lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Avoiding broken quests in Kotor 2 and solving some freezing issues
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 12-16-2004, 11:50 AM   #1
Darth333
Administraterror
 
Darth333's Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: In my secret dungeon...
Posts: 8,292
Lightbulb Avoiding broken quests in Kotor 2 and solving some freezing issues

Freezing issues

This does not concern all the freezing issues since they acan also have something to see with loading time. However, make sure that your main PC is the party leader when you save your game and go to another module. All the freezing issues I had were due to the fact that I was using another NCP as party leader. Loks like a script is missing here.


For Other freezing issues try cleaning the cache by loading three other games and then try to load Kotor again.

Broken quests

There seem to be several problems with scripts setting/checking for global/local variables that fire when you enter a module. I did not directly verified the files yet but all the symptoms are there. At some places, I got the feeling that some of the scripts that set some plot globals are fired when you enter some modules and not when the action is perfomed.

Here are some examples of broken quests:

Dantoine
spoiler:

I was on Dantoine and saved my game just when entering a module and before talking to Vrook and fighting him. I died during the fight and reloaded my game. Vrook never reappeared, even when exiting and re-entering the module and it was really a big turning point in the plot.


Nar Shadaa
spoiler:

Exact same thing happened on Nar Shadaa: I was suppose to meet "Visquis" ( in the "toxic" bar. I was playing as a Dark Side female sentinel. I saved my game just after I enterering in the area where you meet the Wookie if you are DS or Mira if you are LS. I met with the wookie. Until then, everything is fine. However, in the next sequence, I was transported to another module where Atton has to fight alone, he was ill equipeed and died. When I reloaded, the wookie never appeared. I got Mira instead and it was all messed up.


Peragus
spoiler:

From what I have seen, this also happened to someone else with HK-50 on Peragus. After reloading the game, hk-50 would never attack you. I have also seen similar problems at other places but I don't remember them all but one involved a quest with t3-m4


Korriban
spoiler:
Someone also mentionned a similar problem in the Tomb on Korriban when you enter the tomb with the "visions" and the door at the end would not open.


The above problems won't show up if you don't save/die at the wrong place at the wrong time...but when you happen to reload your game at one of those moments, it is really annoying as those affect major sequences in the main plot and you won't be able to finish the game.

How to deal with these problems

a. The solution I found is not to die or save before entering a module. Once you are in a module, you can also save safely after an event (examples: after the npc has spawned, after talking to the Wookie on Nar Shadaa but not before) but this rather annoying and not practical, especially for people who are not familiar with how plot advancement works .

b. Save often at different locations - I keep a rotation of 5 saves/planet and make sure they are not all in the same module.

- note: although I really hope Obsidian will fix this for the PC version, this issue will be fixable by modders - it is a matter of verifying some scripts and adding a few code lines here and there.

Last edited by Darth333; 01-06-2005 at 06:31 AM.
Darth333 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-18-2004, 09:43 PM   #2
bneezy
Junior Member
 
bneezy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Modesto, CA (USA)
Posts: 314
Thanks for the info. I've run into my fair share of broken quests. Although, I only keep a 10 slot rotation. But 5 per planet? Hmmm.... God knows we have the space.


---------------------
(bee-knee-zee)
bneezy is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-20-2004, 08:42 AM   #3
Darth333
Administraterror
 
Darth333's Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: In my secret dungeon...
Posts: 8,292
I know that is a bit much but I do this for a reason...We're gonna mod this game in less than two months, gotta get ready
Darth333 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-03-2005, 01:13 PM   #4
cork
Lurker
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2
I did exactly what you told me to (about 10 times) and my game keeps acting weird when t3 gets disabled on peragus. The screen goes black, but you appear to be in control of the exile, but everything goes black (you can press pause and scroll through the menu's normally. You can also save your game, load it again and find the exile in the spot t3 was standing when he got shot. Then you can start walking with the exile, but you can only enter the lift and when you do, yo get switched back to t3 who's still disbled). Does anybody have any suggestions cause I'm freaking out.
cork is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-04-2005, 05:40 AM   #5
cork
Lurker
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2
Already solved that problem.
cork is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-12-2005, 11:47 PM   #6
Seewolf
Lurker
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3
i dont know but i think here is another broken module

at narshadda after i fight against the wookie, i ran trough the Base and open the Door for the Jedi. Mira ran trough the door and meet the jedi master. I ran with my main char to the Arena to fight against viquis. Then the guards attack him after a small talk. then came the scenes in with keira talk to the dying wookie and my game get frozen after the talk. My Main Char stand in a room of the base at the ventilationcontrollconsole.

have someone a fix for the problem.
Seewolf is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-14-2005, 05:37 PM   #7
Drazin
Forumite
 
Drazin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: 2 weeks from everywhere
Posts: 664
I had the exact same problem once Seewolf.
I reloaded a previous save (When I entered the base after Mira opened the door.) it took 3 reloads before it actually made it past Kreia and the Wookie.
I am still not sure what went wrong, but on the last try I saved at the top of the ramp leading to the arena. Perhaps that save fixed my issue. Only happened once out of 6 play throughs.

Drazin is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-17-2005, 04:58 AM   #8
Seewolf
Lurker
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3
can you write what exactly you have done
Seewolf is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-20-2005, 07:28 AM   #9
Seewolf
Lurker
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3
a small question
What happened after the cut scene with kaira und hanhar. Did Atton do something?
i used the Warp cheat to go to annother module/lvl and wanted to travel back with the epon hawk to nar shada. But in the Cockpit i only saw the dead body of atton.
Seewolf is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-01-2005, 08:58 AM   #10
Duiker
Lurker
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 0
Cork, how did you solve the problem with T3 in Peragus? I have exactly the same problem!
Duiker is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-01-2005, 09:45 AM   #11
Seewolf
Lurker
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3
Duiker i think
its easier to start a new game
Seewolf is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-20-2005, 09:40 AM   #12
The Hidden One
Junior Member
 
The Hidden One's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Hiding
Posts: 350
For the tomb on korriban, to get out you have to a real strong affinity with the light or dark. or you'll just have to reload from the autosave from when you first landed on korriba.

Hope that helps
The Hidden One is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-20-2005, 09:45 AM   #13
The Hidden One
Junior Member
 
The Hidden One's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Hiding
Posts: 350
Duiker about your question...
spoiler:
Atton fights the Twin Suns and has to win before you can advance. one way to win is to lay the whole floor with mines before you go to the Jek'Jek tar. Or you can equip him with your best armor before you leave and hope for the best.
The Hidden One is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-21-2005, 08:04 PM   #14
DarthHenson
Lurker
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Where you dont
Posts: 1
Should Atton be doing this?

I'm new to the boards, maybe because I havent had a problem with anything lucas since Anakin's acting skills in episode II! But this is just "Pure Pazak," as Atton would say!

I'm playing Knights of the Old Republic II The Sith Lords on xbox, at least 5 hours into the game and upto the part in Peragus where Atton t3 and I get back onto the Ebon Hawk. After my Jedi Guardian wastes all the sith on the ship the cutscene loads where Atton says something like, "Hang on guys, im gettin ya out of here!" And he never does. He just sits there typing on the keys the same way over and over while the music loops.

Is this one of those, "Broken Quests or Freezing issues," like the post says? If so, how do I fix it?
DarthHenson is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-04-2005, 09:10 PM   #15
VHKnight1
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 3
hey duiker and cork did you fix that problem with the t3, b/c i have the same problem. i even tried to start a new game, and i didn't save all the way up to that point, and it still did it. can some one help?
VHKnight1 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-05-2005, 11:33 AM   #16
Aidy
Rookie
 
Aidy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 21
I find it very hard to believe that Obsidien would releash such a shoddy game with so much missing. And the x-box version will no doubt stay that way...I have half a mind to go to their offices with some wolverines, let the ****ers loose in the buliding and mace any bastard who tries to get past me to freedom. Who's with me???
Aidy is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-05-2005, 11:37 AM   #17
stingerhs
Follow the Wolves
 
stingerhs's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: May 2004
Location: between my ears
Posts: 4,632
Current Game: Dead Space
Forum Veteran Roleplayer LFN Staff Member Helpful! 
^^^^
just so you know, thats not likely to solve anything. if you need more info as to why the bugs are in the game, consult the thread i have posted below.

the link: http://www.lucasforums.com/showthrea...hreadid=148337


See the struggle of the faithless lot as they negate their time
How low to sink to the depths of their frame of mind

stingerhs is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-05-2005, 11:44 AM   #18
Aidy
Rookie
 
Aidy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 21
Maybe, maybe not...but it'll give 'em something to think about, and maybe next time they wont be in such a god damn hurry to sell ME inferior products.
Aidy is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-05-2005, 12:06 PM   #19
stingerhs
Follow the Wolves
 
stingerhs's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: May 2004
Location: between my ears
Posts: 4,632
Current Game: Dead Space
Forum Veteran Roleplayer LFN Staff Member Helpful! 
keep in mind that is wasn't entirely OE's fault. just read the thread link i posted, and you should understand. if not, there is usually nothing to gain at these forums by trying to start some sort of insurrection of sorts.

generally, its accepted that discussion is fine and dandy. but calling for violence or boycotts is likely going to get you a deaf ear. and i say this not as an attack, but because thats what has happened in the past. trust me, you are not the first person to complain about the game's incompleteness.


See the struggle of the faithless lot as they negate their time
How low to sink to the depths of their frame of mind

stingerhs is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-06-2005, 09:26 AM   #20
Aidy
Rookie
 
Aidy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 21
well, to be totally honest with you Guv' I wasnt actually thinking of doing the whole assualt with rabid mammels plan anyway. I was just letting of steam. I really enjoyed the game...not as much as kotor but still I enjoyed it...however how much cooler would the game have been if it was complete? You also cant argue that the x-box users really got the ****ty end of the stick. And that whilst p.c. users will have patches and mods, we (x-box users) have a game that is not complete...end of story. Venting my spleen is all that I can do...I am a broken shell of a man. I was speaking out of frustration. I have no agenda to rock ze tribant.


Who do you trust? HUBBA! HUBBA! HUBBA! MONEY! MONEY! MONEY! Who do you trust?
Aidy is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-04-2006, 11:01 AM   #21
Darth Manus
Rookie
 
Darth Manus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Battlecruiser ESS Elessar
Posts: 191
Well, there was one time my entire inventory disappeared. After I noticed it, I just replaced the items I could remember via a saved game editor (KSE), but every time I tried to get off the Ebon Hawk on Dantooine, the game crashed. It never happened again, and I never found out what triggered it, but it ruined the game, so I had to start over.


One thing that fools will never understand is that only a weakling lets the darkness control him. A mix of light and darkness is a powerful thing. Volatile, yes, but also unexpected, and thus even more dangerous.
Darth Manus is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-04-2006, 10:20 PM   #22
RedHawke
Shadow Lord Of The Sith™
 
RedHawke's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Stormreach CA.
Posts: 9,184
Current Game: DDO, Stormreach
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darth Manus
Well, there was one time my entire inventory disappeared. After I noticed it, I just replaced the items I could remember via a saved game editor (KSE), but every time I tried to get off the Ebon Hawk on Dantooine, the game crashed. It never happened again, and I never found out what triggered it, but it ruined the game, so I had to start over.
From what tk102 says you cannot add items to an Xbox save with KSE you can only change stack sizes of items you already have. If you are talking about the PC verson of the game you have the wrong forum, this one is for the XBox.


"Beware the form-fitting black armor-clad Drow hottie with twin Mineral II Greensteel Khopeshes!"
"Liella d'Orien says, '"You're the fool, Devil. -- Witness the power of this fully ARMED and OPERATIONAL Titan!"'"
----------------------------------------------------------------------
RedHawke is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Trouble Shooting > Ebon Hawk's Machine Room > Avoiding broken quests in Kotor 2 and solving some freezing issues

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:36 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.