's the thermal detonator. If you ask me, it looks more like a fancy firecracker rather than something that should be feared (yeah I'd like to see its damage and splash zone a little bigger too, but that's a whole other issue ). This probably falls under the category of editing shaders as well. Anyone know how to make it appear to have a bigger boom?

Lastly (and I'm embarrassed to ask but here goes anyway), my custom hilts pack doesn't show all the hilts properly in the character setup menu. Some hilts appear with their custom icons and some just appear with a "generic" icon. Really a trivial issue, as the hilts work fine, I'm just curious why it's happening. (I'm using the Dueler's mod hiltpack, which for whatever reason works/looks fine in Dueler's mod).
KaiaSowapit is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-09-2003, 07:57 AM   #202
Noxrepere
 
Noxrepere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 147
To KaiaSowapit,

As far as the saber icons go, I believe it's because they are saved as jpg's in the pk3 rather than tga's. If you open up the icons in a photo edititing program, choose "Save As" and then choose ".tga" as the file extension, then zip everything up again, it should work fine. (It did for me at least.)

Also, it didn't work when I tried just changing the file extension manually (since I don't have my file extensions hidden), so apparently it must be done through "Save As".

Hope that helps.
Noxrepere is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-09-2003, 08:52 AM   #203
KaiaSowapit
 
KaiaSowapit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Earth
Posts: 274
Ahh... sometimes the most obvious is the most overlooked! Thanks 7th Jedi!

BTW, does anyone know the console command for setting bot intelligence (initiate, padawan, jedi, etc.) when starting a server? Is that what the cvar bot_thinktime is for?
KaiaSowapit is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-09-2003, 06:48 PM   #204
Azymn
 
Azymn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: ~(40.14, -111.40)
Posts: 544
I think Kaia answered most of the questions, but the few i saw might not have been:

Those of you having trouble choosing a merc class, make sure the server has the "Jedi vs Merc: MercMod" on the server startup screen. That's likely the problem.

The darth maul hilt now has a blade extend at the place it should. This will cause it to look funny if you have a hilt with the name "maul" in it that isn't saber staff length. Sorry for the inconvenience, i should've made this configurable. But the original jedimod has the maul staff saber hilt included, and it matches that length.

You should be able to make an invisible saber by making all four files relating to one blade black.

Azymn is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-09-2003, 08:09 PM   #205
JEDICW
 
JEDICW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: MI
Posts: 9
I was wondering if i wanna play let say a dark sith player say darth maul do i need to download the file and put it in the forcemode2 file, and also for a jedi player other than what is availble?
JEDICW is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-09-2003, 08:15 PM   #206
Azymn
 
Azymn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: ~(40.14, -111.40)
Posts: 544
If i understand what you're asking, you need to have the darth maul model downloaded in order to use it, yes.

Azymn is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-09-2003, 08:46 PM   #207
JEDICW
 
JEDICW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: MI
Posts: 9
ok so do i put the file in the forcemode2 folder???
JEDICW is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-09-2003, 08:49 PM   #208
Azymn
 
Azymn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: ~(40.14, -111.40)
Posts: 544
You can put it in the forcemod2 folder if you only want to use the model in forcemod, or in the base folder to make it available for any jk2 game.

Azymn is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-09-2003, 09:37 PM   #209
Azymn
 
Azymn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: ~(40.14, -111.40)
Posts: 544
Kaia - how long would it take you to whip up a .cfg file that set all forcemod and jedimod cvars to forcemod 2 defaults?

Azymn is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-09-2003, 10:36 PM   #210
JEDICW
 
JEDICW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: MI
Posts: 9
Ok now that iv downloaded some skins where do i put them in my forcemode2 folder is thier a special place they need to go? They are dark and reg jedi char. ????
JEDICW is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-09-2003, 10:36 PM   #211
KaiaSowapit
 
KaiaSowapit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Earth
Posts: 274
About two seconds.

(But that wouldn't be as cool as my setup, hehe.)
KaiaSowapit is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-09-2003, 10:57 PM   #212
KaiaSowapit
 
KaiaSowapit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Earth
Posts: 274
JEDICW, read carefully...

Put your new skins either in the "base" folder or the "ForceMod" folder. Personally I would go with base, but it's up to you.

Example: Put maul.pk3 in base folder.

Maul should now be a selectable skin when you start a new game.
KaiaSowapit is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-10-2003, 07:13 PM   #213
JEDICW
 
JEDICW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: MI
Posts: 9
Ok guyes again i did download some char. skins and put them in my forcemode2 folder , then went to play and i had darth maul to play as enemy but it wasent the darth maul skin what am i doing wrong. Also i did notice when saber fighten and u saber lock somtimes u can see the saber blade is on the handle when locked up, i would think that the handle then would be destroyed.
JEDICW is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-11-2003, 08:28 AM   #214
rut-wa jodar
 
rut-wa jodar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: a galaxy far,far away
Posts: 722
Quote:
Originally posted by JEDICW
Ok guyes again i did download some char. skins and put them in my forcemode2 folder , then went to play and i had darth maul to play as enemy but it wasent the darth maul skin what am i doing wrong. Also i did notice when saber fighten and u saber lock somtimes u can see the saber blade is on the handle when locked up, i would think that the handle then would be destroyed.
regarding saberlock problems this will occur if one character is taller than another. You can thank the Jedi Outcast developers for that. If only they had implemented singleplayer saberfighting into the multiplayer game we would have a killer multiplayer game.
rut-wa jodar is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-11-2003, 08:38 AM   #215
Crowy
Forumite
 
Crowy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: on a peice of plywood with this sandpaper type stuff on it
Posts: 663
jedicw, how many skins/models do you have in the base folder there have been several times where i have had to take out alot of skins for new models/skins to work....


In Loving Memory Of Corinne Brittan.

September 3rd 1986 - November 30th 2003
Crowy is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-11-2003, 02:32 PM   #216
Mace_Windu21
 
Mace_Windu21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 18
ForceMod II - The Mercs Strike Back, has now been released on jk2files.com. I don't know if Azymn wanted it there yet, or if he put it there, but it's there.
Mace_Windu21 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-11-2003, 05:18 PM   #217
Noxrepere
 
Noxrepere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 147
I need a little help regarding the bots and their sabers. I've been trying to get the bots to use the double-bladed and dual-bladed sabers but the custom models I have won't do it.

The Desann bot will use his double-bladed saber, but the custom models will not. I've tried with Aurra Sing, Darth Maul, Exar Kun, and Maw (all of which have been denoted in the fm_classes.cfg file to use saber variations). They will change their roll style and saber blade style and Maw uses his invisible jetpack so I know it's reading from the file.

I do have the double and dual saber options in the lightsaber menu enabled. I've tried everything I can think of to try and get them to work but with no success. If anyone has any idea what the problem is please let me know.

Other than this little problem I'm having, I love the mod and think it's absolutely great.

Thanks Azymn for this wonderful piece of work!

Last edited by Noxrepere; 06-13-2003 at 04:34 AM.
Noxrepere is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-11-2003, 05:28 PM   #218
Azymn
 
Azymn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: ~(40.14, -111.40)
Posts: 544
Hmm....you could try tinkering with f_forcesabertype (i believe it's called "Force Saber:" or something in the lightsaber menu).

If it comes to it, you can edit the *.bot files as shown in "note_to_modelers.txt" in the documentation folder, and that will make them work for sure. As of right now, editing the *.bot files takes precedence over the fm_classes.cfg.

Azymn is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-12-2003, 12:26 AM   #219
JEDICW
 
JEDICW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: MI
Posts: 9
Hello all while playen forcemod2 i found somthing that hopefully will be fixable i noticed when playen using darth mauls saber and it gets split in two u then have two whole darth maul saber hilts, shouldent it be just to halfs?
JEDICW is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-12-2003, 03:06 AM   #220
DarkLord60
Something In the Way
 
DarkLord60's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: MI
Posts: 2,436
he would have to create two new models you cant really spit it in half unless the model was made to do so.


_____________________________________________
]

DarkLord60 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-12-2003, 03:05 PM   #221
Mace_Windu21
 
Mace_Windu21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 18
I noticed while playing as a Bounty Hunter, I had dual-blasters, and the laster in my left hand was slanted downward in his hand, and it looked really messed up. So please fix this. Thanks!
Mace_Windu21 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-12-2003, 07:47 PM   #222
JEDICW
 
JEDICW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: MI
Posts: 9
How do u play as a dark jedi and the other classes?? I have been playen jedi master on online but playen against the computer witch is fine im kinda lost, ive looked at the readme a bit and ive looked at the screen shots but i caint get the skins to work like boba fet, i think i might be doing somthing wrong??
JEDICW is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-13-2003, 04:33 AM   #223
Noxrepere
 
Noxrepere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 147
Thanks Azymn.

Editing the bot files worked so it works fine now.

Great work on the mod.
Noxrepere is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-13-2003, 06:40 AM   #224
KaiaSowapit
 
KaiaSowapit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Earth
Posts: 274
JEDICW, look at the readme a bit more.

If that fails, maybe there's someone near your computer who can read it for you?
KaiaSowapit is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-15-2004, 07:51 PM   #225
P VADER
Lurker
 
P VADER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: FLORIDA JACKSONVILLE
Posts: 5
Post

Quote:
Originally posted by rut-wa jodar
OMG!! I just fought against darth maul Bot I managed to split his sith saber in two, he then begins to kick my butt me with 2 sabers.
I CAN'T FIQURE OUT HOW TO ACTAVATE MY STAFF INTO A DOUBLE BLADE LIGFHTSABER FOR STAR WARS JEDI KNIGHT:JEDI ACADEMY FOR XBOX IF ANYONE CAN TELL ME PLZ CONTACT ME AT MLESSERDEMON@AOL.COM THX U.
P VADER is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Editing Central > Showcase forum > Beta Testing > ForceMod II - Final beta feedback

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:30 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.