lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Does Darth Vader...
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 08-01-2001, 01:32 AM   #1
Lt. Horn
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 23
Question Does Darth Vader...

...recognize C-3P0 in the movies? I mean he did create him.
Lt. Horn is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-01-2001, 06:58 AM   #2
Keyan Farlander
Jedi Master
 
Join Date: May 1999
Posts: 6,989
Forum Veteran 10 year veteran! 
Post

Well, C-3PO did look different back then (he didn't have his cover). Plus, one 3PO unit looks pretty much like any other. So, I would say that no, he does not.
Keyan Farlander is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-01-2001, 12:43 PM   #3
Flying Beastie
Forum Mascot
 
Flying Beastie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,755
Post

I'll try this again since my comp just crashed.

In Star Wars Tales #5 (I think), there's a short story explaining ESB in light of the 3P0/Vader connection. It's actually a fairly good explanation.

Vader recognized Threepio, he just didn't acknowledge him because "Anakin Skywalker" was dead.

Quote:
"We'll have the droid scrapped."
"No."
"M'lord?"
"Give the droid to the wookiee. He cares for it."
------------------
It's like I always say: When the going gets tough, the tough . . . switch to artillery.

[This message has been edited by Flying Beastie (edited August 01, 2001).]
Flying Beastie is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-01-2001, 03:59 PM   #4
Lt. Horn
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 23
Post

Oh, ok that is interesting.
Lt. Horn is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-02-2001, 12:40 AM   #5
K_Kinnison
Grey Lensman
 
K_Kinnison's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Madison, WI, USA
Posts: 3,788
Forum Veteran Hot Topic Starter 10 year veteran! 
Post

actaully He DID reconize the droid

in the Scene where they freeze han, and Chewie goes nutz, Boba lifts up his blaster and Vader pushes it down. he might not admit it, but i have herd reports that boba herd a sniffle coming from that big black dude
K_Kinnison is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-02-2001, 04:49 PM   #6
Flying Beastie
Forum Mascot
 
Flying Beastie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,755
Yes, but Boba had much better aim than your average stormtrooper (a five-year-old with a squirt-gun has better aim than your average stormtrooper). He would've been able to hit Chewie without damaging the droid.

I think Vader stopped him because he (A) knew that the wookiee was, at that point, controllable, and (B) wasn't confident that one blaster shot would be enough to take down a really p*ssed off wookiee.

Quote:
"I'll shoot him."
"On stun! I'd rather have an angry wookiee than-- <small>What am I saying?</small> Full-power!"
--from an RPG

------------------
It's like I always say: When the going gets tough, the tough . . . switch to artillery.
Flying Beastie is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-02-2001, 06:02 PM   #7
Nute Gunray
This is Really Expensive
 
Nute Gunray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Alexandria VA
Posts: 9,119
Current Game: Forza Horizon
10 year veteran! 
I think the reason for why Vader stopped Fett will always be unknown. It has to do with him wanting Chewie and the Princess taken away aboard Executor. Why he wanted THAT I dont' know, but if Fett had shot Chewie then that couldn't have happened.
Nute Gunray is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-03-2001, 03:36 AM   #8
edlib
Close to the Edge
 
edlib's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Boston, MA., USA
Posts: 9,553
Current Game: DiRT 3; Forza 4
Hot Topic Starter 10 year veteran! Forum Veteran 
Lightbulb

Most likely Vader having the Princess and Chewie in his custody was a safty net of sorts in case Luke failed to take the bait at Cloud City. There is always the ransom factor to consider. The princess being situated as she was within the rebellion would be far too tempting a hostage for anyone to resist. Chewie was just a bonus. Vader must have known that Luke would have gone after them or would have surrendered himself for them.
That's the only thing I can figure anyway.
Or perhaps this was one of the events Lucas put in to show what Luke felt when he said "... there is still good left in him."
edlib is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-04-2001, 01:52 AM   #9
Admiral
Ruler of Valhalla
 
Admiral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Valhalla
Posts: 5,359
Roleplayer 
Post

I think that has more to do with it. I don't think Lucas planed on having Vader build 3po when ESB came out. Now it just is a good play.

------------------
"Dulce bellum inexpertis."
(Sweet is war to those who have never experinced it.) Roman Proverb
Admiral is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-07-2001, 06:16 AM   #10
Fondas
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Question

I've read somewhere that Vader never really met Threepio during the original trilogy...

Come to think of it, the only time they were in the same place were in Cloud City, where Threepio had been shot to pieces...
  you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-07-2001, 06:29 PM   #11
Flying Beastie
Forum Mascot
 
Flying Beastie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,755
Yes Fondas. That's the scene we're discussing. Try to keep up.



<small>j/k</small>

------------------
It's like I always say: When the going gets tough, the tough . . . switch to artillery.
Flying Beastie is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-07-2001, 08:48 PM   #12
aZnJedi588
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 43
Post

did Darth really care? C3-PO obviously didn't remember his past life...

------------------
"there is no bad guy, it depend's on who's side your on."
aZnJedi588 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-08-2001, 01:25 AM   #13
Admiral
Ruler of Valhalla
 
Admiral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Valhalla
Posts: 5,359
Roleplayer 
Post

3po has had his mind wipped for maintence in the past. that is why he doesn't reconize him.
Admiral is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-08-2001, 07:08 AM   #14
Fondas
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Arrow

Quote:
Originally posted by Admiral:
3po has had his mind wipped for maintence in the past. that is why he doesn't reconize him.
That would be a logical explanation, but I think that the memory wipe every six months is a concept od EU writters , i.e. Zahn/Stackpole.
Can it be considered canon ?
  you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-08-2001, 11:52 AM   #15
edlib
Close to the Edge
 
edlib's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Boston, MA., USA
Posts: 9,553
Current Game: DiRT 3; Forza 4
Hot Topic Starter 10 year veteran! Forum Veteran 
Post

I'm sure there will be a scene in one of the upcoming movies after Anakin becomes Vader that Obi-Wan and Yoda are forced to erase all memory of Skywalker references from the droids for safety's sake. This will take place around the time they split up the twins and go into hiding themselves. Otherwise there is the danger of one of them blurting out the truth of the Skywalker family secret at an inoppertune moment, and ruining the plans of the Jedis.

edlib is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-08-2001, 05:34 PM   #16
Admiral
Ruler of Valhalla
 
Admiral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Valhalla
Posts: 5,359
Roleplayer 
Post

My explanation could be considered canon. In ANH Owen tells Luke to take the droids to get their memories wipped, just after they bought them from the Jawas and Luke thinks they belong to somebody else.


You can then conclude that it might not be every six months but it does happen, and 3po is an old droid so most likely at one time or another before he met Luke is memory was wipped.

------------------
"Dulce bellum inexpertis."
(Sweet is war to those who have never experinced it.) Roman Proverb
Admiral is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-08-2001, 10:42 PM   #17
Flying Beastie
Forum Mascot
 
Flying Beastie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,755
Post

I'll agree that Threepio has probably been mem-wiped repeatedly, but I'm sticking to my belief that, throughout the movies, R2 knows far more than he lets on.

------------------
It's like I always say: When the going gets tough, the tough . . . switch to artillery.
Flying Beastie is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-09-2001, 02:25 AM   #18
edlib
Close to the Edge
 
edlib's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Boston, MA., USA
Posts: 9,553
Current Game: DiRT 3; Forza 4
Hot Topic Starter 10 year veteran! Forum Veteran 
Post

Hmmmm. I almost said that myself. I guess I'm not the only one who picked up on that.
edlib is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-09-2001, 02:33 AM   #19
Admiral
Ruler of Valhalla
 
Admiral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Valhalla
Posts: 5,359
Roleplayer 
Post

R2 can actually talk.
Admiral is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > XWingAlliance.net > 2. Star Wars > SW Movies > Does Darth Vader...

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:43 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.