lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: WIP: Star Destroyer
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 03-17-2004, 01:30 PM   #41
{xg}darthVADER
 
{xg}darthVADER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: the netherlands
Posts: 457
i told you what i know
it crashed without giving an error


Maps aren't released
...they escape

{xg}darthVADER is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-17-2004, 06:34 PM   #42
monsoontide
Multiple Arm Attack!
 
monsoontide's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,092
As far as the extra ships go - I was thinking they should just be map models rather than actual vehicles.

Pity about that crash. I guess it does it every time?

What lighting setting are you using to compile?

Try comping with a less complex lighting setup (ie just bsp/meta/vis/fastlight)
All the more complex lighting schemes can make your map crash before it even finishes compiling!


Monsoontide
monsoontide is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-17-2004, 07:54 PM   #43
{xg}darthVADER
 
{xg}darthVADER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: the netherlands
Posts: 457
could the problem be in the fact that i didnt do the -vis stage?


Maps aren't released
...they escape

{xg}darthVADER is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-18-2004, 06:27 PM   #44
monsoontide
Multiple Arm Attack!
 
monsoontide's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,092
I guess, since VIS is THE most important stage (Where the compiler works out which polys are viewable and which are not*), without it, I'm not sure the lighting stage has anything to work from.
(Also - VIS can take a hella long time - I think on my map VIS and Lighting take something like 16-20 hours to complete properly!!!!)

*Simplified version of what it does - someone will no doubt correct me

NOTE: Once you've VISed you can just run a lighting pass without having to revis the map (As long as you haven't changed anything within the map)


Monsoontide

Last edited by monsoontide; 03-18-2004 at 06:42 PM.
monsoontide is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-18-2004, 06:50 PM   #45
monsoontide
Multiple Arm Attack!
 
monsoontide's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,092
Batch File From Raven

What i would do to make it easier is make a batch file...

I have put most of your pathing in there for you. (even the -lomem in lighting for you) All you should need is to add the path to the .map you are trying to compile.

copy this into a .txt file, save it... then rename the extension to .bat

copy everything from @echo off to pause


@echo off

set bsp_var=-v -meta -verboseentities -custinfoparms -samplesize 4

set vis_var=-vis -saveprt

set light_var=-v -light -lomem -fast -filter -patchshadows -samples 3

set quake_path="D:/Games/LucasArts/Jedi_Academy/GameData/Game"

set quake_path2="D:\Games\LucasArts\Jedi_Academy\GameD ata\Game"

set mod_dir=base

set map_path="exact/path/to/map.map"

set q3map_path="D:/Games/GtkRadiant-1.4/q3map2/q3map2.exe"

set gen_options=-game jk2 -fs_basepath %QUAKE_PATH% -fs_game %MOD_DIR% -v

%q3map_path% %bsp_var% %gen_options% %map_path%

%q3map_path% %vis_var% %gen_options% %map_path%

%q3map_path% %light_var% %gen_options% %map_path%

pause
_________________
Justin "Jesterspaz" Negrete


Monsoontide
monsoontide is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-18-2004, 06:51 PM   #46
monsoontide
Multiple Arm Attack!
 
monsoontide's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,092
Lightbulb Here's The One For JUST Lighting

Here is a batch file from Raven that is JUST for lighting.

@echo off

set light_var=-light -filter -approx 25 -patchshadows -samples 5

set quake_path="D:/Games/LucasArts/Jedi_Academy/GameData/Game"

set quake_path2="D:\Games\LucasArts\Jedi_Academy\GameD ata\Game"

set mod_dir=base

set map_path="D:/Games/LucasArts/Jedi_Academy/GameData/Game/base/maps/blah.map"

set q3map_path="D:/Games/GtkRadiant-1.4/q3map2/q3map2.exe"

set gen_options=-game jk2 -fs_basepath %QUAKE_PATH% -fs_game %MOD_DIR% -v

%q3map_path% %light_var% %gen_options% %map_path%

pause



Yes once this is made into a .bat just double click it to run it.
_________________
Justin "Jesterspaz" Negrete


Monsoontide
monsoontide is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-18-2004, 08:53 PM   #47
{xg}darthVADER
 
{xg}darthVADER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: the netherlands
Posts: 457
i folowed your instructions exactly but it didnt work


Maps aren't released
...they escape

{xg}darthVADER is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-18-2004, 09:56 PM   #48
monsoontide
Multiple Arm Attack!
 
monsoontide's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,092
You'll need to change all the paths in the code to point to the right place.

Best just to use the built in ones in Radiant unless you know what you're up to with these batch files. I did get it to work but it's a bit touch & go on whether or not it will work.

I use BSP - meta just for testing (When I'm making a lot of changes)
& -BSP - META -VIS -FASTLIGHT (For when I want a map with lighting - without going to all the time of doing a hi-res light pass)

Remember to keep an eye on the junk.txt file to find out what's going on during the compiling process...


Monsoontide
monsoontide is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-23-2004, 10:34 PM   #49
Noxrepere
 
Noxrepere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 147
You said you needed help with the lighting. Did you mean help as far as lighting the whole map?

Have you tried this:

http://www.map-center.com/modules.ph...a44be8b87a7835

It would only work for the areas that are visible by the sky, so the inside of the Star Destroyer still has to be lit manually, but it really makes outdoor lighting a lot easier. Plus, you could get good, fluid, ambient lighting all around the Star Destroyer.

I don't know if that's what you meant when you asked for lighting help. (I know monsoontide has been giving tips about the compiling half.)

It also makes the compiling process faster (for me at least).

Hope you can find that helpful.
Noxrepere is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-24-2004, 07:42 AM   #50
{xg}darthVADER
 
{xg}darthVADER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: the netherlands
Posts: 457
this is what i'm using
the problem is the map wont compile the lightstage


Maps aren't released
...they escape

{xg}darthVADER is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-10-2004, 10:31 AM   #51
Kurgan
Headhunter
 
Kurgan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1997
Location: The Dawn of Time
Posts: 18,316
LFN Staff Member 10 year veteran! 
Thumbs up Was the problem solved?

Sounds awesome (how did I miss this thread?)!

Anyway, curious if this is still being worked on these days and if it might be finished one day?


Download JK2 maps for JA Server|BOOT CAMP!|Strategic Academy|
(JA Server: 108.178.55.189:29070)


"The Concussion Rifle is the weapon of a Jedi Knight Player, an elegant weapon, from a more civilized community." - Kyle Katarn
Kurgan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-20-2004, 04:46 AM   #52
{xg}darthVADER
 
{xg}darthVADER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: the netherlands
Posts: 457
i plan to complete it one day but real lfie has taken over i wont eb able to work on this for some time


Maps aren't released
...they escape

{xg}darthVADER is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-15-2004, 05:49 AM   #53
Kurgan
Headhunter
 
Kurgan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1997
Location: The Dawn of Time
Posts: 18,316
LFN Staff Member 10 year veteran! 
Wink

Sorry to hear that, but I look forward to seeing it complete one day, it sounds so awesome!

PS: Be sure to backup your work on CD just in case!


Download JK2 maps for JA Server|BOOT CAMP!|Strategic Academy|
(JA Server: 108.178.55.189:29070)


"The Concussion Rifle is the weapon of a Jedi Knight Player, an elegant weapon, from a more civilized community." - Kyle Katarn
Kurgan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Editing Central > Showcase forum > WIP: Star Destroyer

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:45 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.