lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: how to protect against jamsgbof.cfg
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 10-05-2005, 07:14 AM   #1
jedi-Guard
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 207
how to protect against jamsgbof.cfg

Hello again.
How can i protect my server against that Jamsgbof.cfg

http://www.securiteam.com/securitynews/5AP051FFGY.html

i tested an unofficial patch that was suppose to protect against udp buffer overflow, you can find that file here

http://jediknight2.filefront.com/fil..._Servers;41652

other ways ?
jedi-Guard is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-05-2005, 10:46 AM   #2
Jemrada
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 21
Hello, I am new with JO and running a dedicated JO on my computer.

WHat is this jamsgbof.cfg? Is it a means for crashing a server? I have been having trouble with players crashing me latley and I have recently changed to the DCmod 1.1 Can't seem to find Dcmod 1.2 that I heard about for JO.
Jemrada is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-05-2005, 07:18 PM   #3
jedi-Guard
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 207
this jamsgbof.cfg is the file that is responsible for crashing the server, its normal clients that can crash the server without admin permissions.
One way to protect vs that is to log his ip and ban him, but cant help if you are not connected to the server.
I need help with that too.
jedi-Guard is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-07-2005, 07:39 PM   #4
Kurgan
Headhunter
 
Kurgan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1997
Location: The Dawn of Time
Posts: 18,298
LFN Staff Member 10 year veteran! 
You can remote admin servers through ASE, JA Tracker web panel and other programs.


Download JK2 maps for JA Server|BOOT CAMP!|Strategic Academy|
(JA Server: 108.178.55.189:29070)


"The Concussion Rifle is the weapon of a Jedi Knight Player, an elegant weapon, from a more civilized community." - Kyle Katarn
Kurgan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-23-2005, 10:45 AM   #5
jedi-Guard
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 207
Hrmmm i made a small progress but i have been a bad jedi too.
Couple of day ago, i was wonder if there is a way to protect the server against ---> jamsgbof.cfg.
My server is being attacked by idiots ( sorry my language ) too many times now, so i downloaded the file my self and started an investigation.
Which server is protected vs jamsgbof.cfg.
Out of 20 to 50 JA servers with mods and none mods only 1 server did crash ( sorry again that i did crash servers ).
I made a copy and added more text in the jamsgbof.cfg still nothing, i tried the last time with the original, but nop. Then i tried it on my server with the original jamsgbof.cfg, well my server went to sleep very fast.
I actually found the owner of that server, i asked the owner if i could get a copy of this Server.cfg, I did, nothing special in it just pure mess in it, i suspect hes still learning about his JA+ mod server.
I Ask the owner of that stable server alot about his server and hardware configurations, he seems to understand what ram is and couple of other things, but not on professionel level. ( didnt get far with that )
Then i tried to compare his server.cfg and my server.cfg i used his on my server.cfg and i did the exec jamsgbof.cfg, what happen ? bad news my server crashed, didnt help.
I tried with Unofficial JAWinded.exe and with Official jamp.exe ---> Bad news again, didnt work.
I suspect its a hardware protection vs that buffer overflow, i simply need help to solv this problem, since there wont be a new patch on its way.

I NEED IDEAS AND MORE TO SOLV THIS AND I STILL GOT MORE IDEAS TO TEST MY SELF, PLEASE ADD HERE SO WE CAN SOLV IT AND FIX IT.

Thank you all for reading and supporting.
jedi-Guard is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-14-2005, 02:46 PM   #6
razorace
Impressive, Terran!
 
razorace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9,162
mmm, that's interesting. Slider won't be happy to hear that his fix doesn't work.


---Jedi Guardian of the Newbie Questions
---Masters of the Force Team Leader / Creator
---Open Jedi Project Lead Moderator / Co-Founder
razorace is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-18-2005, 07:04 PM   #7
jedi-Guard
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 207
slider ? who is slider ?
jedi-Guard is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-18-2005, 11:31 PM   #8
razorace
Impressive, Terran!
 
razorace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9,162
The JA+ author. He's the one that tried to do the patched exec.


---Jedi Guardian of the Newbie Questions
---Masters of the Force Team Leader / Creator
---Open Jedi Project Lead Moderator / Co-Founder
razorace is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-20-2005, 09:16 AM   #9
jedi-Guard
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 207
Well how i understand the unofficial exec file is that it should be protected against large udp flow.
I dont know if thats the same as the jamsgbof.cfg file.

is it ?
cu all again
jedi-Guard is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-20-2005, 03:44 PM   #10
razorace
Impressive, Terran!
 
razorace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9,162
mmm, I assumed it was, as I wasn't aware of two seperate buffer overflow issues that affected JKA. *shrug*


---Jedi Guardian of the Newbie Questions
---Masters of the Force Team Leader / Creator
---Open Jedi Project Lead Moderator / Co-Founder
razorace is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-20-2005, 05:56 PM   #11
jedi-Guard
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 207
Well if the large udp flow is the same as jamsgbof.cfg, then which one are you talking about it ?.
Is there another one that i dont know ? ( of course there is LOL )
cu for now again
jedi-Guard is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-04-2006, 02:55 AM   #12
jedi-Guard
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 207
I have found a way to protect a "None mod server" against the Jamsgbof.cfg. I just need to explain it the right way, then ill add it.
Have a nice day all
jedi-Guard is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-05-2006, 12:26 AM   #13
Kurgan
Headhunter
 
Kurgan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1997
Location: The Dawn of Time
Posts: 18,298
LFN Staff Member 10 year veteran! 
Sounds good! We could use the help...


Download JK2 maps for JA Server|BOOT CAMP!|Strategic Academy|
(JA Server: 108.178.55.189:29070)


"The Concussion Rifle is the weapon of a Jedi Knight Player, an elegant weapon, from a more civilized community." - Kyle Katarn
Kurgan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-05-2006, 11:20 AM   #14
jedi-Guard
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 207
Ill try to explain my self as good as possible.
It might be hard to find the file to fix it, but i found it in year 2004 when i stopped playing Jedi Academy and now am back, and i want to help, and i cant find the file on the wwws anymore, BUT people call me smart and intelligent because i burned that 10 kb file on a 650 mb cd and made double copies of that cd. One thing i didnt was to write the instruction, but that was the last thing i was thinking of, cause i was thinking of "YES I FOUND A SOLUTION TO ONE OF MY BIGGEST PROBLEMS" lol :P.
The reason i delay this message was because i had to find out how i did it, and now i know it.
So couple of dollars wont hurt if i got to post this message, but since this forum is free, ill add it here and now.
READY ALL TO HEAR HOW ITS DONE ? ( Not a smart move there and people calls me smart and intelligent ).
Of course everyone is ready, especially those none mod server, kind of like me.

HERE IT IS
The way to Protect your none mode server against buffer overflow, is to use a different way to patch the small hole that your server has.
You need to open assets3.pk3 and inside there is a file called jampgamex86.dll.
jampgamex86.dll is the bad file and you need to patch that file.
The patch file is alittle bit special, you need a call of duty message fix file which is only 10 kb large, thats the one you need to execute and select the jampgamex86.dll file to close the bug hole.
Then you move the file back into assets3.pk3 file and its fixed.
You can also replace the Jampgamex.86.dll with JA+ owns fix jampgamex86.dll, but thats not recommended.
If you have JA+ mods, then i have heard that you need to install it the right way for that fix works on the server. I honestly dont care about mode servers, cause i dont like mods.
There is one thing that might stop fixing that buffer overflow problem. That call of duty file cant befound on the web. It might be there, but i cant find it.
If someone else want to make it avalible public, then i can send the file to you, cause i have on cds.
You can also find me on my Powerduel Server, i might can help from there too. Just look for "Jedi-Guard"
Servername = Jedi-Academy-Server
Have a nice day all
jedi-Guard is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-05-2006, 11:21 AM   #15
jedi-Guard
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 207
Sorry for mistakes or other things i might have forgotten or something else.

Have a nice day all.
jedi-Guard is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-11-2006, 05:57 PM   #16
jedi-Guard
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 207
MORE GREAT NEWS.
I actually finally found the page i learned to fix the buffer overflow.

http://aluigi.altervista.org/patches/jamsgfix.txt <---- this one.
The explanation is alot better there, then what i have added.

This is the patch file that is needed, right now, its working.

http://aluigi.org/patches/codmsgfix.zip <---- works now for me, hope it works for you too.

I beleave this case is closed now.
jedi-Guard is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-06-2007, 09:47 AM   #17
Falco17
Lurker
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1
DCMoD 1.2

http://dcmod.jsjmapdesign.com/downloads/

there is their main site it has the DCMoD 1.1 and 1.2 and some server stuff
Falco17 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-07-2007, 12:01 PM   #18
darkecho05
Rookie
 
darkecho05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sweden
Posts: 48
I'm using 1.0 and i have downloaded ipatch, runned it and extracted jampgamex86.dll to the desktops, and mounted the jampgamex86.dll with ipatch, it only says "the data files is oncomplete or corrupted" what am i doing wrong? i really need help


Error is our enemy!
darkecho05 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-07-2007, 01:00 PM   #19
jedi-Guard
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 207
Maybe you need to patch the game with Jedi Academy Patch 1.01 before you try to patch jampgamex86.dll
jedi-Guard is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-07-2007, 05:01 PM   #20
darkecho05
Rookie
 
darkecho05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sweden
Posts: 48
I've seen other servers that can take the hit on 1.0, there must be a way


Error is our enemy!

Last edited by darkecho05; 05-08-2007 at 11:31 AM. Reason: codmsgfix
darkecho05 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-08-2007, 09:08 AM   #21
jedi-Guard
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 207
There are no lucasarts or ravensoft patch for the codmsgfix.
The link might be too old and removed.
I do have the small file to patch the jampgamex86.dll, but i would recommend you keep looking out there and type this filename codmsgfix.zip and press search.
May the force be with us all.
jedi-Guard is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-08-2007, 10:44 AM   #22
darkecho05
Rookie
 
darkecho05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sweden
Posts: 48
Alright..
For all you who need codmsgfix, here it is

http://www.iwnation.com/Forums/index...e=post&id=3205


Error is our enemy!

Last edited by darkecho05; 05-09-2007 at 09:00 AM.
darkecho05 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-08-2007, 11:41 AM   #23
jedi-Guard
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 207
did you put it back to its original pk3 file ?
jedi-Guard is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-08-2007, 12:21 PM   #24
darkecho05
Rookie
 
darkecho05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sweden
Posts: 48
Exclamation

Ok Jedi-Guard, thanks anyway.. i got it, adding new info


- download the codmsgfix

- open the following file contained in your Jedi Academy folder with a
ZIP program (like Winzip for example): (OR WINRAR WORKS FINE TO)
GameData\base\assets3.pk3

note that the number of the assets file can change if you have other
versions of the game, in any case get the file with the higher
number available.

- extract the file jampgamex86.dll

- launch codmsgfix.exe and patch the jampgamex86.dll.


- select the dll file you have just extracted, you will receive a
success message

- create a zip file containing only the patched jampgamex86.dll file.
the name of the zip must be assets4.pk3 (note the number 4 while the
other zip was 3) and must be placed in the same folder where is
located assets3.pk3.


IF IN 1.0 YOU HAVE ONLY ASSETS 2 AS HIGHEST, THEREFORE TYPE "assets.pk3" INSTEAD OF 4!!

- your server is patched and will no longer crash (or worst since this
is a buffer-overflow bug).

-------------------------
More news, I've found out that when you patch jammpgamex86.dll you can only play on patched servers, other servers will put up an error message therefore you can't enter. But I'm playing in 1.0, maybe in 1.01 they are all protected.


Error is our enemy!

Last edited by darkecho05; 05-08-2007 at 01:15 PM.
darkecho05 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-08-2007, 02:32 PM   #25
jedi-Guard
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 207
Dont add on asset4.pk3, didnt work for me, add it same place you got it from.
jedi-Guard is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-09-2007, 08:59 AM   #26
darkecho05
Rookie
 
darkecho05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sweden
Posts: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by jedi-Guard
Dont add on asset4.pk3, didnt work for me, add it same place you got it from.
The difference between you and me is, you play in 1.01 and i 1.0 therefore it's not the same, I've already tried that Guard, but thanks anyway.. seems my server will never be protected against those who exploits these glitches therefore I'll never be able to host again.


Error is our enemy!
darkecho05 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-09-2007, 10:16 AM   #27
jedi-Guard
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 207
I dont think you can use this fix on version 1.0, so yes i there is a difference.
Its gonna be hard to protect your server without the patch
May the force be with you anyway.
jedi-Guard is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-10-2007, 07:39 PM   #28
ensiform
The Stig
 
ensiform's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Sawtooth Cauldron
Posts: 1,241
Current Game: Borderlands 2
What are you still using 1.0 for?

You won't find any help available for 1.0 because it was discontinued when the patch came out since MP was broken.

Upgrade or don't come askin' since most of us are using the patch.


iojamp project lead / coder
ensiform is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-11-2007, 06:48 AM   #29
darkecho05
Rookie
 
darkecho05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sweden
Posts: 48
Saw that you wrote in this thread, thought it was some useful info, but no. Don't write in any thread if you ain't got something good to say.


Error is our enemy!
darkecho05 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-07-2010, 10:06 PM   #30
Kurgan
Headhunter
 
Kurgan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1997
Location: The Dawn of Time
Posts: 18,298
LFN Staff Member 10 year veteran! 
Not to continue an old fight here, but I can see why people would continue to use JK2 1.02 rather than the updates, because the gameplay actually changed. But why would you use JKA 1.0 instead of 1.01? I mean, unless all your friends are using warez copies or something. :P

Granted, you wanted help, but I'm just saying. I don't see anything you're missing by using the old version here other than having only a few of the game servers show up in the browser (a bug in the first release).


Download JK2 maps for JA Server|BOOT CAMP!|Strategic Academy|
(JA Server: 108.178.55.189:29070)


"The Concussion Rifle is the weapon of a Jedi Knight Player, an elegant weapon, from a more civilized community." - Kyle Katarn
Kurgan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Help Center > Dedicated Server > how to protect against jamsgbof.cfg

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:23 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.