lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Umm...GameSpy...CD Key Not Authorized?
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 09-30-2004, 04:56 PM   #1
PR-0927
Formerly Majin Revan
 
PR-0927's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: California
Posts: 1,468
Current Game: BF3
Umm...GameSpy...CD Key Not Authorized?

Yeah, I was trying to play on MP online, and it said that the CD Key wasn't authorized...yet, I only installed it twice, on the same computer, on the same hard drive, and I deleted everything off this hard drive before reinstalling...reformated actually.

HELP!!





- Former Star Wars: Jedi Knight: Jedi Academy, Star Wars: Battlefront, and Star Wars: Battlefront II modder. Used to go by the name "Majin Revan."
PR-0927 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-30-2004, 06:42 PM   #2
PR-0927
Formerly Majin Revan
 
PR-0927's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: California
Posts: 1,468
Current Game: BF3
PLEASE HELP!! I AM DESPERATE TO KNOW WHY THIS IS HAPPENING!!

THANK YOU.





- Former Star Wars: Jedi Knight: Jedi Academy, Star Wars: Battlefront, and Star Wars: Battlefront II modder. Used to go by the name "Majin Revan."
PR-0927 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-01-2004, 01:52 AM   #3
TĘKER
Lurker
 
TĘKER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 8
Check your CD key again i had the same prob. iwas puttin a "l" in when i should have put a "1" its in your registry file.Hope that works for ya!!
TĘKER is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-01-2004, 07:42 AM   #4
PR-0927
Formerly Majin Revan
 
PR-0927's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: California
Posts: 1,468
Current Game: BF3
O.K., where the hell are the registries? I wanna check it. I dunno, I sorta glanced at the CD Key and I'm not sure if I got it right.

Also, how do I change it to 80 FPS? I could only get up to 30 FPS in the option menus.





- Former Star Wars: Jedi Knight: Jedi Academy, Star Wars: Battlefront, and Star Wars: Battlefront II modder. Used to go by the name "Majin Revan."
PR-0927 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-01-2004, 11:45 AM   #5
PR-0927
Formerly Majin Revan
 
PR-0927's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: California
Posts: 1,468
Current Game: BF3
Heh...PLEASE TELL ME WHERE THE REGISTRY FILES ARE!!

Thank you.





- Former Star Wars: Jedi Knight: Jedi Academy, Star Wars: Battlefront, and Star Wars: Battlefront II modder. Used to go by the name "Majin Revan."
PR-0927 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-01-2004, 12:29 PM   #6
PR-0927
Formerly Majin Revan
 
PR-0927's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: California
Posts: 1,468
Current Game: BF3
Guess what, more problems!! I tried to play online, and you know already that it didn;t work, so I ran the cdkey.exe file, and it worked!! But, now if I try to join a server, it doesn't work at all!! It gives me the same damn error!! I think LucasArts needs to come out with a patch to fix this!! I don't care what they do, but I wanna play online!!





- Former Star Wars: Jedi Knight: Jedi Academy, Star Wars: Battlefront, and Star Wars: Battlefront II modder. Used to go by the name "Majin Revan."
PR-0927 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-01-2004, 12:43 PM   #7
Iceman_IX
Junior Member
 
Iceman_IX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Gainesville, FL
Posts: 296
If you'd do a little searching yourself, the registry keys are easy to find.

HKLM\Software\LucasArts\Star Wars battlefront\1.0

Check the CDkey entry.

Chances are you just entered your key incorrectly. No one else seems to have this problem. And we need a patch for a lot more than minor problems that 1 or 2 people seem to be having.


XFire id: icemanix
NF7 | MBarton 2500 200x12.5 @1.875v
OCZ3200EL 2x256+512 @11-3-3-2
eVGA 6800GT | SB Live 5.1
Antec 430 | SLK-900 @53C load
Iiyama E431S | XDreamerII @30C
3dMark05: 4111
nForcersHQ
Iceman_IX is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-01-2004, 12:48 PM   #8
PR-0927
Formerly Majin Revan
 
PR-0927's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: California
Posts: 1,468
Current Game: BF3
Umm...what the hell is HKLM?!?! I still can't find this!! And many people have this error!!





- Former Star Wars: Jedi Knight: Jedi Academy, Star Wars: Battlefront, and Star Wars: Battlefront II modder. Used to go by the name "Majin Revan."
PR-0927 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-01-2004, 01:25 PM   #9
Iceman_IX
Junior Member
 
Iceman_IX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Gainesville, FL
Posts: 296
Come on... HKey_Local_Machine.

Hit Start, Run, type regedit.exe hit enter. Click on HKey_Local_Machine. Navigate the tree. "CDkey" key on the right pane. ...it has your cdkey in the data column.


XFire id: icemanix
NF7 | MBarton 2500 200x12.5 @1.875v
OCZ3200EL 2x256+512 @11-3-3-2
eVGA 6800GT | SB Live 5.1
Antec 430 | SLK-900 @53C load
Iiyama E431S | XDreamerII @30C
3dMark05: 4111
nForcersHQ
Iceman_IX is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-01-2004, 01:56 PM   #10
PR-0927
Formerly Majin Revan
 
PR-0927's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: California
Posts: 1,468
Current Game: BF3
O.K., thanks!! Umm, although my CD Key was entered right.





- Former Star Wars: Jedi Knight: Jedi Academy, Star Wars: Battlefront, and Star Wars: Battlefront II modder. Used to go by the name "Majin Revan."
PR-0927 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-01-2004, 02:01 PM   #11
PR-0927
Formerly Majin Revan
 
PR-0927's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: California
Posts: 1,468
Current Game: BF3
Nope, same error!! No typos either.





- Former Star Wars: Jedi Knight: Jedi Academy, Star Wars: Battlefront, and Star Wars: Battlefront II modder. Used to go by the name "Majin Revan."
PR-0927 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-04-2004, 07:35 PM   #12
wwaaves
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 18
So you don't know where the registry is? but you've done skinning and map editing? lmao
wwaaves is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-15-2004, 06:43 AM   #13
PR-0927
Formerly Majin Revan
 
PR-0927's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: California
Posts: 1,468
Current Game: BF3
Nope, never knew it. I did figure it out that day...I think. The CD Key had a "1" in it, and I had typed an "I," or something.

I have modelled, skinned, modded, etc. I have never edited a map though, nor have I ever mapped. I'd like to map for SWBF when the SDK comes out.





- Former Star Wars: Jedi Knight: Jedi Academy, Star Wars: Battlefront, and Star Wars: Battlefront II modder. Used to go by the name "Majin Revan."
PR-0927 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-12-2005, 09:32 PM   #14
mapsnmad
Lurker
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 7
No typos here

I triple-checked my CD key against the registry info you described [thanks for that]. My CD key is clearly printed in lower-case letters and numbers, and I see that there is no error at all.

Oh, and I have Disk 1 in the CD drive. It's not like the software couldn't check to be sure I paid for it; the CD is there.

The game lets me play single player, and it lets me into some servers. It abruptly stopped letting me into a few servers [the ones I got best ping on] in the middle of a gaming session. I joined, I played, and then, sometime during the evening, the server switched maps, and disconnected me. I tried to reconnect, and got this message. Haven't been able to connect to those servers since.

I need help! MP was really the thing I wanted to do most with this game.

Last edited by mapsnmad; 08-12-2005 at 09:33 PM. Reason: Added a line.
mapsnmad is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-13-2005, 12:18 AM   #15
mapsnmad
Lurker
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 7
Found troubleshooting steps; they don't work

A tech support page says we should "Open My Computer and navigate to the Install folder inside the Battlefront folder on your harddrive. The default install location is:

C:\Program Files\LucasArts\Star Wars Battlefront\Install

Double-click the CDKey.exe file and reenter your CD Key printed on the sticker on the back of your Battlefront CD Jewel case

...

Now try joining a multiplayer game once more to see if the problem has been corrected."

I did this. No change. They also suggest, on the same page, that a used copy cannot be expected to work online, because the previous owner may have registered it [which I think is a silly excuse, but it doesn't matter in this case, because mine was a sealed, new copy].
mapsnmad is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > SWBattlefront.net (SWBF I & II) > Star Wars Battlefront > Technical Help > Umm...GameSpy...CD Key Not Authorized?

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:15 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.