lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: root.xsi ?'s
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 07-18-2002, 11:27 PM   #1
Kvetch
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 6
root.xsi ?'s

Hi, I am working on my first character model. I don't have any problems doing the modeling but I don't understand where to get the root.xsi file and how to import it into my modeling program. I am using 3DStudio Max and have read "Guide to getting a model in to JediKnight 2 by Tim 'spacemonkey' Appleby" and a few others. It seems that the root.xsi file has the correct bones information. Is this right? Once I have the model made I use the root.xsi skeleton for the model, then weight the bones, then map it. I used the m3d import/ script and can import the character models but it doe not have any skeletonal system.

What programs(scripts) read the xsi file format. How do you export out to the xsi format?
Where can you get assimilate carcass compiler program?
Thanks
Kvetch
Kvetch is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-18-2002, 11:52 PM   #2
Darth Vigrid
 
Darth Vigrid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 188
You gave to download the JK2 Editing tools. It includes a xsi importer/exporter plugin for 3ds max and the assimilate program.

I think http://jk2files.net/ has them.
Darth Vigrid is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-18-2002, 11:54 PM   #3
Darth Vigrid
 
Darth Vigrid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 188
Here's the correct link http://jk2files.com/
Darth Vigrid is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-19-2002, 01:27 AM   #4
Kvetch
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 6
Thanks!!!

-kvetch
Kvetch is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-19-2002, 02:41 AM   #5
Kvetch
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 6
Why do the models import in with the another torso and head underneath the main meshes. It seems the highest LOD face is the lower one is this correct?

Also why is the skeleton in the sitting down position?

thanks
-kvetch
Kvetch is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-16-2007, 04:10 AM   #6
chuggi
Lurker
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kvetch
.... I used the m3d import/ script and can import the character models but it doe not have any skeletonal system...
Hey just wondering where I can find this m3d import script for max 8.0? Thanks.
chuggi is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-30-2007, 09:54 AM   #7
Nailrabbit
Lurker
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 4
@chuggi: I believe you can find it at the bottom of this page here, as part of the downloadable script package.
Nailrabbit is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-01-2007, 06:43 PM   #8
Psyk0Sith
3D Tech Support
 
Psyk0Sith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Adanac
Posts: 2,072
Veteran Modder Helpful! 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kvetch
Why do the models import in with the another torso and head underneath the main meshes. It seems the highest LOD face is the lower one is this correct?

Also why is the skeleton in the sitting down position?

thanks
-kvetch
-Yes the lower one is the correct one.

-To properly import you need to uncheck the animation box in the XSI import dialog. At least from what i remember.

Psyk0Sith is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Editing Central > General Editing > root.xsi ?'s

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:56 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.