lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: List of non-fps capped servers
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 10-09-2004, 05:14 AM   #1
eeyore
 
eeyore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 5
List of non-fps capped servers

Can we generate a list of servers that have the FPS cap set above 30? I can find them occassionally, but it would be nice if people could post the names of servers here so people could print a list, at least until the browser patch comes out. Thanks!!
eeyore is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-09-2004, 05:58 AM   #2
subs0nic
Rookie
 
subs0nic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 156
Just from the server list in All Seeing Eye, I've found the following. Haven't checked any of them since I've been hacking my map files and can't be bothered changing them back to go online just now.

Skwid'sTacoHouse-FPSsetto60 - 65.206.92.120:3658
RNGD.net_NoBots_HiFPS_FFoff - 69.31.6.105:3658
HOTHFOREVER(tps40) - 62.99.139.182:3658

Sadly, FPS/TPS isn't reported as a server variable by the server, so I can't verify any of these, nor can I locate servers that may have increased the TPS but haven't specified it in the server name. Hopefully this will be of some help though.
subs0nic is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-09-2004, 06:09 AM   #3
=tom=
Rookie
 
=tom='s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 37
i didnt see it anywhere
is the a option to show fps ?
like /cg_drawfps
in jedi outcast/academy


Hoky religions and ancient weapons , are no match for a good blaster at your side kid
=tom= is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-09-2004, 06:36 AM   #4
eeyore
 
eeyore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 5
Fraps

I use fraps to see the fps, but I was kind of hoping that players and server admins would post known uncapped servers here. Oh, and thanks for the one above.

so far we have:

Skwid'sTacoHouse-FPSsetto60 - 65.206.92.120:3658
RNGD.net_NoBots_HiFPS_FFoff - 69.31.6.105:3658
HOTHFOREVER(tps40) - 62.99.139.182:3658

as people add to this, just copy and paste the list to your reply, adding the servers you find/host to it. Thanks.
eeyore is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-09-2004, 07:08 AM   #5
Nudnik
Lurker
 
Nudnik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 5
Sorry for being so dimwitted, but how do you join a server using its I.P?

Is that what that "direct connection" thing is? I haven't used that yet.
Nudnik is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-09-2004, 10:45 AM   #6
Kurgan
Headhunter
 
Kurgan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1997
Location: The Dawn of Time
Posts: 18,322
LFN Staff Member 10 year veteran! 
Question

How do you set the FPS above 30? And how do you view it ingame (besides with Fraps)?


Download JK2 maps for JA Server|BOOT CAMP!|Strategic Academy|
(JA Server: 108.178.55.189:29070)


"The Concussion Rifle is the weapon of a Jedi Knight Player, an elegant weapon, from a more civilized community." - Kyle Katarn
Kurgan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-11-2004, 03:12 AM   #7
subs0nic
Rookie
 
subs0nic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 156
Quote:
Originally posted by Kurgan
How do you set the FPS above 30? And how do you view it ingame (besides with Fraps)?
As far as I know, there is no in-game option to view the FPS.

General explanation: The TPS is set by the server, by default it's 20, and can be set higher with a command line switch I think (Don't remember exactly which switch). Talking about TPS (ticks er second) here is referring to the number of updates sent out by the server per second. In Battlefront, this is tied to your FPS (frames per second) which is the number of frames your graphics card sends to the screen per second; there is no logical reason I can think of for these to be linked together, and they aren't in any other multiplayer game I've ever played. The main thing to note is that the TPS is set by the server, there is no way for the client to override it.
subs0nic is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-11-2004, 06:26 AM   #8
LoRdNaTaS
Rookie
 
LoRdNaTaS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Seattle,WA
Posts: 162
Just an FYI about servers with modded fps.

I ran a test over the weekend for the second time and the results were the same.

Check here for the results of the test.

http://www.lucasforums.com/showthrea...hreadid=137716


LoRdNaTaS is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-12-2004, 11:18 AM   #9
evilghost
Lurker
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1
Skwid'sTacoHouse-FPSsetto60 - 65.206.92.120:3658
RNGD.net_NoBots_HiFPS_FFoff - 69.31.6.105:3658
HOTHFOREVER(tps40) - 62.99.139.182:3658
~\\~[40fps][SNU]~\\~ - 66.193.14.29

Setting up a dedicated server was an act of god. 20 TPS is absolutely horrid. 40tps was the best compromise, affording decently smooth graphics and still being able to enter a vehicle.

The CPU is a bit starved, but I'm running the process in real-time. Please let me know if you get any lagging.
evilghost is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > SWBattlefront.net (SWBF I & II) > Star Wars Battlefront > Server Administration > List of non-fps capped servers

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:04 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.