lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Dark Forces 2 - Control Problem!
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 03-04-2008, 07:53 AM   #1
tarbee
Lurker
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 5
Dark Forces 2 - Control Problem!

Hi,

I have recently got back into Star Wars gaming on my PC having played the original Dark Forces and have bought Dark Forces 2 & Jedi Outcast. The only problem I have is with the controls in DF2. I am trying to use a joy stick along with the keyboard but for some strange reason I cannot get the page up/down buttons to function and the centre button?? I have tried re-installing the game but no joy? I have tried enabling disabling different buttons including the mouse etc but no joy. Apart from this everything works ok except that when I click on calibrate joystick when Im in the game itself it crashes big time!!

Any tips or ideas would be much appreciated as I uploaded the mod and the graphics are great (but this issue seems to affect both original and modded version).

tarbee is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-04-2008, 10:44 AM   #2
Hyde_
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Argentina
Posts: 27
Weird prob you've got there... to tell you the truth, i have no idea how to fix it, because i don't use a joystick for JK (or any other 1st or 3rd person game). I just use a convination of keyboard (for moving back and forward, strafe, force powers and stuff) and mouse (to look around and up and down). Maybe try that? If you get used to it, you might find it better than the way you used to play it with a joystick... I find it much faster and more efective.


JAS_Hyde
Jedi Against Sith (JAS) - An active JK clan
http://jas.iforumer.com/index.php
Hyde_ is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-04-2008, 11:48 AM   #3
DeadYorick
The Keeper of Peace
 
DeadYorick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,275
Current Game: Pheonix Wright
I think he knows about using a mouse.

Anyway its possible either that your keyboard's buttons are broken or you really need to get a new Joystick.

You don't need the page up/down buttons. Just rebind them


"There's gotta be a better way to make a living"
-Kyle Katarn
DeadYorick is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-04-2008, 06:42 PM   #4
tarbee
Lurker
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 5
Thanks for your replies!!
My keyboard is ok with other games etc and isnt broken. My joystick is brand new and works ok on other games as well. As soon as I try yo "Identify" the joystick in the main options screen - my view drops and all I can see is the floor and I cant look up but can move around (not that its much use!!) Cant choose joystick configure option as game crashes straight away-every time - so obviously some joysick/controller issue but how the heck do I fix it??
tarbee is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-04-2008, 09:10 PM   #5
DeadYorick
The Keeper of Peace
 
DeadYorick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,275
Current Game: Pheonix Wright
Its possible that your joystick is using much newer technology then DF2 uses and is registering it differently. However I do not know how to fix something like this.


"There's gotta be a better way to make a living"
-Kyle Katarn
DeadYorick is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-04-2008, 09:54 PM   #6
JKLE_Cougar
Junior Member
 
JKLE_Cougar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 285
do you have the latest drivers for it?

if you used a disc the joystick came with its possible they are not the newest ones

I would check the website of the joystick to see if they have newer drivers and install those

[EDIT]

OH STUPID ME!

There is a 1.01 patch for JK that fixes Joystick issues..... how could I have forgotten that

go on the Lucas arts website and download the 1.01 patch for JK

try both of these ideas and see if it helps


JKLE one of the last active JK and MotS clans out there jkle.jkdf2.net
Legends return one last time
JKLE_Cougar is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-05-2008, 09:54 AM   #7
tarbee
Lurker
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 5
Yeah tried the joystick patch but no joy - get it!! sorry... And dont appear to be any new driver updates for the usb joystick. Loaded Jedi Outcast game (just bought it) and that works fine with my new usb joystick so looks like I need to use my old serial joystick for DF2.
I suppose best to get PCI card with serial interface on it (15 pin) Did have one on my old sound card but my new one doesnt...bugger!!! Will let you know how I get on!
tarbee is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-05-2008, 05:31 PM   #8
JKLE_Cougar
Junior Member
 
JKLE_Cougar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 285
ok I guess try that

also as a last resort you could also try the unoffical patch for Jedi Knight

it fixes alot of bugs that are in JK....

over here...

http://jkhub.net/project/show.php?projid=292


JKLE one of the last active JK and MotS clans out there jkle.jkdf2.net
Legends return one last time
JKLE_Cougar is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-09-2008, 10:46 AM   #9
tarbee
Lurker
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 5
Thumbs up

Bought game port for my old joystick and installed it on motherboard. And though even windows XP Home recognises it ok it still doesnt work in DF2 though I can calibrate it now in-game, which I couldnt do before! Have tried patches mentioned above and still no joy so admitted defeat and using mouse with keyboard which to be honest aint bad!! Great game and updated graphics are superb
tarbee is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-09-2008, 10:21 PM   #10
JKLE_Cougar
Junior Member
 
JKLE_Cougar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 285
well glad it all worked out


JKLE one of the last active JK and MotS clans out there jkle.jkdf2.net
Legends return one last time
JKLE_Cougar is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-12-2008, 10:59 AM   #11
tarbee
Lurker
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 5
Many thanks for everyones help!! The updated graphics are just great! Does anyone know if the original DF game has had a graphics update done on it by anyone?

Many Thanks!!
tarbee is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-13-2008, 02:50 AM   #12
JKLE_Cougar
Junior Member
 
JKLE_Cougar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 285
Check here for Dark Forces.... http://www.df-21.net/


JKLE one of the last active JK and MotS clans out there jkle.jkdf2.net
Legends return one last time
JKLE_Cougar is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-07-2011, 02:28 AM   #13
borgrail
Lurker
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 2
usb gamepad problem

Hi,
I realise this thread is a bit old now but I have a similar problem.

Some years ago I played DF2 and used a Logitech Thunderpad gameport controller no problem.

Now I have a computer running XP sp3 with no gameport, so bought a usb gamepad, which works fine in other games.

If I enable it, I am always looking at the floor and the mousewheel will bring the view up but it goes back down again as fast it went up!

If I disable the gamepad all is well.

I was thinking about getting a PCI soundcard with gameport and using my old gamepad, which worked well before but reading this thread has prompted me to re-consider.

It seems to me that there must somehow be a conflict between the gamepad and mouse, now the question is did he leave the usb controller plugged in whilst trying to use the old gamepad and gameport or is it a problem with DF2 in XP?

In which case there would be little point in getting a PCI card to use the old gamepad.

Perhaps using a utility to map the gamepad buttons to the keyboard would work? I'll try it.
borgrail is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-07-2011, 02:47 AM   #14
borgrail
Lurker
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 2
usb gamepad problem

Hi,

That was soon sorted! JoytoKey works for me, deep joy, I can now use my USB gamepad in DF2.
borgrail is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Game Discussion > Jedi Knight / MotS > Dark Forces 2 - Control Problem!

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:21 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.