lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Problem with animations
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 07-24-2005, 11:47 AM   #1
riceplant
Junior Member
 
riceplant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 348
Problem with animations

Some of them just don't work. Some work fine, which is what I'm confused about. Specifically, none of the talkgestures work. I realise that they won't work on most skeletons, but I'm trying to use them on Jan. She should have the humanoid skeleton, and all the animations should work, right?
Code:
affect ( "Jan", /*@AFFECT_TYPE*/ FLUSH )
{
	set ( "SET_ANIM_BOTH", "BOTH_TALKGESTURE5" );
	set ( "SET_ANIM_HOLDTIME_BOTH", $5000$ );
}
riceplant is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-24-2005, 04:16 PM   #2
lassev
cryptoscripter
 
lassev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Finland
Posts: 1,087
I suppose the fact there ain't an animation called that in the gla explains the nonfunctionality somewhat.

Protocol droid seems to have BOTH_TALKGESTURE1, though.


Frozen by ICARUS
lassev is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-24-2005, 05:38 PM   #3
riceplant
Junior Member
 
riceplant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 348
Quote:
BOTH_GUARD_LOOKAROUND1, //# Cradling weapon and looking around
BOTH_GUARD_IDLE1, //# Cradling weapon and standing
BOTH_ALERT1, //# Startled by something while on guard
BOTH_GESTURE1, //# Generic gesture, non-specific
BOTH_GESTURE2, //# Generic gesture, non-specific
BOTH_GESTURE3, //# Generic gesture, non-specific
BOTH_WALK1TALKCOMM1, //# Talking into coom link while walking
BOTH_TALK1, //# Generic talk anim
BOTH_TALK2, //# Generic talk anim
BOTH_TALKCOMM1START, //# Start talking into a comm link
BOTH_TALKCOMM1, //# Talking into a comm link
BOTH_TALKCOMM1STOP, //# Stop talking into a comm link
BOTH_TALKGESTURE1, //# Generic talk anim
BOTH_TALKGESTURE2, //# Generic talk anim
BOTH_TALKGESTURE3, //# Generic talk anim
BOTH_TALKGESTURE4START, //# Beginning talk anim 4
BOTH_TALKGESTURE4, //# Talk gesture 4
BOTH_TALKGESTURE4STOP, //# Ending talk anim 4
BOTH_TALKGESTURE5START, //# Start hand on chin
BOTH_TALKGESTURE5, //# Hand on chin
BOTH_TALKGESTURE5STOP, //# Stop hand on chin
BOTH_TALKGESTURE6START, //# Starting Motions to self
BOTH_TALKGESTURE6, //# Pointing at self
BOTH_TALKGESTURE6STOP, //# Ending Motions to self
BOTH_TALKGESTURE7START, //# Start touches Kyle on shoulder
BOTH_TALKGESTURE7, //# Hold touches Kyle on shoulder
BOTH_TALKGESTURE7STOP, //# Ending touches Kyle on shoulder
BOTH_TALKGESTURE8START, //# Lando's chin hold
BOTH_TALKGESTURE8, //# Lando's chin hold
BOTH_TALKGESTURE8STOP, //# Lando's chin hold
BOTH_TALKGESTURE9, //# Same as gesture 2 but with the right hand
BOTH_TALKGESTURE10, //# Shoulder shrug
BOTH_TALKGESTURE11START, //# Arms folded across chest
BOTH_TALKGESTURE11STOP, //# Arms folded across chest
BOTH_TALKGESTURE12, //# Tavion taunting Kyle
BOTH_TALKGESTURE13START, //# Luke warning Kyle
BOTH_TALKGESTURE13, //# Luke warning Kyle
BOTH_TALKGESTURE13STOP, //# Luke warning Kyle
BOTH_TALKGESTURE14, //# Luke gesturing to Kyle
BOTH_TALKGESTURE15START, //# Desann taunting Kyle
BOTH_TALKGESTURE15, //# Desann taunting Kyle
BOTH_TALKGESTURE15STOP, //# Desann taunting Kyle
BOTH_TALKGESTURE16, //# Bartender gesture cin #15
BOTH_TALKGESTURE17, //# Bartender gesture cin #15
BOTH_TALKGESTURE18, //# Bartender gesture cin #15
BOTH_TALKGESTURE19START, //# Desann lifting his arm "Join me" (cin #34)
BOTH_TALKGESTURE19STOP, //# Desann lifting his arm "Join me" (cin #34)
BOTH_TALKGESTURE20START, //# Kyle lifting his arm "Join us" (cin #34)
BOTH_TALKGESTURE21, //# generic talk gesture from stand3
BOTH_TALKGESTURE22, //# generic talk gesture from stand3
BOTH_TALKGESTURE23, //# generic talk gesture from stand3
BOTH_PAUSE1START, //# Luke pauses to warn Kyle (cin #24) start
BOTH_PAUSE1STOP, //# Luke pauses to warn Kyle (cin #24) stop
Out of this block in anims.h, only BOTH_GESTURE1, BOTH_WALK1TALKCOMM1, BOTH_TALK1 and BOTH_TALKCOMM1 work. All of these animations appear in the game's cutscenes, so why do they not appear in the glas? If anims.h can't be used, where can I find a list of animation values, bearing in mind that these also appear in the drop-down in BehavEd.
riceplant is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-25-2005, 02:30 AM   #4
lassev
cryptoscripter
 
lassev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Finland
Posts: 1,087
Hmm..?

Is that block from the JO source? I don't have anymore JO editing tools installed, but my JA anims.h doesn't contain a block of text like that. And the comments seem to refer to JO, at least.


Frozen by ICARUS
lassev is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-25-2005, 03:20 AM   #5
riceplant
Junior Member
 
riceplant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 348
Yeah, that's from JO. I was hoping that they would still work, though, as BOTH_STAND5TOAIM (Kyle aiming at Desann) does, and that's definitely from JO. And I don't seem to have a JA anims.h, so was using the old one and hoping it would still work. I guess this means I can't use JO's animations in JA, huh? That sucks. JO had better anims, IMO.
riceplant is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-25-2005, 06:19 AM   #6
lassev
cryptoscripter
 
lassev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Finland
Posts: 1,087
It seems to me like Raven wanted to have some upper limit to the size of the main humanoid gla. With JA having many more fighting moves (with double sabers etc), they cut down the number of animations for cinematics in the main gla.

However, you should notice that in JA you can have one extra, map specific gla file that can contain as many as 50 animations. So, you aren't in quite as bad a situation as you probably thought. Browse through the original Raven glas to see if one of them might have interesting animations. Or make your own...

And get JA SDK instead of JO SDK, if you are mapping for JA. Works better that way, yes it does.

And anyway, there's no need to try to guess anything. Just use ModView to check the animations.


Frozen by ICARUS
lassev is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-25-2005, 08:26 AM   #7
riceplant
Junior Member
 
riceplant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 348
http://www.geocities.com/riceplnt/images/msg.JPG
I downloaded GTK Radiant 1.4, I don't know about SDKs, and making animations, while I'd love that freedom, sounds kind of complicated.
riceplant is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-11-2005, 11:38 AM   #8
riceplant
Junior Member
 
riceplant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 348
Sorry about the bump, but why is it limited to 50 anims? Surely I can use more, I simply have to type in the animation name manually as BehavEd anims.h only has up to cin_50.
riceplant is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-12-2005, 08:25 AM   #9
lassev
cryptoscripter
 
lassev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Finland
Posts: 1,087
Well, animations are listed in a special table. Of course you can type/edit the script in Notepad to try to access more animation. Who knows - it might work perfecly. However, 50 animations is a pretty high limit in the end, considering you can have 50 custom animations for each map of your campaign, not just 50 new animations for the whole packet.


Frozen by ICARUS
lassev is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-12-2005, 02:07 PM   #10
riceplant
Junior Member
 
riceplant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 348
OK, well, trying to use JO's _humanoid.gla as a level-specific gla produces results that are... interesting at best. Maybe it'll work better if I edit the animations.cfg?
riceplant is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-20-2005, 10:13 AM   #11
shukrallah
White Dragon
 
shukrallah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 3,250
Wait a second... check out Wudan's Dragon, it lets you create animations. Forget messing with JK2's GLA, it will just up your file size (there is no need to include such a big file for only a few of the animations!) www.mt-wudan.com (look around the forums for download links.

I noticed that while some animations are listed in JKA, Raven didn't import all of them from JK2.
shukrallah is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-20-2005, 10:55 AM   #12
riceplant
Junior Member
 
riceplant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 348
Yeah, I have dragon. Thing is, I'm not very good with it, and it seems a shame to waste dozens of perfectly good animations. Does anyone know what I would need to do to extract animations from JO's gla and place them in a JA level-specific one?
riceplant is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-21-2005, 05:23 PM   #13
shukrallah
White Dragon
 
shukrallah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 3,250
Hmm, somehow with dragon you can copy and paste animations, I think. If you load the JK2 GLA and copy the animations you can then paste them into a new GLA. Just remember, whatever you name your GLA is what you have to name your level (EX: Humaniod_imperialbase.gla = imperialbase.bsp) or something like that. Im not sure, but I think all of that should work.
shukrallah is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-23-2005, 03:32 PM   #14
CortoCG
 
CortoCG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Outer Heaven
Posts: 907
Just make sure you don't mix stuff like a JA model with a JK2 .gla file.



Dark Forces Mod: Modeler, animator, coder.

For more detail about my work visit my website
CortoCG is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-23-2005, 06:44 PM   #15
riceplant
Junior Member
 
riceplant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 348
No, loading a JO model w/ gla in dragon causes it to crash. It's such a pity, because I want JO's animations! I'm hopeless with dragon, though, so I'll never be able to re-create them. I can't even make my own animations, let alone recreate animations of Raven's quality.
riceplant is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-24-2005, 07:25 PM   #16
shukrallah
White Dragon
 
shukrallah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 3,250
Oh I forgot about that. Hmm... Someone else made a GLA Merge program. Im wondering if maybe it can seperate GLAs too?

If not, Dragon does take a bit of practice. You have to learn which bones do what, ect. Just play around with it a bit.
shukrallah is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Editing Central > JA Mapping > Problem with animations

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:45 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.