lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: NEW ANIMATIONS IN JKA/JK2 - HowTo
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 10-21-2004, 05:27 PM   #121
Thrawn42689
 
Thrawn42689's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 408
Well poo, so much for that. :|

Thrawn42689 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-15-2004, 07:58 AM   #122
ASk
No purchase necessary!
 
ASk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Israel
Posts: 525
Quote:
"Both files" being _humanoid.gla and blabla.glm.
glamerge only handles 2 GLA files.

I am not sure what you are trying to achieve. At least posting the command line that you've used would be a nice start

ASk is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-11-2006, 06:12 AM   #123
diane20
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by ASk
New Updates are in red
Last update was at: April 1st 2004 - no, this is not an aprils fool joke



Disclaimer: use the process described here at your own risk. Authors are not responsible for any data loss / damage that may

occur as a result of following these instructions.

Any modification that wishes to use these instructions to create the animations for their mod MUST include the following in

the readme/credits file:

For JK2:
========= start paste =========

New animations in this mod were created using the skeleton made by Corto and the glaMerge program made by ASk. All rights for
these are reserved to the original creators.


======== end paste ============

For JA:
========= start paste =========

New animations in this mod were created using the skeleton made by keshire and the glaMerge program made by ASk. All rights for
these are reserved to the original creators.


======== end paste ============

New animations in JK2/JA



Your animation must have the base 'DaVinci' pose as first frame. It will be ignored during merge.


JK2:

The process is simple.

Get the .xsi skeleton from this link:

Skeleton
I think the link is broken now, does anybody have a mirror of that, so I can update

Make your new animations, and export this file as XSI.


Suggestion by Corto: Use only one animation per XSI, it will keep things more tidy.

Open Assimilate, add the XSI to it
Double-click the file, and check these boxes:

- Keep "motion" bone

- Create own skeleton

Add these bones to PCJ
- skeleton_root
- pelvis
- lower_lumbar
- upper_lumbar
- thoracic
- cervical
- cranium
- face


Set the scale to 0.64, origin to 0,0,24


Save the .car file, time to get dirty (and use the command line)

Run carcass.exe with the following command-line parameters:

-flatten path:\to\your\file.car

Now, time for the fun part.

(continue after JA instructions)
========= end of JK2-specific =====

JA:

The process is simple.

Get the .xsi skeleton from the OJP repository (how to access - http://www.lucasforums.com/showthrea...hreadid=119776):

Make your new animations, and export this file as XSI.


Suggestion by Corto: Use only one animation per XSI, it will keep things more tidy.

Use the .car file in the Modelling SDK released by Ravensoft awhile ago
Run carcass.exe with the following command-line parameters:

-flatten path:\to\ravensofts.car

Now, time for the fun part.

============= end of JA-specific ==

Get the glaMerge program, written by yours truly from

GlaMerge

Put these files in the same directory as the exe:

_humanoid.gla
your.gla

Run the program using

glamerge _humanoid.gla your.gla


Optional switches:

-o - Makes the program optimise the output, removing any redundant bone data. For the above animation, file size is 9.56mb without -o, versus 9.53mb with

-l - Makes the program dump the bone (hierarchy, bone names) data from both gla's. This will be appended to file named 'bone.log' (will be created if necessary)

If you specify both switches, the second one (in the order they were specified) will be ignored


It should prompt you for the output file name.

And wait a bit (a file with 2000 frames takes about 5 minutes on my CPU, and should take around 1-2 minutes on a modern one)

After it is done, just add the new animations to animations.cfg using this format:
Code:
ANIM_NAME	startingframe	framecount loopframe speed

For example:
Code:
NEW_ANIM	17278	40	-1	20
Do this for all the animations, remember to update the startingframe positions accordingly (first new animation should start

at 17278).

Now, the animations are ready to be played in modview.

Example:

New animation

For programmers:

To add support for them ingame, add the same name as you used in the animations.cfg in these 2 source files:

========== game\anims.h ============
Code:
typedef enum //# animNumber_e
{
//=================================================
//ANIMS IN WHICH UPPER AND LOWER OBJECTS ARE IN MD3
//=================================================
BOTH_1CRUFTFORGIL = 0,		//# G2 cannot have a reverse anim at beginning of file
.........
FACE_DEAD,				//# 
////////////////////////////////////////////
//
//  Add your animations here
//
////////////////////////////////////////////
NEW_ANIM,
//////////// end of example ////////////////



//# #eol
MAX_ANIMATIONS,
MAX_TOTALANIMATIONS
} animNumber_t;
========= eof of game\anims.h =========

and

======== cgame\animtable.h ===========
Code:
stringID_table_t animTable [MAX_ANIMATIONS+1] =
{
//=================================================
//ANIMS IN WHICH UPPER AND LOWER OBJECTS ARE IN MD3
//=================================================
ENUM2STRING(BOTH_1CRUFTFORGIL),		//# G2 cannot have a reverse anim at beginning of file
......
ENUM2STRING(FACE_FROWN),				//# 
ENUM2STRING(FACE_DEAD),				//# 
////////////////////////////////////////////
//
//  Add your animations here
//
////////////////////////////////////////////
ENUM2STRING(NEW_ANIM),
//////////// end of example ////////////////
//must be terminated
NULL,-1
};
======== eof of cgame\animtable.h ===========


Afterwards, refer to them ingame with the usual coding.

Enjoy.


P.S.: If you have any technical questions about the process, feel free to post them here, and I will try to reply to them to the best of my ability

Credits:

- ASk - coder of glaMerge

- Corto - creator of the JK2 skeleton

- keshire - creator of the JA skeleton

- Special thanks to Wudan and Razor_Ace


History:
- Fixed origin
- Updated glamerge program, updated instructions to reflect that
- Updated glamerge program once more, updated instructions
- Added bone reordering (to fix wrong internal bone order, providing the hierarchy is fine) to the program. Should produce correct animations now.
- Fixed an overlooked harcoded constant
- Implemented a hack around relativeness of gla format. Proper solution is recalculation of bone offsets, but that does not work at the moment
- "merged" info from keshire's post about JA animations. I hope he doesn't notice :P
New updates are in red
Hello guys,
i dont know if you are still active in this forum, but i have a question about animation in ja. I downloaded keshires animation file pack, opened his skeleton in 3ds max and changed his Dual_baster.bip, by saving only from frame0 to frame10 (so that I only have a dual-blaster-draw-animation now).Than I exported this new animation as xsi file. Now I dont know, how to compile the animation with carcass the right way. Can someone please explain step by step what I have to do with the assimilate/carcass program ? Do I have to open or add my new animation.xsi in assimilate? Whitch parameters do I have to change where ?Do I get a gla file by using carcass ? how and where fits the humanoid.car file in the process? Do I need to extract the _humanoid.gla file as been discribed in the moddeling tutorials here as well? Please explain as if I was 4 years old(or as if I was a girl). I only found tutorials explaining carcass use for custom models. Sorry for my bad english (Im from germany and try my best) and thank you for your time.
diane20 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-16-2006, 01:50 AM   #124
Boli_Delish
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 27
game\anims.h...cgame\animtable.h...

Where can I find these?


Boli_Delish is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-16-2006, 04:50 AM   #125
razorace
Impressive, Terran!
 
razorace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9,172
Uh, they're in there with the other source files, like w_saber.c, w_force.c, etc.


---Jedi Guardian of the Newbie Questions
---Masters of the Force Team Leader / Creator
---Open Jedi Project Lead Moderator / Co-Founder
razorace is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-28-2006, 04:38 AM   #126
Boli_Delish
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 27
Nevermind, i'm an idiot. Anywho, another quick question:

"Afterwards, refer to them ingame with the usual coding."

What does this exactly refer to? I've followed the coding steps up to here to add in placeholders for another lightsaber form, but I don't know what the 'usual coding' is. Some help would be much appreciated.


Boli_Delish is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-28-2006, 04:41 AM   #127
razorace
Impressive, Terran!
 
razorace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9,172
I didn't write the tutorial but I think that means you can treat it like any other animation.


---Jedi Guardian of the Newbie Questions
---Masters of the Force Team Leader / Creator
---Open Jedi Project Lead Moderator / Co-Founder
razorace is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-28-2006, 05:17 AM   #128
Boli_Delish
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 27
What I was more interested in was what this actually means ie how do you treat it like any other animation/how do you treat ANY animation?


Boli_Delish is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-28-2006, 07:43 AM   #129
razorace
Impressive, Terran!
 
razorace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9,172
It depends on what you're doing. The method for activating animations for NPCs, saber animations, force powers, etc. are all activated using different methods. Could you be more specific?


---Jedi Guardian of the Newbie Questions
---Masters of the Force Team Leader / Creator
---Open Jedi Project Lead Moderator / Co-Founder
razorace is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-28-2006, 05:52 PM   #130
Boli_Delish
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 27
Alright, hmm...let's try activating saber animations for a player. As I stated above, i'm working on a new lightsaber form (a fourth single saber form). Once I get that figured out, we'll move onto getting it NPC usable


Boli_Delish is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-28-2006, 06:25 PM   #131
razorace
Impressive, Terran!
 
razorace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9,172
I thought I covered that in a fair amount of detail in the other thread. What parts are you having issues with?


---Jedi Guardian of the Newbie Questions
---Masters of the Force Team Leader / Creator
---Open Jedi Project Lead Moderator / Co-Founder
razorace is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-28-2006, 07:12 PM   #132
Boli_Delish
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 27
Well, firstly, when searching, the are a LOT of PM_SetSaberMove in bg_saber. I understand how it worked, and how it's meant to work, but I don't understand how to edit it to work with my new moveset.

Also, I named the animations the same way as they did for the existing form, except I replaced the number with a letter. It's all in the right order (I just copied and pasted it, then edited the names) so that shouldn't be a problem.


Boli_Delish is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-23-2007, 09:59 PM   #133
Fmmm
Lurker
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 6
Does anyone know where I can get the GLAMERGE program? The link in the main post is dead and I cant find it anywhere, also if anyone knows where to find the Dragon Animation Tool that would be great too!
Fmmm is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-24-2007, 10:39 AM   #134
Sith Dagger
Rookie
 
Sith Dagger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: My Mind
Posts: 154
http://mt-wudan.com/forums/index.php
Sith Dagger is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-27-2008, 01:05 PM   #135
nizwiz
Rookie
 
nizwiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 159
Anyone knows where to get Corto's skeleton for jk2 these times?
nizwiz is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-18-2009, 09:38 AM   #136
LightNinja
The Ninjonator
 
LightNinja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Somewhere-Spain Status: Ninjonator
Posts: 1,998
Quote:
Originally Posted by ASk View Post
JA:

The process is simple.

Get the .xsi skeleton from the OJP repository (how to access - http://www.lucasforums.com/showthrea...hreadid=119776):

DONE

Make your new animations, and export this file as XSI.

DONE

Use the .car file in the Modelling SDK released by Ravensoft awhile ago
Run carcass.exe with the following command-line parameters:

-flatten path:\to\ravensofts.car
Which .xsi of the repostory? OJP_Anim_template.XSI?

I modifyed the nulls which had the names of the bones for the animation: did I do right??

Can someone help me with this? I don't know what .car it means, I downloaded the SDK and there's no .car inside. Even in that Modelling SDK from Ravern.

What I have to do with this?:
-flatten path:\to\ravensofts.car
For example: -flatten models\players\ravensofts.car??
(Again where's that .car?)

Simple tutorial, yes, but for advanced users




~JA MP Total Conversion~

Last edited by LightNinja; 02-18-2009 at 05:15 PM.
LightNinja is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-19-2009, 03:08 AM   #137
Psyk0Sith
3D Tech Support
 
Psyk0Sith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Adanac
Posts: 2,072
Veteran Modder Helpful! 
Sometimes you have to write it/modify yourself. It's the same thing as using assimilate to create the car file for you, probably have more options when writing your own. Like creating batch jobs. The car file refered to is possibly the "master".car that points to all the anims found the .GLA (so that carcass can join all of them into the final .GLA used in the game)

You have to use it in a command prompt like so: carcass ravensofts.car
I'm assuming you add your .XSI anim to the list so it can be added into your new custom .GLA.

Psyk0Sith is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-19-2009, 08:12 AM   #138
LightNinja
The Ninjonator
 
LightNinja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Somewhere-Spain Status: Ninjonator
Posts: 1,998
I've found out how to run the command for carcass, and also I found a post from 2004 where keshire explained me what meant the things inside the .car, so I've done some progress.

ShadyD is giving me some help, he was able to make new animations with 3dsMax and he's trying to refresh his memory. We have been able to at least compile the new_anim.xsi into a new_anim.gla with a .car file, however, glamerge give us an error because it says that the number of bones is different, so in ModView the model deforms like a demon for the new animation.

Does the number of bones being different means that the OJP_Anim_Template.xsi is wrong? I'd like to know the answer.

I hope we can find our way out to add the new animations. Once I get it I'm gonna do a tutorial and post it in this thread, since this one is really confusing and frustrating ending in a dissapointment at least for me.




~JA MP Total Conversion~
LightNinja is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-19-2009, 02:00 PM   #139
Psyk0Sith
3D Tech Support
 
Psyk0Sith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Adanac
Posts: 2,072
Veteran Modder Helpful! 
You should ALWAYS have the same number of bones when compiling for a specific GLA.

Jedi Academy has some bones that have been removed, some that have been added (the tail bones) and some that have been renamed. I have a scene file setup with the biped and all, altho it could be the same thing as OJP_Anim_Template.xsi. It uses the skeleton made out of dummies from corto.

Psyk0Sith is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-03-2009, 06:00 PM   #140
LightNinja
The Ninjonator
 
LightNinja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Somewhere-Spain Status: Ninjonator
Posts: 1,998
Great, Shady has managed to get it done and has teached me so maybe soon I write a different tutorial since I use the biped that keshire made.

We wanted to change the both_vt_idle1 animation to fit in the horse so here's the result





~JA MP Total Conversion~
LightNinja is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-03-2009, 09:34 PM   #141
Psyk0Sith
3D Tech Support
 
Psyk0Sith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Adanac
Posts: 2,072
Veteran Modder Helpful! 
Pretty sweet! i think a bit of specular highlights would really help the horse's armor tho, unless you want to use a shader.

For anyone interested, the problem for shady was simply using the wrong plugin, so if you are a trying to make new humanoid anims you absolutely need the original plugin from the SDK. So it looks like you need to use Max 5: in later versions of the plugin the XSI exporter writes a "max_Scene_root" that screws up everything.

Psyk0Sith is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-21-2009, 04:45 AM   #142
senorita
Lurker
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 8
Thanks for your nice information and animations as well... Read Jedi Adventures Book By Heather Scott which was launched in 2009 paperback series.... i really loved to read that book and still reading some of its interesting parts as well.. i really loves Jedi.....
senorita is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-23-2009, 03:19 PM   #143
katanamaru
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 471
What do I need a plugin for if I use Dragon? I've never had a problem with making and getting animations in game without it. Or is that for older versions or vehicles?
katanamaru is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-19-2011, 08:04 AM   #144
LightNinja
The Ninjonator
 
LightNinja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Somewhere-Spain Status: Ninjonator
Posts: 1,998
Quote:
Originally Posted by Psyk0Sith View Post
Pretty sweet! i think a bit of specular highlights would really help the horse's armor tho, unless you want to use a shader.

For anyone interested, the problem for shady was simply using the wrong plugin, so if you are a trying to make new humanoid anims you absolutely need the original plugin from the SDK. So it looks like you need to use Max 5: in later versions of the plugin the XSI exporter writes a "max_Scene_root" that screws up everything.
Ok I'm really ashamed...
I have forgotten how I put the new animations ingame >.>

Ok, I have the animation done in the biped, I export the .xsi and check all the boxes (Mesh, Animations, Bones, Point Weights, Basepose Transforms, SRT Transforms) so then I open Assimilate and load up that .xsi. But here's the problem, it won't compile the .gla because there are meshes without weights or because of heriarchy problems. I'm using the exact same .max that I used back then to make that horse riding animations.

If someone is still around - Help!




~JA MP Total Conversion~
LightNinja is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-19-2011, 11:19 AM   #145
LightNinja
The Ninjonator
 
LightNinja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Somewhere-Spain Status: Ninjonator
Posts: 1,998
I've found our msn chat where Shady teached me. He gave me these files:

- The bipped.max
- BonesWSaber.xsi
- newanimations.car

Then he said:
Quote:
you animate the biped, you keep the rootpose as the first pose. You export as a xsi 3.0. Compile it with the .car file I gave you, change the name of your .xsi to "ultimatetest.xsi" and than just merge it with GlaMerge
Ok, I made that but when I open assimilate and loadup the .car it says "models/players/_humanoid/ultimatetest.xsi" not found -.-! (Of course it is on the _humanoid folder)

Code inside the "newanimations.car"
Code:
$aseanimgrabinit
$scale 0.64
$keepmotion
$pcj $flatten
$pcj upper_lumbar
$pcj lower_lumbar
$pcj cranium
$pcj cervical
$pcj thoracic
$pcj pelvis
$pcj face_always_
$pcj Motion
$pcj rradius
$pcj lradius
$pcj rtibia
$pcj ltibia
$pcj rhumerus
$pcj lhumerus
$pcj lfemurYZ
$pcj rfemurYZ
$aseanimgrab models/players/_humanoid/theultimatetest.xsi -loop -1 -qdskipstart -framespeed 1 -qdskipstop
$aseanimgrabfinalize
$aseanimconvertmdx_noask models/players/_humanoid/boneswsaber -makeskel models/players/_humanoid/theultimatetest -origin 0 0 24
I'm doing it correctly opening the "newanimations.car" directly?




~JA MP Total Conversion~
LightNinja is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-19-2011, 06:26 PM   #146
Psyk0Sith
3D Tech Support
 
Psyk0Sith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Adanac
Posts: 2,072
Veteran Modder Helpful! 
Damnit, i'm sure i've run into this problem once...

Dumb idea, but did you try to run it in a command prompt instead of loading into assimilate?

Did you poke around in assimilate in the paths thingies (yeah sorry that's vague) and check for more options? Thats all i can think of for now.

Psyk0Sith is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-20-2011, 11:31 AM   #147
LightNinja
The Ninjonator
 
LightNinja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Somewhere-Spain Status: Ninjonator
Posts: 1,998
Quote:
Originally Posted by Psyk0Sith View Post
Dumb idea, but did you try to run it in a command prompt instead of loading into assimilate?
You got it!

Dumb idea or not, now I see that I trusted more in Assimilate than what I should!

Thanks Psyk0




~JA MP Total Conversion~
LightNinja is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-20-2011, 08:26 PM   #148
Psyk0Sith
3D Tech Support
 
Psyk0Sith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Adanac
Posts: 2,072
Veteran Modder Helpful! 
Hehe awesome, glad it worked

Psyk0Sith is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Editing Central > General Editing > NEW ANIMATIONS IN JKA/JK2 - HowTo

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:08 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.