lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Custom Animation File set available at PCgamemods
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 08-13-2004, 07:10 AM   #1
keshire
Veteran
 
keshire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: St. Charles, Mo
Posts: 959
Custom Animation File set available at PCgamemods

I uploaded the file set I use to create custom animations at pcgamemods. Feel free to post any questions regarding it here.

I would post a link but I can't get to pcgamemods while I'm at work.


Apathy Cannot Inspire.
Ambivalence cannot lead.
Loved me. Feared me.
Changed me. Killed me.
Anything would be something.
But nothing is worst of all.
-Keshire of the Bleak Cabal.
keshire is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-14-2004, 10:46 PM   #2
Hellfire Jedi
Weeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee
 
Hellfire Jedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: The Modeling Forum!
Posts: 1,112
Bleh, I wanna try animation in max, I've done tooooo many HL milky animations. Which one do I import etc?


I would like to beta test YOUR models
I love graves. You should love him too.
Thanks SupremePain for the avatar.
Mike-
Hellfire Jedi is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-15-2004, 07:31 AM   #3
keshire
Veteran
 
keshire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: St. Charles, Mo
Posts: 959
Quote:
Which one do I import etc?
come again? Do you mean export? If so then you export to xsi and then compile it.

//Linky to files.

Custom Animation File Set

//relevant threads on the subject.

NEW ANIMATIONS IN JKA - HowTo

NEW ANIMATIONS IN JKA/JK2 - HowTo

I'd also be interest to see anybody's work in this thread also.


Apathy Cannot Inspire.
Ambivalence cannot lead.
Loved me. Feared me.
Changed me. Killed me.
Anything would be something.
But nothing is worst of all.
-Keshire of the Bleak Cabal.
keshire is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-15-2004, 10:34 AM   #4
Hellfire Jedi
Weeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee
 
Hellfire Jedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: The Modeling Forum!
Posts: 1,112
Ehh, I'm not starting from scratch if thats what you're implying.


I would like to beta test YOUR models
I love graves. You should love him too.
Thanks SupremePain for the avatar.
Mike-
Hellfire Jedi is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-18-2004, 07:08 AM   #5
keshire
Veteran
 
keshire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: St. Charles, Mo
Posts: 959
Ok I'm going to start posting progress of my new saber style here.

I have the seven cardinal directions done.
And I'm progressing on spins/combo's

anybody have a place to upload divx or quicktime movies? I'll keep them below a meg apiece.

and here are the references I'm using. The style is a one-handed, and similar to dooku's.

Alternate Duel

Art of the Saber

Brains and Steel

Ryan vs Dorkman

nothing's more fun than throwing these into max and doing some rotoscoping with a Biped.


And I really hope to inspire people to start animating, even if it isn't for JKA stuff. (the skeleton I set up will work for JO, its all dependant on what kind of model you use to compile it.)


Apathy Cannot Inspire.
Ambivalence cannot lead.
Loved me. Feared me.
Changed me. Killed me.
Anything would be something.
But nothing is worst of all.
-Keshire of the Bleak Cabal.
keshire is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-26-2004, 06:53 AM   #6
keshire
Veteran
 
keshire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: St. Charles, Mo
Posts: 959


Mixing animations to get the transitions.

Also Movie Battles will be released with new animations compliments of me this weekend.


Apathy Cannot Inspire.
Ambivalence cannot lead.
Loved me. Feared me.
Changed me. Killed me.
Anything would be something.
But nothing is worst of all.
-Keshire of the Bleak Cabal.
keshire is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-26-2004, 12:35 PM   #7
Hellfire Jedi
Weeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee
 
Hellfire Jedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: The Modeling Forum!
Posts: 1,112
Ok, say if I create an animation from the .max file you included (deleting all keyframes) how would I go and export this as a .bip or whatever?


I would like to beta test YOUR models
I love graves. You should love him too.
Thanks SupremePain for the avatar.
Mike-
Hellfire Jedi is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-27-2004, 12:47 AM   #8
keshire
Veteran
 
keshire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: St. Charles, Mo
Posts: 959
You don't export BIP files they are saved through the character studio menu.

If your referring to XSI export you need the xsi 3.0 exporter from the jedi outcast tools. The dotxsi version of the exporter may work but it crashes me pretty much all the time.


Apathy Cannot Inspire.
Ambivalence cannot lead.
Loved me. Feared me.
Changed me. Killed me.
Anything would be something.
But nothing is worst of all.
-Keshire of the Bleak Cabal.
keshire is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-27-2004, 06:56 AM   #9
keshire
Veteran
 
keshire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: St. Charles, Mo
Posts: 959


Idle stance for the Saber Style.

For the most part I am done. Just need to tweak some attacks to make them more effective.


Apathy Cannot Inspire.
Ambivalence cannot lead.
Loved me. Feared me.
Changed me. Killed me.
Anything would be something.
But nothing is worst of all.
-Keshire of the Bleak Cabal.
keshire is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-27-2004, 10:25 AM   #10
Hellfire Jedi
Weeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee
 
Hellfire Jedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: The Modeling Forum!
Posts: 1,112
Would I need to weight the model over if I re-did a few animations?


I would like to beta test YOUR models
I love graves. You should love him too.
Thanks SupremePain for the avatar.
Mike-
Hellfire Jedi is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-28-2004, 12:48 AM   #11
keshire
Veteran
 
keshire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: St. Charles, Mo
Posts: 959
Of course not. This is just animation data. That is compiled into a gla. From then you can leave it seperate for cinematics in single player or merge it in with the main animation gla.


Apathy Cannot Inspire.
Ambivalence cannot lead.
Loved me. Feared me.
Changed me. Killed me.
Anything would be something.
But nothing is worst of all.
-Keshire of the Bleak Cabal.
keshire is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-28-2004, 11:16 AM   #12
Hellfire Jedi
Weeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee
 
Hellfire Jedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: The Modeling Forum!
Posts: 1,112
ok, thanks for staying with me here. i'm a noob to JA editing. so i'd need to have the original reference files for the model to implement my animations?


I would like to beta test YOUR models
I love graves. You should love him too.
Thanks SupremePain for the avatar.
Mike-
Hellfire Jedi is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-29-2004, 01:09 AM   #13
keshire
Veteran
 
keshire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: St. Charles, Mo
Posts: 959
Quote:
so i'd need to have the original reference files for the model to implement my animations?
Nope, thanks to Corto and ASK. There's a program that will merge new gla's into the old one. I got the original xsi files from Raven for those that would like to use them in other projects.


Apathy Cannot Inspire.
Ambivalence cannot lead.
Loved me. Feared me.
Changed me. Killed me.
Anything would be something.
But nothing is worst of all.
-Keshire of the Bleak Cabal.
keshire is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-29-2004, 02:14 AM   #14
Shady-D
Banned
 
Shady-D's Avatar
 
Status: Banned
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Behind You!
Posts: 168
Question hmmmm right..

well i didnt really used your files, i used the jka skeleton downloadable at phykosiths site i think, neways i animated it (without a mesh) so i exported it as new_stance.xsi and frame 0 was davinchi pose, frame 1,2 were the stance itself, i also exported a root.xsi wich contained the skeleton in davinchi pose. i compiled, it went fine, so now it was time to merge the .gla 's but gla merge said something like : not the same ammount of bones, or atleast something that looks like that so neways got the solution for me keshire? or any other living jka legend?
Shady-D is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-06-2004, 06:18 AM   #15
LightNinja
The Ninjonator
 
LightNinja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Somewhere-Spain Status: Ninjonator
Posts: 1,998
yep, it cant be done as shady says? i d/led it and i extracted it out in a folder but when i open that MAX it says it donesnt find the bits in the correct folder (your origial folder kesh), and then i dont know how to edit it; it isnt like doing new animations so im completly lost




~JA MP Total Conversion~
LightNinja is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-06-2004, 08:50 PM   #16
keshire
Veteran
 
keshire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: St. Charles, Mo
Posts: 959
Quote:
i used the jka skeleton downloadable at phykosith
Not going to work.

Let me try and explain how this works.

Only the animation data is used. This isn't the same as weighting a character,

So if say, certain bones aren't there, or are there but are not in the exact position they need to be you'll get all kinds of wierd errors.

in order for the aniamtion to work every bone in the JKA skeleton has to be weighted to something on compile. That is what determines how many bones are in use. the bones,wsaber mesh xsi that I included has all the correct bones for the JKA skeleton. It can also be modified to work for JO too.

And if the max file is asking for some BIP files you can ignore that. It was motion flow stuff I was working on when I saved it.


Apathy Cannot Inspire.
Ambivalence cannot lead.
Loved me. Feared me.
Changed me. Killed me.
Anything would be something.
But nothing is worst of all.
-Keshire of the Bleak Cabal.
keshire is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-07-2004, 05:17 AM   #17
LightNinja
The Ninjonator
 
LightNinja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Somewhere-Spain Status: Ninjonator
Posts: 1,998
you didnt understood me, i mean, i cant move that skelleton in the max; and if i ever move it and do a animation, then i should export is as xsi 3.0 right?




~JA MP Total Conversion~
LightNinja is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-07-2004, 08:20 PM   #18
keshire
Veteran
 
keshire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: St. Charles, Mo
Posts: 959
Correct xsi 3.0. I've only heard of one other person who has had the problem of not being able to move the center of mass of the Biped and I have no idea what would cause it. You'd have to talk to Leslie Judge to see if he got it figured out.

Unfortunately 3ds max is too fickle for me to tech support over the net.


Apathy Cannot Inspire.
Ambivalence cannot lead.
Loved me. Feared me.
Changed me. Killed me.
Anything would be something.
But nothing is worst of all.
-Keshire of the Bleak Cabal.
keshire is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-08-2004, 06:47 AM   #19
LightNinja
The Ninjonator
 
LightNinja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Somewhere-Spain Status: Ninjonator
Posts: 1,998
well, i think, i leave this




~JA MP Total Conversion~
LightNinja is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-13-2004, 08:37 AM   #20
LightNinja
The Ninjonator
 
LightNinja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Somewhere-Spain Status: Ninjonator
Posts: 1,998
Ok i made a new animation with character studio and that skelleton, the only thing i get lost is in exporting it to make the .gla, i have go to "New animations in JK2/JA" thread and i have readen how they must be done in JA but the problem is i dont know how to do the .gla because it is suposed that a new glm should be done but assimilate says that bip01 is not weighted.
I know that im doing wrong pressing the B button at assimilate, but in that thread there isnt a clear explanation about how to do the "my_gla.gla". In that thread it says something to open carcass or take a .car which comes with the SDK and suddenly it says that "your.gla" appears aparently from nothing cuz i dont see what i have to do.
:/




~JA MP Total Conversion~
LightNinja is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-13-2004, 10:36 AM   #21
LightNinja
The Ninjonator
 
LightNinja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Somewhere-Spain Status: Ninjonator
Posts: 1,998


also this is the animation, simple




~JA MP Total Conversion~
LightNinja is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-13-2004, 08:41 PM   #22
keshire
Veteran
 
keshire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: St. Charles, Mo
Posts: 959
I see you figured out your other problem.

As for assimilate. Don't use it. Its a piece of crap. Use the most current version of carcass. Carcass is a command line program. But the easiest way to use it is to set up the .car file to point to the files you need. Then drag it onto the carcass.exe.

The humnaoid.car that was included in the files should work once you set up the directories in it to point to your files.


Apathy Cannot Inspire.
Ambivalence cannot lead.
Loved me. Feared me.
Changed me. Killed me.
Anything would be something.
But nothing is worst of all.
-Keshire of the Bleak Cabal.
keshire is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-14-2004, 01:01 AM   #23
keshire
Veteran
 
keshire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: St. Charles, Mo
Posts: 959
Once you manage to successfully get an anim merged into the game. You'll realize just how easy it actually is. And once you get to that point I'll show you some tricks that will help you out. (for use with the TMU mod)

Make sure the first frame (frame 0) is the base pose (jka.bip, make sure that orient to z plane is OFF) though. Otherwise the anim will screw up when it's merged.


Apathy Cannot Inspire.
Ambivalence cannot lead.
Loved me. Feared me.
Changed me. Killed me.
Anything would be something.
But nothing is worst of all.
-Keshire of the Bleak Cabal.
keshire is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-14-2004, 10:14 AM   #24
LightNinja
The Ninjonator
 
LightNinja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Somewhere-Spain Status: Ninjonator
Posts: 1,998
im just going to animate the sentinel, i never had the idea of doing player anims, ill try what you said.
But, the orient z thing is off when you put it 24 in the car, no?; and in the car should i have to add the PCJ bones too fr JKA?.
Also i knew that thing of the 0 frame ;p and yep animating this is easyer than animating bones xD




~JA MP Total Conversion~
LightNinja is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-14-2004, 10:34 AM   #25
LightNinja
The Ninjonator
 
LightNinja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Somewhere-Spain Status: Ninjonator
Posts: 1,998
ok i saved the .car in the same folder of carcass and then i threw it into carcass, here is what i got:

:/




~JA MP Total Conversion~
LightNinja is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-14-2004, 08:52 PM   #26
keshire
Veteran
 
keshire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: St. Charles, Mo
Posts: 959
Use the boneswsaber.xsi for the mesh. The reason for this is because the gla is created using the bones that the mesh is weighted to.

$aseanimref_gla models/players/_humanoid/_humanoid.gla

references the main gla for the way the bones hierarchy is arranged. this is a must if you wish to make seperate gla's for cutscenes in single player

$aseanimgrab models/players/_humanoid/new_anim.xsi

This is the animation it is goign to compile

$aseanimconvertmdx_noask models/players/_humanoid/xsi/boneswsaber

This is the mesh. It sets what bones are used in the gla when compiled. A different mesh could be used to create JO animations.

-makeskel models/players/_humanoid/new_anim -origin 0 0 24

the name of the gla that is created

I beleive that is the problem your having.

Your trying to use the anim as a mesh and it thinks the biped is a mesh with no bones weighted. Even if it did compile you'd have the wrong number of bones and it wouldn't work with JKA I beleive.


Apathy Cannot Inspire.
Ambivalence cannot lead.
Loved me. Feared me.
Changed me. Killed me.
Anything would be something.
But nothing is worst of all.
-Keshire of the Bleak Cabal.
keshire is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-14-2004, 08:56 PM   #27
keshire
Veteran
 
keshire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: St. Charles, Mo
Posts: 959
Quote:
But, the orient z thing is off when you put it 24 in the car, no?
Yes and no. The skeleton has to be EXACT to the root pose of the main gla. otherwise the animation will be offset and it will not merge correctly (deforming the player).

The origin offset in the .car file makes it so that the root pose is in the correct spot for anims that use both the torso and legs. otherwise the anim would work but not be in the right spot in-game.


Apathy Cannot Inspire.
Ambivalence cannot lead.
Loved me. Feared me.
Changed me. Killed me.
Anything would be something.
But nothing is worst of all.
-Keshire of the Bleak Cabal.
keshire is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-15-2004, 10:12 AM   #28
LightNinja
The Ninjonator
 
LightNinja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Somewhere-Spain Status: Ninjonator
Posts: 1,998
Quote:
Originally posted by keshire

$aseanimref_gla models/players/_humanoid/_humanoid.gla

references the main gla for the way the bones hierarchy is arranged. this is a must if you wish to make seperate gla's for cutscenes in single player

$aseanimgrab models/players/_humanoid/new_anim.xsi

This is the animation it is goign to compile

$aseanimconvertmdx_noask models/players/_humanoid/xsi/boneswsaber
i didnt understood this well, (ya i must look a bit retard) may i add you to msn so that i could ask you and get a quicker answer?
The problem must be that i'm not used to know what that "$aseanim" is or how it works but it must be really easy once i understand
edit: another thing i dont understand is how to take the gla out bcuz carcass is made for building a glm with the .gla so im lost :S




~JA MP Total Conversion~
LightNinja is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-15-2004, 08:18 PM   #29
keshire
Veteran
 
keshire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: St. Charles, Mo
Posts: 959
All those commands are for the .car file. The one I included is exactly what you should use.

The only thing that needs changing is directories where the files are stored, and the anim and gla name.

When carcass starts building the glm and gla. It builds them seperately. The glm is then set to use the built gla. It doesn't come from nowhere. Its built from the animation data.

And yes. My hotmail is keshire_the_chaotic


Apathy Cannot Inspire.
Ambivalence cannot lead.
Loved me. Feared me.
Changed me. Killed me.
Anything would be something.
But nothing is worst of all.
-Keshire of the Bleak Cabal.
keshire is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Editing Central > Showcase forum > Custom Animation File set available at PCgamemods

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:01 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.