lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: MI:SE updates, repaints, mods, new arts...
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 09-11-2009, 02:10 PM   #1
paprik123456
Rookie
 
paprik123456's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Roswell
Posts: 64
Current Game: Indiana jones
MI:SE updates, repaints, mods, new arts...

This thread is about improvements for the game, which you can download and use any time. A lot of people started repaint this game. So, pls If you made any mods or you have some art you would like to show, post it here.


2D/3D Artist and Animator
Patrik Spacek
paprik123456 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-11-2009, 02:12 PM   #2
paprik123456
Rookie
 
paprik123456's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Roswell
Posts: 64
Current Game: Indiana jones
first art

Lets start with my first scene, which is LookOut scene.

I guess this link is not available anymore, I will post new link later today.

http://leteckaposta.cz/493174926

How it works:

What you have to do is unpack zip file and copy Art folder to:

C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\the secret of monkey island special edition\


2D/3D Artist and Animator
Patrik Spacek
paprik123456 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-11-2009, 02:21 PM   #3
xone
Lurker
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Poland
Posts: 7
@paprik when i try download your first scene I've got info "Soubor neexistuje - Přečtěte si podmínky služby... Prosím počkejte 7 sekund"
If I understand it's an error message and is saying that file don't exist..


Cheers, X.
xone is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-11-2009, 02:25 PM   #4
LordTrilobite
Junior Member
 
LordTrilobite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Holland
Posts: 497
Arrow SoMI:SE mods

Alright, here are my current mods.


Backgrounds Fix Patch Version 5 (unfinished)
This mod fixes some backgrounds that were sloppy, rushed or in any way incomplete in the official version.
It will remove any artefact pixels left behind of the old backgrounds, fix any wonky alpha's and clean things up considderably.

Note that I have not yet fixed all backgrounds yet, it's a work in progress. More backgrounds will be fixed as I progress.

I have also added the fix for Stan's Store Sign made by Khar.

Download Mirror on Mediafire:
http://www.mediafire.com/file/dfom2f...groundfix5.rar

List of fixed content:
Show spoiler

Screenshots:
Show spoiler

Last Updated April 4 2010


Scummbar Smile Mod
This mod re-adds a smile to the sign outside the Scummbar.
http://www.mediafire.com/file/ekwnhy...mmbarSmile.rar

Screenshot: Classic, SE old and SE with smile mod:



Mod threads on Telltale and Steam forums:
http://www.telltalegames.com/forums/...ad.php?t=15836
http://forums.steampowered.com/forum...play.php?f=661


Last edited by LordTrilobite; 04-03-2010 at 06:17 PM.
LordTrilobite is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-12-2009, 02:32 PM   #5
paprik123456
Rookie
 
paprik123456's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Roswell
Posts: 64
Current Game: Indiana jones
MISE file

ok guys, here is the first scene again

use the instruction I wrote above

http://leteckaposta.cz/636292118

This files is gonna be there for 14 days.

enjoy and let me know


2D/3D Artist and Animator
Patrik Spacek
paprik123456 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-14-2009, 02:15 PM   #6
LordTrilobite
Junior Member
 
LordTrilobite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Holland
Posts: 497
I've continued work on fixing more of the forest again.
Here's an animated comparison .gif of what I'm actually fixing.

There are annoying pixels like that all over the scenes all over the forest.

LordTrilobite is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-27-2009, 06:47 PM   #7
LordTrilobite
Junior Member
 
LordTrilobite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Holland
Posts: 497
Bump, I've updated my backgrounds fix mod again.

It now includes more of the forest, and also the treasure of melee island and a small fix in hell where there was a white stripe along the top edge of the screen.

Check my first post for all the details.
http://www.mediafire.com/file/ka2dmm...groundfix3.rar

LordTrilobite is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-27-2009, 07:43 PM   #8
myloch
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 13
Found a background bug in the forest, missing ravine (on the right) in new version (see link to image):
http://img163.imageshack.us/img163/1808/bug0.jpg
myloch is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-28-2009, 06:27 AM   #9
Edward van Helgen
Rookie
 
Edward van Helgen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 117
Current Game: Grim Fandango
^^^
That's actually quite a big mistake, it looks like they just thought it was a path instead of a ravine!


The seas and the weathers are what is;
your vessels adapt to them or sink.
Edward van Helgen is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-28-2009, 06:56 AM   #10
LordTrilobite
Junior Member
 
LordTrilobite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Holland
Posts: 497
Quote:
Originally Posted by myloch View Post
Found a background bug in the forest, missing ravine (on the right) in new version (see link to image):
http://img163.imageshack.us/img163/1808/bug0.jpg
I've not touched that scene yet :P The forest has about 22 locations, and I've only fixed 4 of those so far. I'm doing updates occasionally since fixing the whole forest takes ages, now people can use what I've fixed so far instead of waiting for months and months. So I'll get to that.

And yeah, I've noticed that mistake also before. Perhaps I'll copy a ravine from somewhere else and paste it in, I'll have to see what looks good and what doesn't.

LordTrilobite is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-28-2009, 08:05 AM   #11
myloch
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by LordTrilobite View Post
Perhaps I'll copy a ravine from somewhere else and paste it in, I'll have to see what looks good and what doesn't.
lol, that's what I was thinking about
First thing I want to congratulate you for doing such good work!
I think that a simple cut&paste from another scene or from the old version is the simplest and quick way for fixing that.

Don't worry, I know it's long to fix all that

I'll continue to play to check if there are other things that need to be fixed with a certain priority.
bye
myloch is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-28-2009, 11:14 AM   #12
LordTrilobite
Junior Member
 
LordTrilobite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Holland
Posts: 497
Just so you know, checking for problems in the forest wont be that much help for me as I will eventually look at every scene in the forest anyway, since pretty much the whole forest if ****ed up. But if there are other problems with backgrounds elsewhere in the game, by all means please tell me, so I can fix them

LordTrilobite is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-29-2009, 07:00 AM   #13
Snugglecakes
Junior Member
 
Snugglecakes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Cape Town, South Africa
Posts: 352
Current Game: Mata Hari
Good stuff guys. Anyone keen on restoring Stan's sign to its former glory?
Snugglecakes is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-29-2009, 07:58 AM   #14
Varrok
Rookie
 
Varrok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snugglecakes View Post
Good stuff guys. Anyone keen on restoring Stan's sign to its former glory?
As far as I know there is already such mod. Just don't remember where is it - keep looking on forums

Last edited by Varrok; 11-29-2009 at 08:20 AM.
Varrok is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-29-2009, 08:47 AM   #15
LordTrilobite
Junior Member
 
LordTrilobite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Holland
Posts: 497
Yes Khar made a fix for Stan's sign. The old download was offline so I uploaded it again, here's the link:
http://www.mediafire.com/?mzmx01t10jy

LordTrilobite is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-30-2009, 02:16 PM   #16
Snugglecakes
Junior Member
 
Snugglecakes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Cape Town, South Africa
Posts: 352
Current Game: Mata Hari
Awesome!! Thanks so much guys
Snugglecakes is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-04-2009, 04:12 PM   #17
LordTrilobite
Junior Member
 
LordTrilobite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Holland
Posts: 497
Just a news update, I'm working on some more fixes, I've fixed the moving plank outside the kitchen of the Scummbar which looked HORRID in the original MI:SE. Here's a preview of that perticular fix in the following order: Classic, Original MI:SE, Fixed MI:SE


I'm also working on fixes for the church and the road. Once I have another bigger batch of fixes I'll upload them.

LordTrilobite is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-04-2009, 07:21 PM   #18
ThunderPeel2001
Lovebucket
 
ThunderPeel2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,768
Good stuff. I'm glad someone is doing this.

ThunderPeel2001 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-04-2009, 08:39 PM   #19
Snugglecakes
Junior Member
 
Snugglecakes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Cape Town, South Africa
Posts: 352
Current Game: Mata Hari
Yep me too. Very grateful. Still astounded by the fact that the fans have to do this.
Snugglecakes is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-06-2009, 06:21 AM   #20
myloch
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 13
niiice work about the plank (I didn't notice it was better in original mode). and...guys...what's the problem with the church? to me it seems to be good.
myloch is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-06-2009, 08:06 AM   #21
LordTrilobite
Junior Member
 
LordTrilobite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Holland
Posts: 497
The church has lack of detail, bad alpha channels, remains of classic pixels and the candles don't move like in classic.

LordTrilobite is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-06-2009, 12:00 PM   #22
DooFi
Lurker
 
DooFi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 2
I actually love those original pixels. I think of them as eastereggs, in some places it's pretty obvious they were deliberately left there and they look great when switching to original. Thanks a ton for the signs! I really don't see why they changed them
DooFi is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-07-2009, 07:17 AM   #23
myloch
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 13
doofi I think you can select what mods to add simply deleting the directory corresponding to the room you don't want to change. to me candle flames move too much in the old version, they move (in a subtle realistic way) in the new version, so I think I'll stick with church unmodified version.
myloch is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-07-2009, 12:50 PM   #24
LordTrilobite
Junior Member
 
LordTrilobite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Holland
Posts: 497
The candle lights in the church SE unmodified don't move at all, the sprites are identical. They only move in the classic version. Most other rooms have proper moving candle lights, but not the church. That's why I want to fix it.
As for the pixels, even though some may not be bothered by them, I fix them because they look crappy and sloppy. Left overs that don't fit the new environment.

And yes you can delete specific room fixes and leave others so you have the fixes to want. Though it might be hard in some cases to know what fixes you want and which you don't, I'll make sure the readme is detailed enough so you can remove any unwanted fixes.

LordTrilobite is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-09-2009, 06:09 PM   #25
ThunderPeel2001
Lovebucket
 
ThunderPeel2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,768
Can anyone fix that stupid "It's 10 O'Clock" bug that was introduced in the CD version of MI?

ThunderPeel2001 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-10-2009, 01:01 AM   #26
Varrok
Rookie
 
Varrok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 59
What bug? You mean: "It's 10 o'clock."..... "It's still 10 o'clock."..... "I guess theres always 10 o'clock here."............. I think its a joke, not a bug :P
Varrok is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-10-2009, 04:50 AM   #27
myloch
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 13
I had the vga floppy version and I remember I noticed it when I was a child, it was always 10 o'clock...it's not a bug, pretty sure.

note: there are some small graphic errors in the scumm bar, under the first table on the left, with the sleeping pirate, some original pixels are visible. and the pirate standing against the wall seems like to have got different color palette in the different animation frames.
myloch is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-10-2009, 09:06 AM   #28
ThunderPeel2001
Lovebucket
 
ThunderPeel2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,768
Not the dialogue, you silly people. Of course that's not a bug! The "It's always 10 O'Clock" speech progression should only happen once Guybrush have left the screen, and then come back.

In the CD version someone introduced a bug where you can have the whole progression non-stop, so Guybrush complains that "it's ALWAYS 10 O'Clock on this island" a few seconds after he's first read the time - making the whole thing idiotic.

What SHOULD happen is Guybrush says: "It's 10 O'Clock". If you look at it again, Guybrush still says "It's 10 O'Clock". If you leave the screen and come back and look at the clock, THEN Guybrush says "Hmm. It's still 10 O'Clock". And so on.

Irritating that the SE team didn't fix it.

ThunderPeel2001 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-11-2009, 01:04 AM   #29
Varrok
Rookie
 
Varrok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 59
I didn't know i had to leave to screen to see more Guy's comments :P
Varrok is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-15-2009, 11:07 AM   #30
Thrik
Symbolically Compelling
 
Thrik's Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Nottingham, UK
Posts: 4,208
Hot Topic Starter Forum Veteran LFN Staff Member 
Man, I do actually like the special edition (I may never have played MI1 again otherwise) but some of the artistic oversights are borderline crazy. One I noticed yesterday is that when you're in the "Man it's hot here!" or whatever scene on Monkey Island, the vultures disappear behind rocks that aren't there.

Basically they moved where the background ridges are, but didn't move the clipping paths that the vultures go 'behind'. So you have these vultures weirdly appearing and disappearing in mid-air.

Amusing as they probably went to some trouble to get that realistic effect in the original.


Thrik is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-15-2009, 03:43 PM   #31
LordTrilobite
Junior Member
 
LordTrilobite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Holland
Posts: 497
I'll check that out and see what can be fixed.

LordTrilobite is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-20-2009, 08:15 AM   #32
ThunderPeel2001
Lovebucket
 
ThunderPeel2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,768
I think it might be worth making a list of the problems with the SE. So, come on people, what didn't you like? Even if there's no chance of anyone fixing them (maybe one day it will be possible).

I'll start:
  • Guybrush's hair (natch).
  • The interface.
  • The pause. Between. Every. Line.
  • The infamous "10 O'Clock" bug.
  • The opening cliff path that Guybrush walks down isn't quite in perspective.
  • The voice acting in the Scumm Bar.
  • The fact that when GB is told he has love written all over his face, the word "LOVE" is SPOKEN(!)

I'm sure there's a lot more...

ThunderPeel2001 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-20-2009, 02:12 PM   #33
wannabe_pirate
Rookie
 
wannabe_pirate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 14
Don't know if this has already been brought up, but I noticed the same visible pixels from the old background in the path to the Giant Monkey Head screen. A few of the totem poles had not really been changed at all

EDIT: and I seem to remember, during the scene where your crew all meets at the dock and looks out at the ship, there being some very weird things happening with the character sprites (overlapping strangely, etc)
wannabe_pirate is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-21-2009, 06:51 AM   #34
LordTrilobite
Junior Member
 
LordTrilobite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Holland
Posts: 497
Hm, perhaps replacing the narrator sound files with empty ones with the same names will remove the voice properly.

And couldn't you fix those pauses between lines by setting shorter text displaytime?

I plan to replace the Tentacle idol at the Giant Monkey Head back to a Sam and Max idol.
And I'll of course continue with fixing all sorts of minor errors in the backgrounds.

As for GB's hair. we should all get together to make a mod that changes all characters to CoMI style.

LordTrilobite is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-21-2009, 11:59 AM   #35
koun
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by LordTrilobite View Post
And couldn't you fix those pauses between lines by setting shorter text displaytime?
IIRC setting faster subtitles in classic mode makes the speech in SE mode more fluent
koun is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-26-2009, 10:02 AM   #36
LordTrilobite
Junior Member
 
LordTrilobite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Holland
Posts: 497
Right, here's a late christmas present from me to you guys.

An update for the backgrounds fix.

I've added fixes for the plank in the Scummbar kitchen, alpha fixes for the inside of the mansion and some alpha fixes for the church.
Enjoy.

For the download, check my post at the top of the thread.

LordTrilobite is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-26-2009, 02:12 PM   #37
Krasas
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Greece
Posts: 22
Current Game: Tales of MI
Great work LordTrilobyte LordTrilobite!
edit: whoops

Last edited by Krasas; 12-26-2009 at 03:37 PM.
Krasas is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-26-2009, 02:38 PM   #38
LordTrilobite
Junior Member
 
LordTrilobite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Holland
Posts: 497
Trilobite is with an I silly :P

LordTrilobite is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-26-2009, 03:48 PM   #39
jp-30
 
jp-30's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 968
The International House of Mojo Staff 
Quote:
Originally Posted by LordTrilobite View Post
Hm, perhaps replacing the narrator sound files with empty ones with the same names will remove the voice properly.
I have wondered if all the SE textures are replaced with 100% transparent ones (maybe even 1x1 pixels, all of them), will the Classic version of the game be visible / playable with the new voices, music and interface?
jp-30 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-26-2009, 03:57 PM   #40
LordTrilobite
Junior Member
 
LordTrilobite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Holland
Posts: 497
When I get back from vacation, I'll be sure to try that to see if it works.

LordTrilobite is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Mixnmojo.com > Community Discussion Forums > SCUMM > MI:SE updates, repaints, mods, new arts...

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:47 PM.


LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.