lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Hi... is Rage2.efx "hard-coded"
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 04-01-2005, 04:19 AM   #1
VonCrappre
Rookie
 
VonCrappre's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: NEIN!
Posts: 57
Hi... is Rage2.efx "hard-coded"

I can't seem to get rid of that stupid red flashy "caustic" covering.
I've tried editing the efx file (I know full well how to) and when I get it into the mod, its still the same old annoying thing.
Does anyone know how to get rid of it?


That's right, VonCrappre.
VonCrappre is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-01-2005, 01:48 PM   #2
razorace
Impressive, Terran!
 
razorace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9,161
are you sure that you're modified version is actually replacing the original version? Remember that the .pk3 has to be in lower alphanumberic number than the asset.pk3s.


---Jedi Guardian of the Newbie Questions
---Masters of the Force Team Leader / Creator
---Open Jedi Project Lead Moderator / Co-Founder
razorace is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-01-2005, 02:17 PM   #3
VonCrappre
Rookie
 
VonCrappre's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: NEIN!
Posts: 57
ok. thank you razorace, I'll give that a shot.


That's right, VonCrappre.
VonCrappre is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-01-2005, 03:11 PM   #4
VonCrappre
Rookie
 
VonCrappre's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: NEIN!
Posts: 57
no luck. I still can't get rid of it, even with an empty efx file of all things it still won't go away. I'm pretty desperate now, but I don't want to replace the originals in the base pk3's. I've tried resizeing the effects, changing them, blacking them, switching them, changeing the timing, but none of them work.
do you have any ideas?


That's right, VonCrappre.
VonCrappre is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-02-2005, 12:40 AM   #5
razorace
Impressive, Terran!
 
razorace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9,161
oh wait. Isn't that effect a shader instead of an actual effect? You probably just need to change the shader.


---Jedi Guardian of the Newbie Questions
---Masters of the Force Team Leader / Creator
---Open Jedi Project Lead Moderator / Co-Founder
razorace is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-02-2005, 01:51 AM   #6
VonCrappre
Rookie
 
VonCrappre's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: NEIN!
Posts: 57
alright, I'll look into that instead... would it be in the "effects.shader" or "common"? anyhow, its probably got a part in a bunch of different shader files. I guess. what do you think?


That's right, VonCrappre.
VonCrappre is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-02-2005, 02:33 AM   #7
VonCrappre
Rookie
 
VonCrappre's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: NEIN!
Posts: 57
OK! I found out everything! I went searching in the shaders and found what I needed. Thanks Razorace for reminding me about that shader file route again.


That's right, VonCrappre.
VonCrappre is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-02-2005, 01:40 PM   #8
razorace
Impressive, Terran!
 
razorace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9,161
you're welcome.


---Jedi Guardian of the Newbie Questions
---Masters of the Force Team Leader / Creator
---Open Jedi Project Lead Moderator / Co-Founder
razorace is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Editing Central > General Editing > Hi... is Rage2.efx "hard-coded"

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:03 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.