lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Need help with direct3d
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 03-25-2008, 06:19 PM   #1
pngnman
Lurker
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 9
Need help with direct3d

Ugh. Im trying to play my gavorite game ever (psychonauts) and this messgae pops up right before it starts that says:

The game was unabl to create the Direct3D device.
Please to ensure your video drivers are installed properly.

Can someone on here please tell me what I need to do to play psychonauts agin. I signed up to this community just so I could ask this question.

Whoops, I put this in the wrong place. Like I said, I'm new here. Could a moderator move this please?
pngnman is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-25-2008, 08:51 PM   #2
Jove
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by pngnman
Ugh. Im trying to play my gavorite game ever (psychonauts) and this messgae pops up right before it starts that says:

The game was unabl to create the Direct3D device.
Please to ensure your video drivers are installed properly.

Can someone on here please tell me what I need to do to play psychonauts agin. I signed up to this community just so I could ask this question.

Whoops, I put this in the wrong place. Like I said, I'm new here. Could a moderator move this please?
Were you able to play Psychonauts on this machine before? If so you made need to re-install your video drivers, but that's tricky and could leave your system without video.

Here's some of the standard stuff that's a little safer to try, but anything you do to Windows could leave the system unusable. Be warned.

If on WinXP be at Service Pack 2. If on Vista, configure Psychonauts to run in a WinXP SP2 environment.

Upgrade to the latest drivers for your video and sound cards.

Upgrade to latest version of DirectX.

Run Scandisk a few times, then defragment the hard drive.
Jove is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-26-2008, 05:09 PM   #3
pngnman
Lurker
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 9
Thanks, I'll try that. I hope it works!
pngnman is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-27-2008, 12:44 AM   #4
Jove
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by pngnman
Thanks, I'll try that. I hope it works!
Let us know what you try and how it works out, please.

Don't forget to patch Psychonauts to the latest version.
http://www.psychonauts.com/psychic.htm

Good luck.
Jove is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-27-2008, 04:20 PM   #5
pngnman
Lurker
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 9
Well, I tried to get the latest version of my video card (radeon X300) but right as the download was a bout to finish there was some erroe so it quit. Then, I tried to get the service pack and that also didn't work. I'll get the patch and see if anything happens. By the way, I don't know if this makes a difference, but I used GameTap to get my version of psychonauts...
pngnman is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-27-2008, 09:47 PM   #6
Jove
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by pngnman
Well, I tried to get the latest version of my video card (radeon X300) but right as the download was a bout to finish there was some erroe so it quit. Then, I tried to get the service pack and that also didn't work. I'll get the patch and see if anything happens. By the way, I don't know if this makes a difference, but I used GameTap to get my version of psychonauts...
Get in touch with Gametap and see what they say.
Jove is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-28-2008, 09:00 PM   #7
pngnman
Lurker
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 9
Alright, its all good. I bought psychonuats on ebay for 3 bucks! It should work now.
pngnman is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-28-2008, 10:55 PM   #8
Jove
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by pngnman
Alright, its all good. I bought psychonuats on ebay for 3 bucks! It should work now.
I hope so, but it sounds like your system may be having other troubles than just GameTap. Good luck and let us know how it goes.
Jove is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-05-2008, 08:08 AM   #9
martmeister
Veteran
 
martmeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Land of Confusion
Posts: 959
Current Game: FO3, G/2, DA, CODMF2
or maybe it's insulted that you only paid $3 for it. Tsk, tsk. Everybody KNOWS the high life of Psychonauts retail was the $9.99 Best Buy rack. Sheesh.


<No way you can read this. My handwriting's illegible>
martmeister is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-06-2008, 01:50 PM   #10
pngnman
Lurker
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 9
Alright, it worked.
pngnman is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Psychonauts Discussion at Razputin's Domain > Razputin's Domain Forums > Whispering Rock Lakeside Chat > Need help with direct3d

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:28 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.