lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Video card hassles
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 11-13-2009, 01:57 AM   #1
Jaws87
Lurker
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 3
Video card hassles

Right... I'm a noob to these particular forums (everyone say, Hi Jaws! (kidding)). But not at all to Star Wars. Heh.

Anyway...

I started a new file in KOTOR 2 not too long ago, while running XP. No problems with the game, at all.

Now I'm running Windows 7, I transferred the save file over.

I'm having problems. Specifically, Everything else besides the video card checks out on the scan (2.8 ghz duo core AMD processor, 2 gb RAM, massive HD, etc). And I've played it a few times without problems. But... now I am.

I have a Radeon X1550 video card in, and when I run the scan it gives me this 'video card driver out of date' junk, like I'm an idiot or something. Then it tells me that I need such and such if I've got an Nvidia card... which I don't. I went to the update site and downloaded the updated whatever, and now I can play fine (for the most part). Except when I'm playing as the exile. The screen dims whenever I move forward or back.


Quote:
[SWKotOR]
ReportDateTime=11/13/2009 1:06:50 AM
SysInfoVersion=v1.00.60
GameExists=1
GameVersion=v2.10.427
GameInstallLocation=C:\Program Files\LucasArts\SWKotOR2\

[OS]
Name=WinXP
Version=Windows XP v5.1 build 2600 Service Pack 2
Service Pack=None
Status=Pass

[SwapFiles]
?:\pagefile.sys=0

[CPU]
CPUCount=2
CPUSpeed=2799
CPUFamily=15
CPUModel=11
CPUStepping=2
CPUVendor=AMD
CPUName=AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 5400+
Status=Pass

[Memory]
RAM=2048
Status=Pass

[Disk Free Space]
C: (NTFS), UNICODE=338.20GB
Status=Pass

[CD-ROMs]
DriveLetters=D:\,E:\
Drives=HL-DT-ST CD-RW GCE-8160B ATA Device,HL-DT-ST RW/DVD GCC-4481B ATA Device

[Video]
Video Card Name=RDPDD Chained DD
Video Memory=2048
Desktop Resolution=0x0x0
DirectX=DirectX 9.0c (4.09.00.0904)
OpenGL Version=2.1.8544 Release
OpenGL Vendor=ATI Technologies Inc.
OpenGL Renderer=Radeon X1550 Series
ATI Driver=(null)
Vid Card Status=Warning
Vid Card Driver Status=Fail
GL Status=Pass
The ATI control catalyst tells me the extended desktop won't work, and that I should plug in the cord from my power supply into my V-card... and I've not only never had to do that, there's no spot TO plug anything into on the card. Sound like I need to give up and buy a new video card or what?

Last edited by Jaws87; 11-13-2009 at 02:08 AM.
Jaws87 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-13-2009, 02:19 PM   #2
Jaws87
Lurker
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 3
Going to try this. Can anyone verify if this works in Windows 7, or does it not matter if the game's in XP compatability mode?

*edit* Can't extract in command prompt, says the input file cannot be opened.

Any ideas would be great.

Last edited by Jaws87; 11-13-2009 at 04:02 PM.
Jaws87 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-14-2009, 11:40 AM   #3
Q
The one who knocks
 
Q's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: ABQ
Posts: 6,643
Current Game: Mowing down neos with my M60
LF Jester Forum Veteran Helpful! 
I'm sorry, but do you honestly believe that video card drivers which were were written for Windows XP four years ago are going to work on Windows 7?

You'd better be glad that the installer wouldn't run.

Just make sure your drivers are up to date and check out how to set CPU affinity and the Dantooine lag fix in the second post in this thread.


"They should rename the team to the Washington Government Sucks. Put Obama on the helmet. Line the entire walls of the stadium with the actual text of the ACA.
Fix their home team score on the board to the debt clock, they can win every game 17,000,000,000,000 to 24. Losing team gets taxed by the IRS 100%, then droned."
-Toker
Q is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-14-2009, 03:32 PM   #4
Jaws87
Lurker
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 3
Hey, I'm new to the realm of software modification. Go easy on me.

Still having problems, the showdown on Dantooine makes the game crash every time I have movies enabled... then crashed when I tried to change the graphics setting in game...
I'll try another go at it and see what happens.

Edit: Did the lag fix, caused problems, so I undid it and haven't had any problems yet... odd.

Edit:

Nope, still having problems... on Onderon and I can't even walk out the front hatch.

Edit 2: HA! Okay, I feel like an idiot now. Here's what happened:
The Vista fix regarding changing the compatability for the game by changing a setting inside the game file in programs: does NOT work for W7, it changes it right back.

Instead, when you have the shortcut on your desktop, right click it, go to properties, change it to W-XP-SP2, and Run as Administrator. USE THE SHORTCUT to open the game! Here's how you know this is actually working: when you first run EITHER KOTOR or TSL and click GAME, they scan your machine and ask you to configure it. This will not happen otherwise.

Problems solved. In fact, so well that I can run it with even better graphics than those I had while I was actually USING XP-SP2.

I might suggest using that information in a sticky about Windows 7. Could prove useful for other poor souls.

Last edited by RedHawke; 11-17-2009 at 10:23 AM. Reason: Combining multiple posts...
Jaws87 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-15-2009, 07:01 PM   #5
Q
The one who knocks
 
Q's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: ABQ
Posts: 6,643
Current Game: Mowing down neos with my M60
LF Jester Forum Veteran Helpful! 
You could post it in that thread that I linked you to. Sorry that I couldn't be any more help, but I just recently installed W7 and haven't installed either game yet.

Glad you got it working.


"They should rename the team to the Washington Government Sucks. Put Obama on the helmet. Line the entire walls of the stadium with the actual text of the ACA.
Fix their home team score on the board to the debt clock, they can win every game 17,000,000,000,000 to 24. Losing team gets taxed by the IRS 100%, then droned."
-Toker
Q is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Trouble Shooting > The Work Bench > Video card hassles

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:40 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.