lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: JK3 Installation - Uninstallation "loop" (stuck) HELP!
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 12-22-2007, 07:09 PM   #1
Chalabi
Lurker
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1
Angry JK3 Installation - Uninstallation "loop" (stuck) HELP!

I've had Jedi Knights: Jedi Academy for a few years. Up until recently its been working fine. Something happened and wouldn't play, so I tried to uninstall. I went to Add/Remove programs, when I went to uninstall it says it finished uninstalling but it was still in the Add/Remove Programs list. So I went through my Program Files and manually removed all the files. It still wouldn't work so I went through my registry and deleted it from there. Now when I put my CD in, it will pop up with the Install window. I click Install but instead of telling me its installing, it says now uninstalling. But its already uninstalled. Or so I thought. I've tried doing it over and over. It still tries to uninstall each time. Some help on this issue would be wonderful.
Chalabi is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-07-2009, 09:30 PM   #2
Kurgan
Headhunter
 
Kurgan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1997
Location: The Dawn of Time
Posts: 18,322
LFN Staff Member 10 year veteran! 
I am having the same problem now, sadly...

Here is how it happened:

I was installing the game (after a nice system cleanup and stuff), and it CRASHED about the time it was prompting me for CD2. So the game only "half" installed so to speak. I knew this wouldn't work (in the past like this you could copy the files but you couldn't play it online, and SP wouldn't load either iirc, because it thought the CD wasn't in the drive). So I tried uninstalling.. predictably it didn't work either (finished "uninstalling" instantly and of course didn't really change a thing).

I tried going into the registry and removing EVERY "LucasArts" and "Jedi Academy" entry (all two of them) and deleting all the files manually. No luck.

So now if I try to run "setup" it just does that bogus "uninstall" and if I try to click "install" it does the same thing. The game file itself can't run.

So please help out a poor guy! I don't want to spend several hours reinstalling Windows AGAIN (with all the critical updates, drivers, files, etc) just because of this one game goof up.

PS: I have Registry Mechanic 8 AND CCleaner installed. Neither could fix my problem that I could see.


Download JK2 maps for JA Server|BOOT CAMP!|Strategic Academy|
(JA Server: 108.178.55.189:29070)


"The Concussion Rifle is the weapon of a Jedi Knight Player, an elegant weapon, from a more civilized community." - Kyle Katarn
Kurgan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-07-2009, 11:36 PM   #3
acdcfanbill
..the wonders I have seen
 
acdcfanbill's Avatar
 
Status: Super Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Random Hell Wholes around the
Posts: 5,700
Imperialist Meatbags Guild Member The Walking Carpets Guild Member LFN Staff Member 10 year veteran! 
well, on my 1.0 discs, all you have to do is create your "Star Wars Jedi Academy" Folder and then drop the Gamedata and maybe the Install folders into there from CD1. Note the CD1 actually has a Gamedata inside of Gamedata, and that's the one you need. CD2 should have a Gamedata folder as well with assets 2 and 3 pk3's i think. Then plop on 1.01 and with any luck your playing.

Never actually done this, but I would guess it works, I don't think jamp/sp have any registry checks in them. 1.01 might, not sure, but you may pass if you create the folders where you tried to install it previously.

Finally, something like Your Uninstaller!, it might be able to get rid of partial installs.

acdcfanbill is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-09-2009, 05:51 AM   #4
Kurgan
Headhunter
 
Kurgan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1997
Location: The Dawn of Time
Posts: 18,322
LFN Staff Member 10 year veteran! 
Okay, as luck would have it, it turns out my installation (copied to my backup drive before I reformatted) still works. I can actually join my server and everything. I haven't tried SP but I'm betting it won't work (that's okay I guess, I did beat the game six years ago, but what if I want to play through it again? It's not like I found every secret on hard mode!). I thankfully had the 1.01 patch on it already. I thought that was the main problem with not having it in the registry was the inability to patch it.

So currently I can play online which is SOMETHING, but I'd much rather have it working properly. I'll go over what you said next time I monkey with it, before I run out of summer fun game time...

Thanks! Any other suggestions, even registry hacks (in that case send me a PM).


Download JK2 maps for JA Server|BOOT CAMP!|Strategic Academy|
(JA Server: 108.178.55.189:29070)


"The Concussion Rifle is the weapon of a Jedi Knight Player, an elegant weapon, from a more civilized community." - Kyle Katarn
Kurgan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-09-2009, 05:57 PM   #5
Kurgan
Headhunter
 
Kurgan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1997
Location: The Dawn of Time
Posts: 18,322
LFN Staff Member 10 year veteran! 
Okay, I tried "Your Uninstaller! 2008" and it worked like a charm! Next installation went smoothly and I applied the patch successfully. No 'hacking' necessary.

Great recommendation. I'm always pleased when there's a program out there that actually works as advertised...


Download JK2 maps for JA Server|BOOT CAMP!|Strategic Academy|
(JA Server: 108.178.55.189:29070)


"The Concussion Rifle is the weapon of a Jedi Knight Player, an elegant weapon, from a more civilized community." - Kyle Katarn
Kurgan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-09-2009, 06:32 PM   #6
acdcfanbill
..the wonders I have seen
 
acdcfanbill's Avatar
 
Status: Super Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Random Hell Wholes around the
Posts: 5,700
Imperialist Meatbags Guild Member The Walking Carpets Guild Member LFN Staff Member 10 year veteran! 
Yea, partial installs are a real pain if the installer doesn't give you an option to 'reinstall overtop old one anyway' type option.

acdcfanbill is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-17-2009, 01:10 AM   #7
Kurgan
Headhunter
 
Kurgan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1997
Location: The Dawn of Time
Posts: 18,322
LFN Staff Member 10 year veteran! 
I'm so pleased, I may just register this program after the trial period!

Yep. I have had this problem in the past with crashing, multi-cd game installs in the past. Good to know somebody finally came up with an easy way to fix it. I agree, many programs have restore/fix solutions built in to their programs. I guess the Quake3 engine never did.


Download JK2 maps for JA Server|BOOT CAMP!|Strategic Academy|
(JA Server: 108.178.55.189:29070)


"The Concussion Rifle is the weapon of a Jedi Knight Player, an elegant weapon, from a more civilized community." - Kyle Katarn
Kurgan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-17-2009, 07:36 AM   #8
acdcfanbill
..the wonders I have seen
 
acdcfanbill's Avatar
 
Status: Super Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Random Hell Wholes around the
Posts: 5,700
Imperialist Meatbags Guild Member The Walking Carpets Guild Member LFN Staff Member 10 year veteran! 
I think it depends more on the installer/uninstaller than what engine is being used, but I could be all wet.

acdcfanbill is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-17-2009, 09:39 AM   #9
Kurgan
Headhunter
 
Kurgan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1997
Location: The Dawn of Time
Posts: 18,322
LFN Staff Member 10 year veteran! 
Quote:
Originally Posted by acdcfanbill View Post
I think it depends more on the installer/uninstaller than what engine is being used, but I could be all wet.
You may be right...


Download JK2 maps for JA Server|BOOT CAMP!|Strategic Academy|
(JA Server: 108.178.55.189:29070)


"The Concussion Rifle is the weapon of a Jedi Knight Player, an elegant weapon, from a more civilized community." - Kyle Katarn
Kurgan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Help Center > Technical Help > JK3 Installation - Uninstallation "loop" (stuck) HELP!

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:23 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.