lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Framerate unlock?
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 09-22-2004, 01:20 AM   #1
italegion
Rookie
 
italegion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Rome, Italy
Posts: 206
Framerate unlock?

i just tested the single player mode and this is much better for frame rate; it doesnt have that arcadish in movements of soldiers that i feel in MP - they move more fluid and real. then how to unlock framerate in MP? it's locked to 20.

SP
http://img69.exs.cx/img69/9492/screenshot_0045.jpg

MP
http://img69.exs.cx/img69/518/screenshot_0047.jpg


[size=1]Apology accepted, Captain Needa...
www.italegion.altervista.org
italegion is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-22-2004, 01:22 AM   #2
Iceman_IX
Junior Member
 
Iceman_IX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Gainesville, FL
Posts: 296
How do you have the framerate show? Some sort of command? "fps" or something you type in?


XFire id: icemanix
NF7 | MBarton 2500 200x12.5 @1.875v
OCZ3200EL 2x256+512 @11-3-3-2
eVGA 6800GT | SB Live 5.1
Antec 430 | SLK-900 @53C load
Iiyama E431S | XDreamerII @30C
3dMark05: 4111
nForcersHQ
Iceman_IX is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-22-2004, 01:23 AM   #3
italegion
Rookie
 
italegion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Rome, Italy
Posts: 206
i use Fraps
http://www.fraps.com/download.htm


[size=1]Apology accepted, Captain Needa...
www.italegion.altervista.org
italegion is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-22-2004, 01:33 AM   #4
rut-wa jodar
 
rut-wa jodar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: a galaxy far,far away
Posts: 722
Re: Framerate unlock?

Quote:
Originally posted by italegion
i just tested the single player mode and this is much better for frame rate; it doesnt have that arcadish in movements of soldiers that i feel in MP - they move more fluid and real. then how to unlock framerate in MP? it's locked to 20.

SP
http://img69.exs.cx/img69/9492/screenshot_0045.jpg

MP
http://img69.exs.cx/img69/518/screenshot_0047.jpg

Have you tried my suggestion that i posted in this thread ?

http://www.lucasforums.com/showthrea...hreadid=136151
rut-wa jodar is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-22-2004, 01:34 AM   #5
ReturnFire
Rookie
 
ReturnFire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 48
The fps locking I'm sure was a performance thing but 20 seems offly low for multiplayer. Even Doom3 is 30fps.

From what I have seen though the arcadish movement is more from the server to client info not replicating perfectly. Ending up with Bots sitting half off speeders stepping out of turrets before they fall over dead. Even more annoying than the movement is the detail distance perfomance things where you can zoom into the distance and seen an enemy firing with no gun


Nuke America - Because the French could.

Force Gamers : Battlefront Divison | FORCEGAMERS.COM - 4 thumbs down for your...
ReturnFire is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-22-2004, 01:40 AM   #6
Iceman_IX
Junior Member
 
Iceman_IX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Gainesville, FL
Posts: 296
The only option that might help is "Ticks Per Second" which I've heard someone suggest to change to 30. Sounds like a good idea to me, based on other config files I've messed with. But if there's a hard FPS multi cap, then there's nothing you can do about it. I've looked and I see no config files in the install dir.


XFire id: icemanix
NF7 | MBarton 2500 200x12.5 @1.875v
OCZ3200EL 2x256+512 @11-3-3-2
eVGA 6800GT | SB Live 5.1
Antec 430 | SLK-900 @53C load
Iiyama E431S | XDreamerII @30C
3dMark05: 4111
nForcersHQ
Iceman_IX is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-22-2004, 01:41 AM   #7
italegion
Rookie
 
italegion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Rome, Italy
Posts: 206
my connection is 640kbps dsl and i connect only with green pings server; not having this fps problem with bf1942; they just blocked it to 20 maybe for speed up the engine in mp.


[size=1]Apology accepted, Captain Needa...
www.italegion.altervista.org
italegion is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-22-2004, 01:46 AM   #8
rut-wa jodar
 
rut-wa jodar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: a galaxy far,far away
Posts: 722
what i`m suggesting is that the online settings for Battlefront are set too low. load up the game and see if there are some settings for multiplayer. The game might have the default connection type set lower than your connection.
rut-wa jodar is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-22-2004, 12:16 PM   #9
kingdomwinds
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 132
there is a #of ticks options in online options. Max is 30 but u only get 30fps if you host the game. Does not make a diff when u join a game u will still get 20fps even its set to 30 ticks. battlefront is a good game but the coding just sucks ass
kingdomwinds is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-22-2004, 12:43 PM   #10
Alegis
In hiding
 
Alegis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Belgium
Posts: 3,880
LFN Staff Member 
Quote:
Star Wars Battlefront
Discuss the combat title, Star Wars Battlefront. Please, only Battlefront related topics here.
Quote:
Technical Help
Having problems running the game? Search through this board and feel free to ask away if you can't find your solution.

One is for help, other is for discussion.


-"The glass is neither half-full nor half-empty: it's twice as big as it needs to be."
Alegis is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > SWBattlefront.net (SWBF I & II) > Star Wars Battlefront > Technical Help > Framerate unlock?

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:37 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.