lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: First Script: Not liking what I see
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 10-21-2005, 12:09 AM   #1
StaffSaberist
DECEPTION IS FINISHED! :D
 
StaffSaberist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: The United States of America... and damn proud of it!
Posts: 1,092
First Script: Not liking what I see

Where do I learn to script? KIDDING, DON'T FLAME ME!

I am using Kengo's tutorial to create simple scripting. My first cutscene is a scene that loads on start. It should simply enable, stay in one spot for 8000 milliseconds, and disable. I have:

Code:
//Generated by BehavEd

camera ( /*@CAMERA_COMMANDS*/ ENABLE );
camera ( /*@CAMERA_COMMANDS*/ MOVE, $tag( "cam1", ORIGIN)$, 0 );
camera ( /*@CAMERA_COMMANDS*/ PAN, $tag( "cam1", ORIGIN)$, < 0.000 0.000 0.000 >, 0 );
wait ( "8000" );
camera ( /*@CAMERA_COMMANDS*/ DISABLE );
My two problems:

1 - It's at a very loopy angle. It's almost on it's side.

2 - It never ends! Isn't that what disable should do?



Deception, the best SP level-set in the world, is done! Get it here!
"Query: What is it you wish, fat one?" - HK-47 at his best
I have begun modding TSL. Check it out here. and My Fanfic
StaffSaberist is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-21-2005, 04:30 AM   #2
lassev
cryptoscripter
 
lassev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Finland
Posts: 1,087
1. Your PAN is faulty. It should be using ANGLES, not ORIGIN.

2. You use wait("task") instead of wait(milliseconds). And since there is no task defined called "8000", the script will wait for the completion of a nonexistent task for all eternity - or at least until you quit the game.


Frozen by ICARUS
lassev is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-21-2005, 09:19 AM   #3
StaffSaberist
DECEPTION IS FINISHED! :D
 
StaffSaberist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: The United States of America... and damn proud of it!
Posts: 1,092
Okay, now it's better, but still not what I want. I fixed the angle of the camera, and the wait is, I suppose, 8000 milliseconds. Though that 8000 went by rather fast. Anyway, my camara did a complete 180. It's like this:

As of now, I have the info_playerstart, the camera, and a door in a line. The camera points at an info_null just above the playerstart.
X ___________<-__________O
Player_________Cam1_______Door

When the cutscene plays, the camera looks like this:

X______________->_________O
Player_________Cam1_______Door

Here is the code now:

Code:
//Generated by BehavEd

camera ( /*@CAMERA_COMMANDS*/ ENABLE );
camera ( /*@CAMERA_COMMANDS*/ MOVE, $tag( "cam1", ORIGIN)$, 0 );
camera ( /*@CAMERA_COMMANDS*/ PAN, $tag( "cin1", ANGLES)$, < 0.000 0.000 0.000 >, 0 );
wait ( $8000$ );
camera ( /*@CAMERA_COMMANDS*/ DISABLE );
What may be the problem now?



Deception, the best SP level-set in the world, is done! Get it here!
"Query: What is it you wish, fat one?" - HK-47 at his best
I have begun modding TSL. Check it out here. and My Fanfic
StaffSaberist is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-21-2005, 10:57 AM   #4
lassev
cryptoscripter
 
lassev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Finland
Posts: 1,087
Why did you change the PAN command to get the angles from "cin1" instead of the camera "cam1" you still had in the first, albeit otherwise faulty script? What is "cin1"?


Frozen by ICARUS
lassev is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-21-2005, 04:50 PM   #5
shukrallah
White Dragon
 
shukrallah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 3,250
Kengo uses "Cin1" as the scripts name in the tutorial. I'll bet you just confused the two and accidentally wrote "cin1" correct? Change it to cam1 and your script is fixed

Keep in mind info_player_starts don't show up in cutscenes
shukrallah is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-21-2005, 06:19 PM   #6
StaffSaberist
DECEPTION IS FINISHED! :D
 
StaffSaberist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: The United States of America... and damn proud of it!
Posts: 1,092
Oh, I know that. All the better for the cutscening I intend to do. Yes, I got it transposed. Because of this, I am surprised the darn thing worked at all. Anyhow, it worked perfectly. Thanx!



Deception, the best SP level-set in the world, is done! Get it here!
"Query: What is it you wish, fat one?" - HK-47 at his best
I have begun modding TSL. Check it out here. and My Fanfic
StaffSaberist is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Editing Central > JA Mapping > First Script: Not liking what I see

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:25 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.