lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Auto assign team gripe
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 10-06-2004, 11:53 PM   #1
vwjoker
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 18
Auto assign team gripe

One gripe I have about the server, that I would like changed would be a more randomised auto assign, rather than the 1st come, 1st served basis.

As I am hosting my own dedicated server I have the best ping rate, and find I am always playing on the same side for each map. I am loathed to turn on "Player select" as you see a fair bit of "side jumping" to be on the winning side.

So I feel it would be nice for a Random auto assign option. Hey too many options cant be bad.

Just my 2 cents on that, feel free to discuss etc

Apologies if I am repeating other peoples suggestions, been stuck in hosptial for a day or so and not had a chance to refresh myself on whats been said.
vwjoker is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-07-2004, 03:03 PM   #2
shrinker
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 21
It would be nice if you had an option to limit team swapping so you can only swap over to the losing side, not the winning side, or maybe the outnumbered side.

It would fix your problem, and help naturally balance games. Maybe.
shrinker is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-09-2004, 11:25 AM   #3
Kurgan
Headhunter
 
Kurgan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1997
Location: The Dawn of Time
Posts: 18,319
LFN Staff Member 10 year veteran! 
The way for Pandemic to fix this (allow player select without allowing people to side jump to the winners) would be to have an option for "auto team force balancing..."

Like a script that scans the sides every 30 seconds for imbalances and then forces the player with the lowest time/score to the team that's missing the person (if balancing is possible with the current number of players).

This is something that OJP does in Jedi Academy and that's only a user made mod, so surely professional programmers can do this for a commercial game they created.


Download JK2 maps for JA Server|BOOT CAMP!|Strategic Academy|
(JA Server: 108.178.55.189:29070)


"The Concussion Rifle is the weapon of a Jedi Knight Player, an elegant weapon, from a more civilized community." - Kyle Katarn
Kurgan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-09-2004, 12:01 PM   #4
avonnied
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 53
vwjoker.. one thing you might want to try is wait a few seconds (count to 20) and then hit done to start to load into the next level.

i know its not a solution but at least you do have control as to what time you do enter the server for the next round..
avonnied is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-11-2004, 03:52 AM   #5
vwjoker
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 18
thanks avonnied, I've started doing that when others are on the server.

One thing, I think would be nice in regard to this... and thats be able to pick which side initially, and then you are stuck respawning for that side for the rest of that level.
vwjoker is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > SWBattlefront.net (SWBF I & II) > Star Wars Battlefront > Server Administration > Auto assign team gripe

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:10 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.