lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Read this before posting your problem!! **Updated 5/15/08**
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 03-12-2005, 10:22 PM   #1
stingerhs
Follow the Wolves
 
stingerhs's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: May 2004
Location: between my ears
Posts: 4,641
Current Game: Dead Space
Forum Veteran Roleplayer LFN Staff Member Helpful! 
Exclamation Read this before posting your problem!! **Updated 5/15/08**

First things first: Bug Reporting
If your problem even remotely sounds like a bug that doesn't have a major effect on the game itself, then please post about it in the Padawan's Lounge Forum.

If your problem is related to a mod, it belongs in the appropriate mod release thread in the Taris Upper City Emporium. If you don't know which mod is causing the problem, post it in Holowan Laboratories.

The kind of bugs that classify as Workbench type bugs will either cause random graphics problems, crash the game and/or your computer, random problems with the controls, etc. Otherwise, use the link provided above to post your problems there. Quite frankly, you'll probably get better help there since that forum is frequented much more often than this one.

Post your system specs
Sometimes we're just not going to be able to help you if we don't know what kind of hardware you have on your machine. If you don't know what you have on your machine, then follow these steps below:
  • Bring up the launcher menu for Kotor 1 or 2.
  • Click on "Configure".
  • Click the "Scan Hardware" button on the lower center of the window.
  • Click "Yes" to continue.
  • Click "Details" to view your system specs.
  • Click "Save Report" and save the file to your desktop.
  • Whenever you post your problem, open the file you just saved and copy and paste the contents to your post.

If you get a message that your computer does not meet the required specifications, then don't bother posting unless you know for a fact that the game should run. I'm sorry, but we can't help you if your computer doesn't meet the requirements.

Basic tests to try yourself before you post
Just follow these simple steps to try to solve the problem yourself:
  • 1. Restart your computer. If you start running into problems after a long period of time on the game, then simply restarting your computer will usually fix it. If not, then post.
    2. Download the latest video drivers. You would be surprise on how easily this solves most problems with starting up the game. If you can't run the game past the main menu, chances are this is all you need to do. Links for nVidia users here. Links for ATI users can be found here.
    3. Lower your graphics settings. Things like Antistropic Filtering and Antialiasing can sometimes have an adverse effect not only on performance, but also in how the game runs. If you have an older card (Geforce 4 or older; Radeon 9200 and below), I recommend that you disable Soft Shadows, Antistropic Filtering, Antialiasing, and Frame Buffer Effects. I also recommend that you run the game at either 800x600 or 1074x728 resolution. If you still have problems, then post.

If you recieve an error message when installing the game:
  • 1. First, write down the error code that is listed in the message.
    2. Go to www.google.com and enter the error code followed by "install error" in the box.
    3. In the search results, one of the first hits should be the Installshield website. They should have documentation on not only what the error code means, but also on how to fix it. Just follow their directions on how to fix it, and you should be fine.

If you have Vista:
Check the sticky called Problems running Kotor or TSL in Vista.

If you have an Intel Graphics Controller
  • Check the first post in this thread to make the game work properly.

Lastly, but not least:
  • Check out this handy Tweak Guide for some detailed information on exactly what you can do to both get the game going and to make it run the best it possibly can on your computer. Special thanks to Jae Onasi for the link.

If you have any questions or comments, then post them below.


See the struggle of the faithless lot as they negate their time
How low to sink to the depths of their frame of mind


Last edited by Jae Onasi; 04-13-2008 at 01:24 AM. Reason: added sticky for Vista problems
stingerhs is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-07-2006, 08:27 AM   #2
SITHSLAYER133
Junior Member
 
SITHSLAYER133's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: wouldnt u like to no sickos
Posts: 310
if i could recomend something if you do get a cd transfer error during install dont panic there are somethings you can do
1 get two cloths 1 wet and one dry wipe the disk
2 see if you can copy to desktop or some other place
3 try a friends comp who has a burner if it can work on his copy all the contents on to one dvd and then past them to your computer the run the install from your HDD


People in life Should Be given A single Choice where do they want to be Shot!
SITHSLAYER133 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-18-2007, 02:03 PM   #3
Merejen
Lurker
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3
Re-install problems

Tried all suggestions in this thread, no go, game ran at one time on this computer eventhough config says it does not meet mins. Have had to run in Medium resolution mode, but it did run. I really believe the missing data cab is my only problem and don't have a clue how to get that cab file, tried copying on another computer but the disk just won't copy or load, there isn't any scratches on the disk, but used a disk refurbisher anyway and still no luck. My previous post was moved so I'll include it here: Have a problem running SWKotor2 on my new laptop. My old laptop crashed and destroyed my install and when I tried to re-install on new laptop Disk 3 will not read. I am missing data4.cab. Tried to copy cabs to hard drive with partial success, now it seems I hava a missing or corrupt swpc_tex_tpa.erf file. Searched the net without any success in finding a replacement and tried using kotor tool to fix problem with no success. I'm living in the Philippines now, so sending off for a replacement disk is impossible, also there is no place to get a new copy of the program here. Any help would be appreciated. I have an AnalysisLog.sr0 file to send but don't see a way to send it at the moment.
Merejen is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-15-2008, 11:39 AM   #4
tk102
Well past expiration date
 
tk102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 5,766
Current Game: Dragon Age: Origins
Forum Veteran Helpful! Notable contributor 
Mod related questions

Mod related questions go in the Editing forums. Ideally, if you know which mod is causing your problem, you should find its mod release thread in the Taris Upper City Emporium and post it there. The mod author will be your best resource for troubleshooting and your bug may help improve future versions.

If you don't know which mod is causing the problem, you should post your question in Holowan Laboratories.


tk102 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-11-2010, 06:36 AM   #5
decalibron
Rookie
 
decalibron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: home is where the heart is
Posts: 80
Current Game: Mass Effect 2
Unhappy hi...problem with the leviathan...but not the one you're thinking of

hi, i have kotor running on windows 7. it runs like a charm, and i've already finished the game once as a ls male pc. i then played through as a ls female pc. I've gotten to the leviathan, and after i dueled and beat malak once, i wen around the back, went in, and fought him again. After i handily dispatched him a second time, it went to the scene where myself, bastila, and carth were discussing who would go to rescue us from the holding cells. Carth and Bastila were still in the hangar bay, as was i (ie we hadn't moved) but we were discussing that...anyway, after that pointless dialog is repeated, malak and i are just sitting in that little room where one duels him a second time. none of the doors open, and i cant talk to him, so i walk around and try to open the doors, but they don't work. so im stuck in that room, and i cant get past it!!!
decalibron is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-11-2010, 02:22 PM   #6
Q
The one who knocks
 
Q's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: ABQ
Posts: 6,643
Current Game: Mowing down neos with my M60
LF Jester Forum Veteran Helpful! 
First off, I strongly recommend that you keep your saves and reinstall the game according to the large-print instructions at the top of the second post in this thread. Then try going back to an earlier save from before you entered that final Leviathan module.

And it's perfectly okay to start your own thread when posting a problem.


"They should rename the team to the Washington Government Sucks. Put Obama on the helmet. Line the entire walls of the stadium with the actual text of the ACA.
Fix their home team score on the board to the debt clock, they can win every game 17,000,000,000,000 to 24. Losing team gets taxed by the IRS 100%, then droned."
-Toker
Q is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Trouble Shooting > The Work Bench > Read this before posting your problem!! **Updated 5/15/08**

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:59 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.