lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: KOTOR 2 graphical glitches
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 10-13-2009, 09:55 AM   #1
luc500
Rookie
 
luc500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 52
KOTOR 2 graphical glitches

Title says all. I'm experiencing a couple of odd graphical glitches during my playthrough of TSL. Here's an expamle of one of many graphical gltiches that purge my game. other issues are that when using force speed my screen is all messed up. I'm running an ATI Radeon HD 3850 AGP with the 9,7 drivers.



Last edited by luc500; 10-13-2009 at 10:01 AM.
luc500 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-14-2009, 04:28 AM   #2
Q
The one who knocks
 
Q's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: ABQ
Posts: 6,643
Current Game: Mowing down neos with my M60
LF Jester Forum Veteran Helpful! 
Hi.

Have you tried the Dantooine lag fix?
Quote:
Originally Posted by stingerhs View Post
  • First, figure out where the .ini is installed. Default is "C:\Program Files\Lucasarts\swkotor(2)\swkotor(2).ini". If its not in that location, then your going to have to do some searching around on the hard drive a bit.
  • When you find it, just double-click on the file to open it in Notepad.
  • Scroll down the file until you find the Graphics Options
  • Under the last line ("last line" as in the last line of the list of entries under "Graphics Options", NOT the last line of "swkotor(2).ini), add "Disable Vertex Buffer Objects=1", without the quotes.
  • Goto File, then Save.
It's pretty much a necessity with DX10 GPUs and drivers. Please give it a try.


"They should rename the team to the Washington Government Sucks. Put Obama on the helmet. Line the entire walls of the stadium with the actual text of the ACA.
Fix their home team score on the board to the debt clock, they can win every game 17,000,000,000,000 to 24. Losing team gets taxed by the IRS 100%, then droned."
-Toker
Q is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-14-2009, 06:40 AM   #3
luc500
Rookie
 
luc500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 52
No luck i still have the graphic glitches. I guess i have to live with it.


luc500 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-14-2009, 08:40 PM   #4
Darth333
Administraterror
 
Darth333's Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: In my secret dungeon...
Posts: 8,292
Whether or not your machine meets the requirements, posting your specs (by the gfx card it looks like the game requirements are more than met but newer hardware and software can cause other issues) and game options - the report below will indicate which game options are turned on/off - may help:

* Bring up the launcher menu for Kotor 1 or 2.
* Click on "Configure".
* Click the "Scan Hardware" button on the lower center of the window.
* Click "Yes" to continue.
* Click "Details" to view your system specs.
* Click "Save Report" and save the file to your desktop.
* Whenever you post your problem, open the file you just saved and copy and paste the contents to your post.
Darth333 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-15-2009, 09:34 AM   #5
luc500
Rookie
 
luc500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 52
Here are my sytem specs:

GameExists=1
GameVersion=v2.10.427
GameInstallLocation=C:\Program Files\LucasArts\SWKotOR2\

[OS]
Name=WinXP
Version=Windows XP v5.1 build 2600 Service Pack 3
Service Pack=Service Pack 3
Status=Pass

[SwapFiles]
C:\pagefile.sys=2732

[CPU]
CPUCount=1
CPUSpeed=2002
CPUFamily=15
CPUModel=4
CPUStepping=8
CPUVendor=AMD
CPUName=AMD Athlon(tm) 64 Processor 3000+
Status=Pass

[Memory]
RAM=2048
Status=Pass

[Disk Free Space]
C: (NTFS), UNICODE=121.13GB
Status=Pass

[CD-ROMs]
DriveLetters=D:\
Drives=_NEC DVD_RW ND-2500A,_NEC DVD_RW ND-2500A

[Video]
Video Card Name=ATI Radeon HD 3800 Series
Video Memory=1024
Desktop Resolution=1680x1050x32 @ 60Hz
DirectX=DirectX 9.0c (4.09.00.0904)
OpenGL Version=2.1.8787
OpenGL Vendor=ATI Technologies Inc.
OpenGL Renderer=ATI Radeon HD 3800 Series
ATI Driver=6.14.10.6973
Vid Card Status=Warning
Vid Card Driver Status=Pass
GL Status=Pass
DX Status=Pass

[Audio]
Sound Card Name=SoundMAX Integrated Digital Audio
Status=Pass


;Game Options from swkotor2.ini

[Display Options]
FullScreen=1
Disable Movies=0
Disable Intro Movies=0
Sort Modules=1
Width=640
Height=480
BitsPerPixels=32
RefreshRate=60

[Sound Options]
Music Volume=85
Voiceover Volume=85
Sound Effects Volume=85
Movie Volume=85
Number 3D Voices=30
Number 2D Voices=64
2D3D Bias=1.50
EAX=2
Sound Init=0
Disable Sound=0
Force Software=0

[Graphics Options]
Grass=1
Shadows=1
EnableHardwareMouse=1
FullScreen=1
AllowSoftShadows=1
RefreshRate=60
Width=1280
Height=960
Emitters=1
Anisotropy=16
Frame Buffer=1
Soft Shadows=1
Brightness=57
V-Sync=1
Texture Quality=2
Anti Aliasing=8
Disable Vertex Buffer Objects=1

[Game Options]
UnlockedPlanetSongs=13
Enable Tooltips=1
Keyboard Camera Deceleration=2000.000000
Keyboard Camera Acceleration=500.000000
Keyboard Camera DPS=200.000000
TextureVariation=86
BodyVariation=9
AppearanceType=168
PCGender=0
GameCompleted=0
CurSithLord=2
Hide InGame GUI=0
Use Small Fonts=0
Hide Unequippable=0
Tutorial Popups=0
Subtitles=1
Mini Map=1
Floating Numbers=1
Status Summary=1
Enable Mouse Teleporting To Buttons=1
Mouse Sensitivity=44
Difficulty Level=1
Auto Level Up NPCs=0
Mouse Look=0
AutoSave=1
EnableScreenShot=0
Reverse Mouse Buttons=0
Reverse Ingame YAxis=0
Reverse Minigame YAxis=0
Combat Movement=1
TooltipDelay Sec=1
Disable Movies=0

[config]
firstrun=0

[Autopause Options]
End Of Combat Round=0
Mine Sighted=0
Enemy Sighted=0
Party Killed=0
Action Menu=0
New Target Selected=0

[Movies Shown]
Movie10=1
Movie 9=1
Movie 8=1
Movie 7=1
Movie 6=1
Movie 5=1
Movie 4=129
Movie 3=1
Movie 2=1
Movie 1=7
Movie 0=1


luc500 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-16-2009, 07:53 PM   #6
Q
The one who knocks
 
Q's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: ABQ
Posts: 6,643
Current Game: Mowing down neos with my M60
LF Jester Forum Veteran Helpful! 
I have an nVidia card, so I can't duplicate your problem. It seems that the KotOR games have traditionally had problems with ATI cards.


"They should rename the team to the Washington Government Sucks. Put Obama on the helmet. Line the entire walls of the stadium with the actual text of the ACA.
Fix their home team score on the board to the debt clock, they can win every game 17,000,000,000,000 to 24. Losing team gets taxed by the IRS 100%, then droned."
-Toker
Q is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Trouble Shooting > The Work Bench > KOTOR 2 graphical glitches

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:04 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.