lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Nwnsscomp Output Issue
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 04-29-2011, 04:21 PM   #1
JoFlashStudios
Rookie
 
JoFlashStudios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Star Forge
Posts: 54
Current Game: KotOR
Unhappy Nwnsscomp Output Issue

I'm having a problem with NWnsscomp, and I'm wondering if it's just me. What happens is this:

Regardless if I'm using KotOR Tool or using NWnsscomp directly from the command line, for certain scripts, it claims that it has compiled without any errors, but no output file is generated. It's seemingly random, except that once a given script file decides not to compile, I can rename, move, or even copy the text into an entirely new script, and it still won't generate any output. This makes me think that it has something to do with the text of the script itself. However, I haven't found any common denominator, such as a certain type of expression or a certain function call that is present in all failed files. From little three line scripts such as:
Code:
void Main()
{
object oPC = GetFirstPC();
object myrobes = CreateItemOnObject("jf_missionsrobe", oPC);
ActionEquipItem(myrobes, INVENTORY_SLOT_BODY, TRUE);
}
To an unmodified copy of k_inc_force.nss - they compile, but there's no output.

Anybody got any idea what's going on?
JoFlashStudios is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-29-2011, 05:41 PM   #2
ChAiNz.2da
Brony 4 Life. Yo.
 
ChAiNz.2da's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Tennessee (USA)
Posts: 6,845
Current Game: Minecraft MP: PynCraft|Tekkit
K1 or TSL?

TSL introduced a syntax error in the nwscript.nss

http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=146472


"Eagles May Soar, But Weasels Don't Get Sucked Into Jet Engines"


| Mods (FF) (DS) | Folding | SWK.com | FB: (LF) (Me) | Steam | The Herd |
ChAiNz.2da is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-29-2011, 05:54 PM   #3
JoFlashStudios
Rookie
 
JoFlashStudios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Star Forge
Posts: 54
Current Game: KotOR
KotOR 1.
Sorry I didn't specify.
JoFlashStudios is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-30-2011, 05:08 PM   #4
Qui-Gon Glenn
Necessary Roughneck
 
Qui-Gon Glenn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Thessia
Posts: 1,464
Current Game: ME3MP, Arkham Origins
Folder extraordinaire Helpful! Forum Veteran Veteran Modder 
I have experienced this, and have second-guessed myself, but it seems to me that when using kotor tool as a compiler, I have to remember to change the specific output filetype to .ncs. I am convinced on my own part that those "failed" compilations are mostly user-error on my part.

I have never used nwnsscomp directly as my compiler, so I cannot speak to that experience.


Want to play a game of ME3MP?
Qui-Gon_Glenn on the software of which we shall not name.... add me and the enemy shall fall in chunks of crimson salsa
Qui-Gon Glenn is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-08-2011, 10:19 AM   #5
JoFlashStudios
Rookie
 
JoFlashStudios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Star Forge
Posts: 54
Current Game: KotOR
I've tried extensively, specifying output as both nss and ncs, and the same scripts refuse to compile. Any idea why the below script would compile with no errors, but generate no output?
Code:
void Main()
{
object oPC = GetFirstPC();
object myrobes = CreateItemOnObject("jf_missionsrobe",oPC);
ActionEquipItem(myrobes, INVENTORY_SLOT_BODY, TRUE);
}
JoFlashStudios is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-08-2011, 03:37 PM   #6
Qui-Gon Glenn
Necessary Roughneck
 
Qui-Gon Glenn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Thessia
Posts: 1,464
Current Game: ME3MP, Arkham Origins
Folder extraordinaire Helpful! Forum Veteran Veteran Modder 
Well, using KTool Text Editor to compile the above script, it compiled to .ncs in about 11ms.

Then when I looked for the .ncs file, it was (and is) non-existent

Very strange indeed.... never seen this before. I will have to think about it a bit, but this is curious. I am wondering if it is because of the logic of CreateItemOnObject v. ActionEquipItem... but at this point at a bit of a loss.


Want to play a game of ME3MP?
Qui-Gon_Glenn on the software of which we shall not name.... add me and the enemy shall fall in chunks of crimson salsa
Qui-Gon Glenn is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-08-2011, 03:52 PM   #7
JoFlashStudios
Rookie
 
JoFlashStudios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Star Forge
Posts: 54
Current Game: KotOR
I did some testing, and even if I change it to:
Code:
void Main()
{
}
it doesn't generate any output. Should Main not be capitalized?
I was able to get a nearly identical script to compile, where it was "main()" however.
JoFlashStudios is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-08-2011, 05:07 PM   #8
Qui-Gon Glenn
Necessary Roughneck
 
Qui-Gon Glenn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Thessia
Posts: 1,464
Current Game: ME3MP, Arkham Origins
Folder extraordinaire Helpful! Forum Veteran Veteran Modder 
interesting idea on the whole "Main" vs "main"... I have never capitalized main, and I just copy & pasted your script into the editor. I will test this in a minute for you. Wild wacky stuff.


Want to play a game of ME3MP?
Qui-Gon_Glenn on the software of which we shall not name.... add me and the enemy shall fall in chunks of crimson salsa
Qui-Gon Glenn is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-08-2011, 05:34 PM   #9
JoFlashStudios
Rookie
 
JoFlashStudios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Star Forge
Posts: 54
Current Game: KotOR
Good news - I've tested an identical file, one saying
Code:
void Main()
{
}
and the other saying
Code:
void main()
{
}
They both compile fine, but the first doesn't generate any output, while the second does. Absolutely nothing changed other than that; same file, and I didn't even close the KotOR tool text editor between compiles.

I think this pins it down; for some reason, scripts with "Main()" compile, but NWnsscomp doesn't generate any output.

Qui-Gon, do your results match this?
JoFlashStudios is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-08-2011, 09:58 PM   #10
Qui-Gon Glenn
Necessary Roughneck
 
Qui-Gon Glenn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Thessia
Posts: 1,464
Current Game: ME3MP, Arkham Origins
Folder extraordinaire Helpful! Forum Veteran Veteran Modder 
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoFlashStudios View Post
Good news - I've tested an identical file, one saying
Code:
void Main()
{
}
and the other saying
Code:
void main()
{
}
They both compile fine, but the first doesn't generate any output, while the second does. Absolutely nothing changed other than that; same file, and I didn't even close the KotOR tool text editor between compiles.

I think this pins it down; for some reason, scripts with "Main()" compile, but NWnsscomp doesn't generate any output.

Qui-Gon, do your results match this?
Yes I just tested this on your earlier script with the AddEquip scripts, changed Main to main and compiled... and you have a working script that was properly output into my override. It seems that a tiny detail like a "M" where an "m" should be will hose the machine

Glad you figured it out, take this as confirmation on your problem and solution


Want to play a game of ME3MP?
Qui-Gon_Glenn on the software of which we shall not name.... add me and the enemy shall fall in chunks of crimson salsa
Qui-Gon Glenn is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-08-2011, 11:40 PM   #11
JoFlashStudios
Rookie
 
JoFlashStudios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Star Forge
Posts: 54
Current Game: KotOR
Snazzy. Thanks for your help.
JoFlashStudios is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Editing / Modding > T3-M4's Astromech Droid Center > Nwnsscomp Output Issue

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:43 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.