lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Menu editing
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 10-15-2007, 10:06 PM   #1
jedispy
 
jedispy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Left side of the coin
Posts: 828
Current Game: Metroid Prime 2
Menu editing

Real simple question, hopefully there's a simple answer.
What tools are used for editing the menu system in Jedi Academy? In our mod we want to come up with all new menus based on the current menu system. However in my research I can't seem to find exactly what tools are used for this.

Any help is greatly appreciated.


Jedispy - SOTE Mod Administrator, server/technical administrator, mod author, forum admin/moderator, web administrator, programmer.
Click to read the latest SOTE MOD news
jedispy is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-16-2007, 01:24 PM   #2
Thor the Bassis
Rookie
 
Thor the Bassis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: England
Posts: 157
You can use notepad. The .menu file just has a list of icons and what they do and then a (x,y) coordinate of where they are on the page. I dont know if there are any specific menu editors?


Sometimes in life you're the pigeon. Other times you're the statue.
Thor the Bassis is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-05-2007, 02:05 PM   #3
NumberWan
Rookie
 
NumberWan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Moscow, RF
Posts: 25
I used the notepad to change it completely. All menu files (except for pictures and so on) are located in UI folder (in pk3).
One of the things - you usually can find smth like this there:
itemDef
{
name button_glow
group none
style WINDOW_STYLE_SHADER
rect 118 295 85 26
background "gfx/menus/menu_buttonback" forecolor 1 1 1 1
visible 0
decoration
}

See " rect 118 295 85 26" ? That's the coordinates (118 295), and the size (85 26) of a picture used for certain element of the menu. We all know, that each picture in JA should be in power of 2, e.g. 1024x256 or 512x512, or 32x512 and so on. For this reason the two last numbers (like 85 and 26) are added, so that the picture looked better in the menu.

There're other things that U should keep in mind though (text, font, its size, color, etc.)
NumberWan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-05-2007, 07:07 PM   #4
jedispy
 
jedispy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Left side of the coin
Posts: 828
Current Game: Metroid Prime 2
Great explanation. Thanks


Jedispy - SOTE Mod Administrator, server/technical administrator, mod author, forum admin/moderator, web administrator, programmer.
Click to read the latest SOTE MOD news
jedispy is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Editing Central > General Editing > Menu editing

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:32 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.