lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Hey geeks and gear heads, Groovy needs your help!
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 04-25-2012, 09:14 AM   #1
Darth Groovy
The Dapper Zabrak
 
Darth Groovy's Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Joliet, IL, USA
Posts: 11,297
Current Game: Awaiting Greatness from PS4!
10 year veteran! Hot Topic Starter LFN Staff Member LucasCast staff 
Question Hey geeks and gear heads, Groovy needs your help!

Ok let me break it down like this. I have a ps3 slim, and a Sony Str-ks370 surround system. For about a year or so they have played nice together with hdmi cables. My set up is simple. My ps3 slim is connected to my Sony receiver with an hdmi cable. My receiver uses a separate hdmi cable that runs into my HDTV. For about two years they have played nice together and brought me loads of endless entertainment. Recently, I decided to take my ps3 over to my parent's house so that I could use blu-ray movies and use my Netflix account. First time it worked great. Yesterday I did the same thing, however when I brought it back home...I first had the black screen of death. No problem, used the YouTube tutorials and switched back to s-video. Even did a system restore. Now my problem is that I can no longer connect it to my Sony receiver the way it was when I left yesterday. For hdmi I can only hook it directly to the Tv's hdmi port. It will not pick up my surround system at all. What happened and how can I fix this?
Darth Groovy is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-25-2012, 07:25 PM   #2
Boba Rhett
I Slay Dragons
 
Boba Rhett's Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Man-Room in Missouri
Posts: 13,806
Current Game: Scrolling Eldery
LFN Staff Member 10 year veteran! LF Jester Helpful! 
Can you feed another hdmi signal through the receiver successfully? If you can, it sounds like an hdmi handshaking issue. Are you certain you've configured your ps3 correctly for your hdmi connection?

Is the ps3 set to auto configure/detect? Try manually setting the hdmi attributes instead of using any type of auto detect.

Are you powering everything up at once?
Boba Rhett is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-26-2012, 04:38 AM   #3
Darth Groovy
The Dapper Zabrak
 
Darth Groovy's Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Joliet, IL, USA
Posts: 11,297
Current Game: Awaiting Greatness from PS4!
10 year veteran! Hot Topic Starter LFN Staff Member LucasCast staff 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boba Rhett View Post
Can you feed another hdmi signal through the receiver successfully? If you can, it sounds like an hdmi handshaking issue. Are you certain you've configured your ps3 correctly for your hdmi connection?

Is the ps3 set to auto configure/detect? Try manually setting the hdmi attributes instead of using any type of auto detect.

Are you powering everything up at once?
That's jut it. I WAS powering everything up at once quite successfully. I don't know what happened either.

Here is what I did for a fix. I ran the hdmi cable directly into the second hdmi port in the back of the TV. Then I decided to use a fiber optic cable for the sound. That is running directly from the ps3 to the surround. Actually it sounds better. It was a pain in the ass, and I had to re-program my harmony remote, but now everything is back to normal.
Darth Groovy is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Community > Yoda’s Swamp > Hey geeks and gear heads, Groovy needs your help!

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:18 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.