lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Somewhat Random Crashing...
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 02-08-2009, 02:05 AM   #1
Celestial Kitten
Lurker
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1
Exclamation Somewhat Random Crashing...

Hello! <3

I recently purchased both KotoR and TSL from my local retailer (pawn shop?) and I am greatly enjoying the game! However...

I have been running into a few strange issues. First off, my FPS is great. I experience no lag whatsoever, no graphical glitches, etc. Second off, I have a Quad Core Processor and two dual Nvidia SLI cards (I do not use SLI for a reason, however). I am also using Windows XP with SP 1 - 3.

Okay, here we go:

My first two crashes are experienced on the Endar Spire. The first one happens after the cutscene where the Sith Soldiers grenade the Republic Soldiers (and before/during the point where the droid explodes infront of the door you cannot open, just before you see your first Jedi/Sith fighting.) The If I run by this area without wasting time picking things up, I can evade the crash, but its a continuing problem.

Second crash happens before you enter the room (at the end of the level) with the Elite Sith Warrior (red armor) if I use the droid to attack, everything is fine, but if I splice into the computer and overload the conduit, Just after the cutscene ends (after the explosion and when I'm about to exit to the game screen) the game crashes with another send/don't send windows error report.


Originally I could not get past this point, but then someone suggested I turn off a program I have on my computer (It was a ISO program called Daemon Hunt for burning my music or whatever) and it ran fine.

However, I started experiences random crashes in the later levels, this includes all over Taris at random intervals (which I suspect were greatly related to my constant alt-tabbing). However, now I have barely any background programs running, and I am stuck on Dantooine in the Spider Cave where the lightsaber crystals are. I have found no way to avoid this crash to the desktop, for everytime I load the save (right before I get to the room) and go into the room, the game crashes. I suspect it has something to do with the spiders themselves or some sort of graphics problem?

Please help me? I really love this game ;-;


[SWKotOR]
ReportDateTime=2/8/2009 12:06:53 AM
SysInfoVersion=v1.00.60
GameExists=1
GameVersion=v1.03.514077
GameInstallLocation=C:\Program Files\LucasArts\SWKotOR\

[OS]
Name=WinXP
Version=Windows XP v5.1 build 2600 Service Pack 3
Service Pack=Service Pack 3
Status=Pass

[SwapFiles]
C:\pagefile.sys=2046

[CPU]
CPUCount=1
CPUSpeed=2660
CPUFamily=6
CPUModel=15
CPUStepping=7
CPUVendor=Intel
CPUName=Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Quad CPU @ 2.66GHz
Status=Pass

[Memory]
RAM=2048
Status=Pass

[Disk Free Space]
C: (NTFS), UNICODE=514.50GB
Status=Pass

[CD-ROMs]
DriveLetters=D:\,E:\
Drives=TSSTcorp CDRWDVD TS-H493B,TSSTcorp DVD+-RW TS-H653A

[Video]
Video Card Name=NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GTX
Video Memory=1024
Desktop Resolution=1680x1050x32 @ 59Hz
DirectX=DirectX (9.0+) (4.09.00.0904)
OpenGL Version=2.1.2
OpenGL Vendor=NVIDIA Corporation
OpenGL Renderer=GeForce 8800 GTX/PCI/SSE2
NVidia Driver=6.14.11.8122
Vid Card Status=Warning
Vid Card Driver Status=Pass
GL Status=Pass
DX Status=Pass

[Audio]
Sound Card Name=Creative X-Fi Audio Processor (WDM)
Status=Pass


;Game Options from swkotor.ini

[Sound Options]
Sound Init=0
Music Volume=85
Voiceover Volume=85
Sound Effects Volume=85
Movie Volume=100
Force Software=0
EAX=3
Disable Sound=0
Number 3D Voices=16
Number 2D Voices=24
Environment Effects Level=0.60
2D3D Bias=1.50
Environment Effects=1
Environment Effects Nonstreaming=1
Environment Effects Streaming=1

[Game Options]
GUIsInScreenShot=1
EnableScreenShot=0
Reverse Mouse Buttons=0
Hide InGame GUI=0
Use Small Fonts=0
Keyboard Camera Deceleration=2000.000000
Keyboard Camera Acceleration=500.000000
Keyboard Camera DPS=200.000000
Hide Unequippable=0
Tutorial Popups=0
Subtitles=1
Mini Map=1
Floating Numbers=1
Status Summary=1
Enable Mouse Teleporting To Buttons=1
Mouse Sensitivity=33
Auto Level Up NPCs=0
Mouse Look=0
AutoSave=1
Reverse Minigame YAxis=0
Combat Movement=1
Enable Tooltips=1
Difficulty Level=1
TooltipDelay Sec=1.000000
Memory Access=1
Memory Level=1
Disable Movies=0
EnableCheats=1

[Movies Shown]
Movie 0=112
Movie 1=47
Movie 2=0
Movie 3=0
Movie 4=7
Movie 5=0
Movie 6=0
Movie 7=0
Movie 8=0
Movie 9=0
Movie10=0

[Alias]
HD0=.\
OVERRIDE=.\Override
TEMP=.\Temp
MODULES=.\Modules
LOGS=.\Logs
LOCALVAULT=.\LocalVault
DMVAULT=.\DMVault
SERVERVAULT=.\ServerVault
STREAMMUSIC=.\StreamMusic
TEMPCLIENT=.\Tempclient
SAVES=.\saves
CURRENTGAME=.\currentgame
TEXTUREPACKS=.\texturepacks
STREAMWAVES=.\StreamWaves

[Graphics Options]
V-Sync=1
Anisotropy=8
Frame Buffer=1
Anti Aliasing=4
Texture Quality=2
Emitters=1
Grass=1
Soft Shadows=1
Shadows=1
Brightness=57
EnableHardwareMouse=1
FullScreen=1
RefreshRate=60
Width=1680
Height=1050

[Autopause Options]
Mine Sighted=0
End Of Combat Round=0
Enemy Sighted=1
Party Killed=0
Action Menu=0
New Target Selected=1

[config]
firstrun=0

[Keymapping]
Action286B=8
Action286A=7
Action285B=10
Action285A=9
Action284B=54
Action284A=51
Action283B=54
Action283A=51
Action282B=69
Action282A=73
Action281B=53
Action281A=76
Action280B=69
Action280A=73
Action265=52
Action264=57
Action263=43
Action262=85
Action261=84
Action260=83
Action259=82
Action258=81
Action257=80
Action256=79
Action255=78
Action254=77
Action253=31
Action245=75
Action244=55
Action243=67
Action242=74
Action241=87
Action240=56
Action239=68
Action238=82
Action236=83
Action234=81
Action232=80
Action230=79
Action228=78
Action226=77
Action225=70
Action224=90
Action223=31
Action222=25
Action221=24
Action220=29
Action219=28
Action218=42
Action217=87
Action216=65
Action215=63
Action214=62
Action213=60
Action212=61
Action211=66
Action210=59
Action209=71
Action208=89
Action207=72
Action206=30
Action205=55
Action204=67



---Specs---

Operating System: Windows XP Professional (5.1, Build 2600) Service Pack 3 (2600.xpsp_sp3_gdr.080814-1236)
Language: English (Regional Setting: English)
System Manufacturer: Dell Inc.
System Model: Dell XPS710
BIOS: Phoenix ROM BIOS PLUS Version 1.10 1.4.1
Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Quad CPU @ 2.66GHz (4 CPUs)
Memory: 2558MB RAM
Page File: 495MB used, 3950MB available
Windows Dir: C:\WINDOWS
DirectX Version: DirectX 9.0c (4.09.0000.0904)
DX Setup Parameters: Not found


Card name: NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GTX
Manufacturer: NVIDIA
Chip type: GeForce 8800 GTX
DAC type: Integrated RAMDAC
Device Key: Enum\PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_0191&SUBSYS_039C10DE&REV_A2
Display Memory: 768.0 MB
Current Mode: 1680 x 1050 (32 bit) (59Hz)
Monitor: Plug and Play Monitor
Monitor Max Res: 1600,1200
Driver Name: nv4_disp.dll
Driver Version: 6.14.0011.8122 (English)
DDI Version: 9 (or higher)
Driver Attributes: Final Retail
Driver Date/Size: 1/15/2009 08:19:00, 6168960 bytes
WHQL Logo'd: Yes
WHQL Date Stamp: n/a
VDD: n/a
Mini VDD: nv4_mini.sys
Mini VDD Date: 1/15/2009 08:19:00, 6301248 bytes
Device Identifier: {D7B71E3E-42D1-11CF-D46C-972303C2CB35}
Vendor ID: 0x10DE
Device ID: 0x0191
SubSys ID: 0x039C10DE
Revision ID: 0x00A2
Revision ID: 0x00A2
Video Accel: ModeMPEG2_A ModeMPEG2_B ModeMPEG2_C ModeMPEG2_D ModeWMV9_B ModeWMV9_A
Deinterlace Caps: {6CB69578-7617-4637-91E5-1C02DB810285}: Format(In/Out)=(YUY2,YUY2) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_PixelAdaptive
{335AA36E-7884-43A4-9C91-7F87FAF3E37E}: Format(In/Out)=(YUY2,YUY2) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_BOBVerticalStretch
{6CB69578-7617-4637-91E5-1C02DB810285}: Format(In/Out)=(UYVY,YUY2) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_PixelAdaptive
{335AA36E-7884-43A4-9C91-7F87FAF3E37E}: Format(In/Out)=(UYVY,YUY2) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_BOBVerticalStretch
{6CB69578-7617-4637-91E5-1C02DB810285}: Format(In/Out)=(YV12,0x3231564e) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_PixelAdaptive
{335AA36E-7884-43A4-9C91-7F87FAF3E37E}: Format(In/Out)=(YV12,0x3231564e) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_BOBVerticalStretch
{6CB69578-7617-4637-91E5-1C02DB810285}: Format(In/Out)=(NV12,0x3231564e) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_PixelAdaptive
{335AA36E-7884-43A4-9C91-7F87FAF3E37E}: Format(In/Out)=(NV12,0x3231564e) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_BOBVerticalStretch
Registry: OK
DDraw Status: Enabled
D3D Status: Enabled
AGP Status: Enabled
DDraw Test Result: Not run
D3D7 Test Result: Not run
D3D8 Test Result: Not run
D3D9 Test Result: Not run

Sound Devices
-------------
Description: SB X-Fi Audio [C8E0]
Default Sound Playback: Yes
Default Voice Playback: Yes
Hardware ID: PCI\VEN_1102&DEV_0005&SUBSYS_10031102&REV_00
Manufacturer ID: 1
Product ID: 100
Type: WDM
Driver Name: ctaud2k.sys
Driver Version: 5.12.0001.1144 (English)
Driver Attributes: Final Retail
WHQL Logo'd: Yes
Date and Size: 11/8/2005 10:15:38, 439680 bytes
Other Files:
Driver Provider: Creative
HW Accel Level: Full
Cap Flags: 0xF5F
Min/Max Sample Rate: 1, 192000
Static/Strm HW Mix Bufs: 128, 64
Static/Strm HW 3D Bufs: 128, 64
HW Memory: 0
Voice Management: Yes
EAX(tm) 2.0 Listen/Src: Yes, Yes
I3DL2(tm) Listen/Src: No, No
Sensaura(tm) ZoomFX(tm): No
Registry: OK
Sound Test Result: Not run
Celestial Kitten is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-01-2009, 08:58 PM   #2
Onihikage
Rookie
 
Onihikage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 10
I had exactly the same crashes with exactly the same timing until I did this:

After starting the game, press Ctrl-Shift-Esc to bring up the task manager. Right-click "Knights of the Old Republic" under the applications list and select "Go to process." Right click on the highlighted process (probably something like kotor.exe) and select "Set Affinity..." In the dialog box that comes up, deselect all but one core. Then return to the game and see what happens ^/_\^

Just remember that you'll need to do this every time you start the game.
Onihikage is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-01-2009, 09:33 PM   #3
Q
The one who knocks
 
Q's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: ABQ
Posts: 6,643
Current Game: Mowing down neos with my M60
LF Jester Forum Veteran Helpful! 
I don't know because I'm still stuck with a single-core ATM, but is there any way that you can permanently set core affinity by right-clicking on "swkotor.exe" and selecting "Properties?"


"They should rename the team to the Washington Government Sucks. Put Obama on the helmet. Line the entire walls of the stadium with the actual text of the ACA.
Fix their home team score on the board to the debt clock, they can win every game 17,000,000,000,000 to 24. Losing team gets taxed by the IRS 100%, then droned."
-Toker
Q is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-01-2009, 11:28 PM   #4
DarthParametric
I bent my Wookiee
 
DarthParametric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Oz
Posts: 2,695
Forum Veteran Helpful! 
No. To permanently set it you need a registry entry.
DarthParametric is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-02-2009, 10:52 AM   #5
Onihikage
Rookie
 
Onihikage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DarthParametric View Post
No. To permanently set it you need a registry entry.
Really? 8D Could you go into more detail?
Onihikage is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Trouble Shooting > The Work Bench > Somewhat Random Crashing...

Tags
crashing game

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:22 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.