lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Running Grim Fandango on a netbook
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 02-14-2010, 10:38 AM   #1
lynnc
Lurker
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 5
Unhappy Running Grim Fandango on a netbook

I have installed the patch and am running from the hard drive on my ASUS netbook. However it keeps hanging and sputtering at random times, even when I play in windowed mode. I ran DXDIAG and I seem to have Direct X 5.03 that came with this machine. Display 1 passes the DXDIAG tests even though there are lots of files flagged as missing. The machine has Windows NT 5.1 and Intel Pentium MMX. I have plenty of RAM and disk space. I would really love to be able to play this game when I travel on planes, so I hope someone can help.
lynnc is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-14-2010, 03:58 PM   #2
MeddlingMonk
Veteran
 
MeddlingMonk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 771
A netbook is a pretty wimpy machine, even where a 12-year-old game is concerned. And, personally, I'd rather gnaw my own legs off rather than come anywhere near Windows NT ever again. That said, it's possible that your main problem is DirectX. I believe that GF needs at a minimum DirectX 6, which came on the original game CDs.
MeddlingMonk is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-17-2010, 03:37 PM   #3
lynnc
Lurker
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 5
I uninstalled the game, reinstalled DirectX 9.0 which I can find online. I run DXDIAG on the machine and it confirms DirectX 9.0 (which is apparently what ships with ASUS netbooks.) So then when I look in the Program Files/Lucas Arts directory and run that DXDIAG it says it is version 5.03 - this is apparently what came on the CDs that I bought. Should I download DirectX 6.0 and try to replace the 9.0 that I currently have? Will that work?
lynnc is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-17-2010, 08:49 PM   #4
MeddlingMonk
Veteran
 
MeddlingMonk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 771
If you have DX 9 (on a WinNT computer??), don't install DX 6. The game's diagnostic program is just misidentifying the DX version. Is the game's diagnostic program also identifying your OS as Windows NT? If so, don't bother using the game's diagnostic program. It's too old to correctly identify anything. Now that I know you have DX 9, it's obvious you couldn't possibly have NT installed. And if you really, truly have a netbook it doesn't seem likely that it'd have a Pentium MMX processor now that I think about it.

Now that's straight, you must have XP at least installed on this computer. Or you may have Vista or even Windows 7, depending on how old the netbook is. It's possible that you might benefit from running GF in compatibility mode. And/or maybe installing the game using the Quick and Easy installer/launcher would be a good idea if you haven't already. BTW, how are you installing the game at all? Netbooks don't have optical drives, so you would have to be using an external drive. Whether or not you're using the Q&E installer, are you copying the data files to the hard drive?

On the other hand, maybe your hard drive just needs defragging.

I know I'm throwing a lot at you, but there isn't an obvious cause or solution. I suggest starting by uninstalling GF again, check drive fragmentation and defrag if over...let's say 7%. If you've never defragged the drive, you may be surprised at how highly fragmented it might be. Reinstall using the Quick and Easy installer, making sure that it copies the data files and runs the patch.
MeddlingMonk is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-18-2010, 01:16 AM   #5
lynnc
Lurker
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 5
I have a very new netbook, it says it runs Win XP Home. Here is the output from the
DXDIAG that comes with the machine:
Operating System: Windows XP Home Edition (5.1, Build 2600) Service Pack 3 (2600.xpsp_sp3_gdr.091208-2036)
Language: English (Regional Setting: English)
System Manufacturer: ASUSTeK Computer INC.
System Model: 1005HA
BIOS: BIOS Date: 06/18/09 17:28:52 Ver: 08.00.12
Processor: Intel(R) Atom(TM) CPU N280 @ 1.66GHz (2 CPUs)
Memory: 2040MB RAM
Page File: 535MB used, 2873MB available
Windows Dir: C:\WINDOWS
DirectX Version: DirectX 9.0c (4.09.0000.0904)
DX Setup Parameters: Not found

I did use an external CD drive to do the install through the hard drive installer
GrimSetup1.0.exe and installed the patch, as the point is to try to run it without the drive so I can play it on airplanes. It starts working just fine from the hard drive
through the first extended animated sequence. It is only when I go to try to play the game that it starts to hang at various unpredictable times and the music/sound stutters.
And then you can't control Manny any more either.

Here is some more output from DXDIAG:
isplay Devices
---------------
Card name: Mobile Intel(R) 945 Express Chipset Family
Manufacturer: Intel Corporation
Chip type: Intel(R) GMA 950
DAC type: Internal
Device Key: Enum\PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_27AE&SUBSYS_83401043&REV_03
Display Memory: 224.0 MB
Current Mode: 1024 x 600 (32 bit) (60Hz)
Monitor: Digital Flat Panel (1024x768)
Monitor Max Res:
Driver Name: igxprd32.dll
Driver Version: 6.14.0010.4906 (English)
DDI Version: 9 (or higher)

I can send you the whole file if that would help but I didn't want to clog the forum post any further.
lynnc is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-18-2010, 02:17 AM   #6
lynnc
Lurker
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 5
Here are some other things I tried after reading more posts: turning off 3D acceleration and DirectDraw in DXDIAG. Running in software mode. RIght clicking on the program in the task manager and choosing only CPU 1 in the Affinity setting. Turning down the sound quality in DXDIAG to standard. None of these fixed the problem. Not sure what exactly you mean by compatibility mode if it is not software mode? I really do appreciate the advice!
I can run for about 4 -5 minutes before it hangs and I have to save the game, and then quit and restart....
lynnc is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-19-2010, 02:53 AM   #7
lynnc
Lurker
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 5
The patch from Jona seems to have fixed my problems, once I finally got the files extracted from the .rar file. Thanks Jona!

For anyone reading this thread, it is here:
http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=195709
lynnc is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-19-2010, 08:07 PM   #8
MeddlingMonk
Veteran
 
MeddlingMonk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 771
Good to hear. I hadn't even thought about Jona's fix. Probably because I've never used it myself. Not sure what you meant by 'hangs' since you say you can save and quit. I have a sneaky suspicion you were running into the hyperthreading problem, though, one of the thing's Jona's fix addresses. I prefer imagecfg.exe myself for that because it works on any older game that doesn't like hyperthreading.
MeddlingMonk is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-20-2010, 12:15 PM   #9
Longcat
Junior Member
 
Longcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 287
Well, my fix does use imagecfg:P

lynnc: np.
Longcat is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-20-2010, 07:41 PM   #10
MeddlingMonk
Veteran
 
MeddlingMonk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 771
Yes, as part of a package that only works with GF; and a very, very convenient and useful package it is, too. My point, badly made, was only that I like to use imagecfg all by its lonesome as a one-size-fits-all solution.
MeddlingMonk is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-21-2010, 07:24 AM   #11
Longcat
Junior Member
 
Longcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 287
Right. I agree that it is a very useful tool. It fixed Black Dahlia for me as well.
Longcat is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Grim Fandango Discussion > General Forums > Glottis' Garage > Running Grim Fandango on a netbook

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:06 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.