lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: HELP! My grim fandango is not fully compatible with my video card.
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 04-20-2011, 12:39 PM   #1
pedroviegas
Lurker
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 3
HELP! My grim fandango is not fully compatible with my video card.

Hi, my grim fandango not appear to be compatible with my video card. The game runs but it works with some graphical errors. You can use any kind of upgrade that is 100% compatible with my video card? Thanks

E-mail: peeviegas@hotmail.com

My video card: http://www.nvidia.com.br/object/geforce_9800gt_br.html

HELP ME PLEASE.
pedroviegas is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-22-2011, 08:40 AM   #2
Longcat
Junior Member
 
Longcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 291
No, there is no current solution to this problem. On the upside, Residual development has sped up recently and is now playable until year 4, so it shouldn't be too long before you can play it again.
Longcat is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-23-2011, 10:54 AM   #3
Thrik
Symbolically Compelling
 
Thrik's Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Nottingham, UK
Posts: 4,208
Hot Topic Starter Forum Veteran LFN Staff Member 
Has it indeed? That's good to know — hopefully it finally being done won't coincide with a LucasArts re-release for the consoles and PC!

How does Residual cope with displaying the game in higher resolutions? Obviously the assets are going to remain low-res but I'd imagine it'd still look better with the polygons nice and smooth rather than having gigantic jaggies on a 1080p TV like the last time I tried GF. :s


Thrik is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-24-2011, 08:40 AM   #4
Longcat
Junior Member
 
Longcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 291
yeah, it uses OpenGL so hardware acceleration should be much better. Plus I imagine it can upscale the graphics with scalers in the same manner as ScummVM when it's done(it can't yet). The game is now finishable by the way, so congratualtions are in order
Longcat is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-24-2011, 01:55 PM   #5
Thrik
Symbolically Compelling
 
Thrik's Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Nottingham, UK
Posts: 4,208
Hot Topic Starter Forum Veteran LFN Staff Member 
Superb. Muchos congratulations indeed for any and all Residual contributors!


Thrik is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-24-2011, 06:32 PM   #6
MeddlingMonk
Veteran
 
MeddlingMonk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 772
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thrik View Post
How does Residual cope with displaying the game in higher resolutions?
From what I can tell, it doesn't. It just switches to the lower resolution if you're playing fullscreen.

A lot of the basic stuff is still not working despite the advances made (such as, you can't switch off subtitles). I figure things like higher resolutions will have to wait until the game runs like the original.
MeddlingMonk is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Grim Fandango Discussion > General Forums > Land of the Dead > HELP! My grim fandango is not fully compatible with my video card.

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:19 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.