lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: failure to load (non modded)
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 09-13-2006, 10:13 PM   #1
Rust_Lord
Rookie
 
Rust_Lord's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 171
failure to load (non modded)

Hi guys
I got my laptop back with a new HDD put in after the old one (ripe old age of 1) died. I installed EaW and obviously havent put any mods on. When I go to run it, it does nothing. It will not load; won't even go to the launch menu. I have reinstalled it and still nothing. I have attempted to run it in safe mode and it seems to load but obviously, since no drivers get loaded in safe mode it can't actually get into the game.

I have not had any problems with EaW at all before and nothing else is giving me dramas since the new HDD has gone in...

Any ideas, other than a re-format?

Cheers
Rust_Lord is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-14-2006, 02:00 PM   #2
DarthMaulUK
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Have you tried other games first? Is yr drive all wired up correctly?

DMUK
  you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-14-2006, 11:20 PM   #3
Rust_Lord
Rookie
 
Rust_Lord's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 171
Yeah everything else works fine. I am running Kaspersy anti-virus but I dont think that is an issue because it is not an issue of getting online or anything; i double click the short cut on the desktop and it does nothing. Drivers and direct X are both fine but it doesnt want to run. I will prolly have to refortmat which is a shame because it took days to reinstall and setup everything again.
Rust_Lord is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-15-2006, 01:08 AM   #4
DarthMaulUK
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
You wont need a re-format. Please post your dxdiag - Remember as well to ensure that your direct x is totally bang up to date (grab it from the EaW disc to start, then download the new one)
  you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-18-2006, 07:55 PM   #5
Rust_Lord
Rookie
 
Rust_Lord's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 171
Yeah all that is cool...my DX version is 9.0c. The safedisk launch analysis wont work because it just doesnt run. I tried something tricky though and I used a 1.03 no cd crack and it launches from that application but the game plays as 1.05. Bizaare.
Rust_Lord is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Empire At War > EaW General Discussion > Tech Centre > failure to load (non modded)

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:07 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.