lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Creatures in MP
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 09-29-2003, 12:57 AM   #1
KevinCoyle
 
KevinCoyle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 223
Creatures in MP

I read somewhere that it's now possible with Jedi academy to put
rancors or wampas in multiplayer maps as obstacles in the map. Anyone know any more about this?
KevinCoyle is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-29-2003, 12:58 AM   #2
mariners2001
 
mariners2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Washington
Posts: 674
hmm....obstacles or npcs?


Skin Projects: (click on the links provided to download the files or view the current progress)
Emperor Palpatine: Completed
Jerec: Completed
Raas Avlow: Completed, but being redone
Mara Jade: Completed, but being redone which is nearly complete, New Mara WIP
Anakin Skywalker: Completed
Count Dooku: Done, not released
Ibtisam (Mon Calamari model) normal and rogue flight suit: Pending release
Talon Karrde: Completed
Rock Fisto (Kit Fisto model): Never released

E-mail me if you'd like to see or try one of these skins that I've not yet released.
Also, if you have an idea for a skin for me to make (Star Wars based preferably), please e-mail me with that idea and I'll take it under consideration for a future project.
mariners2001 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-29-2003, 02:28 AM   #3
Lil Killa
lunatic
 
Lil Killa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Pants
Posts: 1,502
Supposidly your able to take something like a rancor for example, and build a map and place the ramcor infront of a door and the rancor will only let u enter if u enter the correct pw.

I think this is only for Siege mode though.


EDIT: This belongs in the JA mapping section...

Reporting

Lil Killa is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-30-2003, 11:32 AM   #4
RenikDelan
 
RenikDelan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 102
While we are on the subject (but lets not neglect the original one), are pwords going to be available for all forms of MP maps in JA? Or just seige?
RenikDelan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-30-2003, 02:17 PM   #5
Mr. Chopper
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 139
I would think they'd work in all MP gametypes, since scripting is now allowed in MP. But what do I know.
Mr. Chopper is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-01-2003, 03:33 AM   #6
Neverhoodian
If I may make a point...
 
Neverhoodian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: The Sohma house
Posts: 1,293
spoiler:
Well, there are rancors in two out of the three Siege maps and a wampa in the Hoth one, so it's safe to assume that creatures can be put into the multiplayer game, though they may be limited to just Siege mode.
Neverhoodian is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-03-2003, 05:12 PM   #7
superdude201
 
superdude201's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: England
Posts: 465
well you can play seige maps as a ffa and all the swoop bikes and animals are stillthere as far as i know so it will work :P (i think )
superdude201 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-03-2003, 05:56 PM   #8
GothiX
Ocean Soul
 
GothiX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Just a journey away
Posts: 1,906
For those of you who cared to read my thread on setting up GTK for JA, they are under the entities in MP, and can even be used in duel maps (Though I'd hate to see them used in duel maps, it'd unbalance gameplay.)


GothiX is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-03-2003, 07:50 PM   #9
reaper1576
 
reaper1576's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 448
probebly they need icarus II scripts to work corectly


reaper1576 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-04-2003, 07:15 AM   #10
GothiX
Ocean Soul
 
GothiX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Just a journey away
Posts: 1,906
Not at all. They spawn with default AI.


GothiX is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-06-2003, 11:28 PM   #11
TPM_Montross
Rookie
 
TPM_Montross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Sunrunner
Posts: 99
Respawning

Ya, i know how to do npcs and vehicles but do anybody know how to make em respawn?????????????

+ =


"I'm worth more alive"

"You're worth enough, dead"
-Montross

Last edited by TPM_Montross; 10-24-2003 at 03:04 PM.
TPM_Montross is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-07-2003, 08:26 PM   #12
Lil Killa
lunatic
 
Lil Killa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Pants
Posts: 1,502
Quote:
Originally posted by WadeV1589
Make an entity such as an info_player_start, press N
select the "classname" key and change the value from info_player_start to NPC_Vehicle, then add all the following schtuff
Code:
"delay" "1"
"angle" "360"
"npc_type" "swoop_mp2"
"showhealth" "1"
"count" "-1"
"dmg" "25000"
"speed" "512"
You can change things such as its speed, hit points (dmg), if players can see how damaged it is and the angle it spawns facing in. Setting a delay determines how long into the game that vehicle spawns.

Lil Killa is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-10-2003, 07:35 PM   #13
CheeseY
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 14
ok.. so is anyone else wondering where this is heading?


i understand the npc spawn thing is a cheat, but me and my friend played a lan game and i spawned boba_fett and loooads of storm troopers.. boba_fett didnt work, but the stormtroopers did :P

would it be impossible to create a co-op mod?
is anyone working on this?


umm.. something witty... hmmm
CheeseY is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-12-2003, 11:05 PM   #14
recombinant
 
recombinant's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: petaluma, ca, usa
Posts: 346
Quote:
Originally posted by gothicX
Not at all. They spawn with default AI.
...but presumably at some point the tools will be released so that we can script them as NPCs.


recombinant | lead programmer
---------------------------------------------
Dark Forces Mod for Jedi Academy
http://darkforces.jediknight.net
#dfmod @ irc.gamesurge.net
#jkacoding @ irc.quakenet.org
recombinant is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-13-2003, 12:09 AM   #15
reaper1576
 
reaper1576's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 448
yeah we need icarausII to do more with npc's


reaper1576 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-13-2003, 06:00 PM   #16
monsoontide
Multiple Arm Attack!
 
monsoontide's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,092
Original Subject

As far as spawning monsters (And other NPC's)

Took a quick look at the new radiant thismorning and the siege_hoth map and it's quite cool. You can spawn your npc and now use proper in game waypoints for them (None of that bot crap you previously had to do) and set them to roam around and hunt for players.

Plenty of other cool features too. Just no documentation!
Also Raven's Siege maps are - well, let's just say, I think there's WAY more you can do with this game type.

Will be porting my Anchorhead SAGA & Bast Castle SAGA maps to SIEGE plus starting work on a new SIEGE map soon


Monsoontide
monsoontide is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-13-2003, 08:56 PM   #17
MasterSidious
Junior Member
 
MasterSidious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: in game getting flamed and banned
Posts: 412
Question

Anyone working on X-wings, or like ties in MP(without using cheats)? THIS wOULD BE SWEET! Think about the possibilities!


FP>Sephious
67.15.20.187:29070 - FFA SO
67.15.21.115:29070 - CTF SO
67.15.18.232:29070 - Siege/FFA
Laming is tolerated
MasterSidious is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-13-2003, 10:16 PM   #18
monsoontide
Multiple Arm Attack!
 
monsoontide's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,092
Spaceships

I believe some people are, but currently the control of the spaceships SUCKS (IMHO) and the maps need to be really large in order to make it playable. Lack of "official" documentation on this subject also hinders progress.

However, now the mapping tools have been released, expect more soon.


Monsoontide
monsoontide is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-14-2003, 08:53 AM   #19
GothiX
Ocean Soul
 
GothiX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Just a journey away
Posts: 1,906
I've been playing with that idea.. and it has too many drawbacks, we'll have to wait until the sourcecode is released, so people can "upgrade" the vehicles.


GothiX is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-15-2003, 12:22 AM   #20
shukrallah
White Dragon
 
shukrallah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 3,250
Right now, i kinda sorta have JA, errr... for christmas, but i was able to play it once. I played all 3 seige maps and all i found was a rancor! Wheres the wampa, and other rancor??? thanks.

Anyways, when i get JA full time, ill be making seige maps. I have thought about a type of co-op (1 team, against several NPCs) maybe a real battle of Hoth. Where your the imps, and you fight the rebels, and of course, there will be taun-tauns, and wampas, and maybe speeders, and definatly ATSTs. But anyways, you can have say about 5-6 stormtrooper NPCs and snowtroopers on your side, which will respawn every 3-5 minutes. Anyways, its something to work on. Maybe even the battle of endor

Anyways, any idea on how we are going to get the objectives in? I mean, i can script for jk2 SP, but thats cutscenes... and natural events (stuff falling, things blowing up) which would be good in any map, but what about the objectives themselves? Would it just be scripting? Or is it something like Saga, where everything is in the .bsp and you put in using radiant? (i think it was, i started on one, but didnt really do anything, it got too laggy because i screwed it up with detail brushes )
shukrallah is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-15-2003, 12:36 AM   #21
Zer0-L0giC
Raven Software
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 14
Pretty much all objectives and events are/can be done within the editor. Some more advanced things can be done by using icarus, but there isn't much you can't do in the editor. Setting up the siege teams and classes is pretty easy, just need to look at the existing ones and use them as a template. Setting up the .siege file is pretty simple as well, i'll try to get some tutorials going up on my site about this stuff as soon as possible. For now, since a lot of people have asked about respawning vehicles, i've made this tutorial: click here for vehicle respawning tutorial


~Mike "Zer0-L0giC" Majernik
Zer0-L0giC is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-15-2003, 12:07 PM   #22
shukrallah
White Dragon
 
shukrallah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 3,250
Thanks about the tutorials, ill be using that when i get JA full time...
shukrallah is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-18-2008, 01:36 PM   #23
Caméo
Lurker
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1
Lightbulb

Quote:
Originally Posted by KevinCoyle View Post
I read somewhere that it's now possible with Jedi academy to put
rancors or wampas in multiplayer maps as obstacles in the map. Anyone know any more about this?
Hey there, i noticed your question and coincidencly i saw the solution earlier today. For this, you can use the Stalax Mod. It's not an ordinary mod, but an enhanced coding system. Here's the link if you're interesseded : http://jediknight3.filefront.com/file/Stalax;96334
Caméo is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Editing Central > JA Mapping > Creatures in MP

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:35 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.